Old 16th August 2021, 14:05   #16

Re: Cost of setting up a car & bike care business?

Originally Posted by GutsyGibbon View Post
Something to consider, not sure how practical it is for you. I always hear about shortage of reliable talent. Issues with getting a good rental at a desirable location. Mobile car detailing is very popular in other countries.
BTW, I have a pressure washer, wet dry vac, polishers, and all sorts of shampoos, waxes and lotions. For me to go mobile, I would need a generator and a water tank.
Yes, you are right. Mobile car care is still a significant way of business in other countries. But only in developed countries.
And there are limitations as well which are
1. Cannot do ceramic coating
2. Cannot do PPF
3. Cannot do paint correction
4. Cannot detail a car that is untouched for years
5. And of course, cannot be done in a closed environment.

I think that mobile car care in India can only be limited to car care maintenance. For eg - a simple wash & wax, simple polish maintenance for a ceramic coated car, etc.
Even then it's impossible to find a common covered/enclosed space for this work in any of the cities in India.
Old 16th August 2021, 14:21   #17

Originally Posted by Livnletcarsliv View Post
I think 1.5 crores to set up is significantly higher.
In fact, I am surprised by this number.

As far as I understand, the major share of expenses for this business is
1. Place
2. People

All the others (especially the machinery) will not cost more than 5-10 lakhs. For eg - I don't understand the need for 4 lifts/ramps.
I think I did not read the thread heading properly. My information was related to an FNG/garage and not a detailing shop. I have no idea of how much a detailing shop set up would cost.
Raghu M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 14:43   #18

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post

My partner and I started a car detailing business in Mumbai 3 years back. We started with an investment of 5L and 1 staff. My partner used to go and personally detail the car. Over time we expanded and today have 5 staff. All are proficient in detailing and ceramic coatings.

PS- We use rinse less wash techniques as we can't use pressure washer at clients place. But yes, we keep one to clean the wheels, wheel arches etc.
Interesting. If I can ask couple of questions:
1. Are you still into mobile detailing or have you moved to a dedicated facility ?
2. In case of rinse less wash at client's place, how do you deal with really dirty car - say a car that returned from long drive in rain [and has dried out dirt/mud]?

All the best and TIA
somspaple is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 16:29   #19

I think 1.5 crores to set up is significantly higher.
In fact, I am surprised by this number.

As far as I understand, the major share of expenses for this business is
1. Place
2. People

All the others (especially the machinery) will not cost more than 5-10 lakhs. For eg - I don't understand the need for 4 lifts/ramps.
1.5 is actually less for a well equipped repair shop, let me explain-

1) Dealer level scan tools alone cost 5l+ and this is normally unique to each mfg, assuming the shop services multiple makes, this will quickly add up.

2) Good quality hydraulic lifts cost 4-5L/piece, reason for having multiple lifts is to ensure workflow isn’t interrupted as even a simple oil change requires the vehicle to be lifted. 4 lifts = 20l

3) Fluids + Spares, this one alone can get very expensive given how most Germans price their spare parts.

4) Interior design and implementation, consider false roofing, air conditioning, lighting, glass, lounge area, storage.

5) Paint booth, air scrubbers, different paints + clears, HVLP spray guns, pneumatic sanders, etc.

6) Specialised tools required to actually work on cars, air tools like impact wrenches driven by air compressors.

7) Pressure washers, rotary polishers, industrial vacuums, etc.

8) If the shop offers alignment and balancing then this equipment alone crosses 15L easily.

I’ve given a very broad outline, and I’m sure I’ve missed some stuff as this isn’t my line, but I have close friends who operate such shops and this is what I’ve gathered in conversation and hanging around when my own cars are getting serviced. Cheers.
AJ56 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 16:44   #20

Originally Posted by AJ56 View Post
1.5 is actually less for a well equipped repair shop, let me explain-
Buddy, this thread is not about the repair shop. I hope you are clear about what this thread/original post is.
Old 16th August 2021, 17:19   #21

Buddy, this thread is not about the repair shop. I hope you are clear about what this thread/original post is.
I never said it is mate, I replied to your post which quoted a post talking about repair shops specifically, not detailing outfits. Cheers.
AJ56 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th August 2021, 00:30   #22

Originally Posted by somspaple View Post
Interesting. If I can ask couple of questions:
1. Are you still into mobile detailing or have you moved to a dedicated facility ?
Door step service is still our USP, but we do have few touch points spread across the city incase a client doesn't have proper facilities at his premises.

2. In case of rinse less wash at client's place, how do you deal with really dirty car - say a car that returned from long drive in rain [and has dried out dirt/mud]?
We are detailers and not car washers . But our rinse less wash method suffices for 99% of the cars that we denials. That said, if someone has a particularly dirty car (say a Fortuner after a 4x4 session), we request permission from the customer to get it washed from a local washing centre and bringing back the car to premises before commencing detailing work. Sometimes the customer is also understanding and gets a wash done prior to our arrival.

