Team-BHP > Technical Stuff

Search this Thread
Old 23rd August 2007, 23:23   #1
Team-BHP Support

Cable Shift vs Direct Shift Gearboxes

I drive a car (Baleno) that has a direct shift gear, but today drove an accent with cable shift and quite liked it. My previous car was a Palio which had a cable shift and I liked it too. However when I started studying about this I found out that hardcore racers like direct shift over cable shift because of the feedback. This is very confusing as why any feedback is required during shifting. The smoother the shift the better it will be. In that case IMO cable shift makes better sense. I would like to know what the people in this forum like. Another question is - is there any difference in robustness and reliability between the two?

@Moderators - if this is a duplicate thread then please remove it.
Old 24th August 2007, 19:33   #2
Senior - BHPian

What do you mean by direct shift? A shifter that has no linkages? Then I doubt baleno has one.

I know the 118NE came with one, but does any modern car have them, is it possible on a FWD car?
Old 25th August 2007, 01:35   #3
Team-BHP Support

I am not very sure about this. i may have stated something technically incorrect. But what I tried to state is that there is a distinct difference between the gears in an esteem and that in a Palio or an Accent. I have driven Palio, Accent, Swift and Lancer which seem to have a very smooth gearshift which I had heard is called cable shift whereas those in esteem, baleno, indica are of a different kind (maybe called rod-shift).

Last edited by BlackPearl : 25th August 2007 at 01:38.
Old 25th August 2007, 01:56   #4
Senior - BHPian

He is talking about Cable actuated/remote gear shift versus the lever being operated directly from the gearbox.

However trend is to use Short Shifters, that offer precise control, and right feedback.

Last edited by 1100D : 25th August 2007 at 01:59.
Old 25th August 2007, 02:05   #5
Team-BHP Support

Quote: