Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2022, 13:47   #1
Senior - BHPian

Maruti WagonR AMT Failure | Repair cost of 83,000 rupees

Thanks to Jaideep Singh for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP share page!

Quote:
Hello Car Enthusiast,

I will be highlighting some very important information regarding service/maintenance costs associated with Maruti’s AMT system. My purpose is only to educate people as AMT is a fairly new technology in the Indian market and a lot of cars must now be out of warranty. I do not want to bash any manufacturer but to make the people aware of the ownership of an AMT car.

My Background

I am a young marketing professional, I started my corporate career in 2014 and was travelling to Gurgaon from Delhi daily during peak hours (people of NCR must be knowing how bad was the traffic back in 2014-15). Initially, I used to travel by my bike Yamaha FZ, but due to the long commute time and some back pain, I decided to buy my first car.

In 2015 I purchased Wagon R VXI AMT, I got a pretty good deal as I purchased it in December and took the delivery on 31st December 2015 (On-Road < 5lakhs with extended warranty). The car was Oct 2015 manufactured.

The Issue

I was the sole user of the car, never experienced any issues with the gearbox or the clutch that most of the AMT users were experiencing, one of the reasons for this was that there was no load on the car, just 1 person (me). The car performed well till the lockdown happened in March 2020. Till then I have covered 52K KM all in NCR traffic

During the lockdown, like most others, I was doing WFH and the car was sparingly used. I started travelling to work in February 2022 and from here on the problem started.