All the best and TIA
blackwasp is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th August 2021, 01:05   #23

Well, I sincerely thank all of you for the great inputs, advice, recommendation and also for sharing your experiences.

Well, to start off, please recommend me the following.

1. To start with, what is the one polisher machine (and the model) should I go for
  • Standard Orbit Polishers
  • Random Orbit Polishers
  • Forced Rotation Dual Action Polishers
  • Rotary Polishers

2. A good steam cleaner - especially for interior cleaning.
Old 31st August 2021, 22:17   #24

1) Assuming you’re talking of polishing paint, go with a high quality rotary polisher like a Rupes LH19E or Makita 9227C as it’s the most versatile machine you can buy, it can perform heavy correction with coarse pads and heavy cut compounds as well as fine finishing with soft cut pads and finishing polishes. It is also the most efficient (in terms of speed) when compared to a dual action, orbital and forced rotation polishers. There is a learning curve though, takes some time to perfect.

Get a short throw 3mm orbital as well in case you want to do wetsanding with a machine.

2) For steam cleaners, the Karcher SC5 and McCulloch MC1275 are both excellent options.

Last edited by AJ56 : 31st August 2021 at 22:23.
AJ56 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2021, 00:01   #25

Sorry for the late reply, but I wasn't subscribed to the thread.
1. To start with, what is the one polisher machine (and the model) should I go for
Stick with DA machines at the beginning. You can get a rotary post some experience.
We have been using Rupes primarily since the last 3 years. We have LHR15s as our main with a 5inch backing pad. Then we have an LHR75e Mini with 3 inch plate for smaller / curvier areas. And a 12E Duetto for sanding. We also have a rotary and another mini polisher to get to the extreme small spaces (1 inch pad or smaller).

2. A good steam cleaner - especially for interior cleaning.
We had a McCulloch MC1275 but note it was running at 110V, so needed a bulky converter to be carried along. Since we are mobile, this was cumbersome. Have shifted to a Karcher SC3 equivalent as it meets our needs. If planning to do multiple cars a day, you will need bigger capacity steamers. Again, with mobile detailing, space is a constraint so we are using this.
blackwasp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2021, 09:44   #26

Since many of you are doing mobile, what is the vehicle for the shop on wheels do you use?
And how do you manage the power supply for all the following equipment?
1. Pressure washer
2. Air compressor
3. Polishers
4. Vacuum - wet and dry
5. Steamers

Last edited by Livnletcarsliv : 14th September 2021 at 09:46.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2021, 19:44   #27

Since many of you are doing mobile, what is the vehicle for the shop on wheels do you use?
We are using a commercially registered Eeco Cargo CNG van.

And how do you manage the power supply for all the following equipment?
1. Pressure washer
2. Air compressor
3. Polishers
4. Vacuum - wet and dry
5. Steamers
We have long extension cables and customer takes the required permission for usage of electricity Since all machines are not used at once, it is fine on a normal household outlet.
We don't use any air compressors at the moment.
Old 27th September 2021, 19:47   #28

Hi all
1. what is the one-in-all and all-in-one vacuum cleaner that you recommend for both wet and dry. By the way, is the wet vacuum really needed? Is there any use to a wet vacuum?
2. What is the best extractor? I understand from Prof. Google that one of the best extractors for a car detailer is "The Aquapro Vac Extractor". Is my understanding right? Is it available in India? If not, what else do you recommend?

Last edited by Livnletcarsliv : 27th September 2021 at 20:04.
Old 28th September 2021, 12:48   #29

Hi all
1. what is the one-in-all and all-in-one vacuum cleaner that you recommend for both wet and dry. By the way, is the wet vacuum really needed? Is there any use to a wet vacuum?
2. What is the best extractor? I understand from Prof. Google that one of the best extractors for a car detailer is "The Aquapro Vac Extractor". Is my understanding right? Is it available in India? If not, what else do you recommend?
Get the Karcher SE 4001 it’s a 3 in 1 (wet + dry vac + extractor), comes with all the needed attachments and very reliable, we’ve used 2 since the past 3 years and they’ve never failed us. It’s powerful enough for most applications, with a large enough tank to do multiple cars before needing to be emptied.

Wet vac’s are essential for a any detail shop for taking care of the liquids spilled on the carpeting/seats. They also prove useful for removing water from flooded cars during the monsoons. Obviously if the flooding is more than light to moderate you’re better of recommending the customer to the dealer/fng for a more thorough seats + carpeting off cleaning.
AJ56 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2021, 18:05   #30

As I am going to start my detailing venture shortly and as I mentioned, it will be a one-man show to start with. I am a beginner.
And I am in the market for a DA Polisher (since DA is best to start as a detailer compared to rotary and others).
And I see that rupes is the best brand to go with (In India).

Is LHR15 Mark lll a good choice to start with? - Any other recommendations?
And where can I buy it? How much would it cost?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com