Old 7th January 2025, 19:56   #16

re: VW Tiguan DSG problem | "Transmission in emergency mode" alert

Originally Posted by drivingme.crazy View Post
The car doesn't have extended warranty unfortunately.
Wonder if it was destiny that you chose 'drivingme.crazy' name and got a VW/Audi/Skoda Mechatronics gearbox without a extended warranty

I guess at one time the top 6 out of 10 threads were discussing about this mechatronics issues and how expensive the repairs were (I recall 3-5 lakhs INR back then).

Recalling that value, this 60-70k INR you were quoted, in todays money value is equivalent to 25-30k some 10 years ago - you got away lucky.
svsantosh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th January 2025, 20:19   #17

Just to add a few cents to the debate on D or N when stopped, apparently there are many forums on this topic including our own. It seems, in modern automatics like DSG, for short stops, it's not necessary to switch to N. For long stops, P.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ic-lights.html (Automatics : P or N at signals / traffic lights?)

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...automatic.html (Tips on driving an Automatic)

I'm hoping an DSG expert can confirm this.

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Recalling that value, this 60-70k INR you were quoted, in todays money value is equivalent to 25-30k some 10 years ago - you got away lucky.
Don't you mean unlucky? It was under company lease and I didn't bother about extended warranty. Should have thought about it when I bought the car back post the lease term.
Old 7th January 2025, 20:59   #18

Originally Posted by three10 View Post
information in the manual is indicative - you need to apply a local context to it.
if you’d use a car in very dusty / highly polluted conditions, you would not want to wait (although you could) till the recommended service interval to replace the air filter.
True.

If you can hear, there is slight hum when keeping in D mode stationary - which goes away while shifting to N. It's a good practice to keep shifting to N. Clutch is engaged - even though slightly while stationary in D mode.

I do purchase extra air intake filter at every service - to change it at around 8K KMs from service.

Neither car has changed from European specs, nor its manual - whose text is fit for European roads only.
SilverSmoke is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2025, 08:57   #19

Re: VW Tiguan DSG problem | "Transmission in emergency mode" alert

@drivingme.crazy,

Any further updates on this?

I have Kodiaq 2019 L&K and just yesterday I got this error message on Dash "Gearbox in emergency mode. You can drive on".

My 2019 Kodiaq (pre-worshipped) has done 1.2L so far. Also one other Alert that caught my attn was Low Battery alert from JioMotive OBD, and I am not sure if battery is playing any spoil sport

When this error came up, vehicle speed reduced to 40Kmpls and even I tried to accelerate it felt like limp mode and gear stayed on D2.

I stopped for 15 Mins and started again, while the above error message went off, the engine icon remained on the dash.

I have contacted Raja Skoda today and will keep this thread post how it goes.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Mahi
Old 12th February 2025, 12:01   #20

Originally Posted by MahiDesai View Post

When this error came up, vehicle speed reduced to 40Kmpls and even I tried to accelerate it felt like limp mode and gear stayed on D2.

Check the battery, if at all it is bad, change it, low voltages can cause some electronics to throw errors. If at all battery is changed and still error is same, inspect the gearbox. One can inspect the condition if gearbox using VCDS, and take necessary actions there. Have you changed the DSG oil (both mechatronic/gearbox)? If you have VCDS there is a process to do it, and is relatively easier than jumping to conclusions. I assume you have the DQ381 transmission.

Happy Motoring!
Old 20th February 2025, 21:07   #21

@drivingme.crazy,

I have Kodiaq 2019 L&K and just yesterday I got this error message on Dash "Gearbox in emergency mode. You can drive on".
Hi, Mahi - any update on the issue, tryst it is resolved by now.
kapilsharma80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2025, 08:08   #22

@drivingme.crazy,

Any further updates on this?

Mahi
Hello Mahi,

My apologies for not getting back quickly. As far as I understood, this warning may also relate to battery issues, wiring etc. So, not necessarily a DSG issue.

As for status of my vehicle, the ASC is awaiting the delivery of control unit from Germany which is expected to arrive by end of the month.

It's been more than 2 months since the car was given for service. After reaching out to VW Customer Care, there's some attention on this.

Will post when I have further updates.
drivingme.crazy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2025, 23:12   #23

Originally Posted by Bsilver View Post
Check the battery, if at all it is bad, change it, low voltages can cause some electronics to throw errors. If at all battery is changed and still error is same, inspect the gearbox. One can inspect the condition if gearbox using VCDS, and take necessary actions there. Have you changed the DSG oil (both mechatronic/gearbox)? If you have VCDS there is a process to do it, and is relatively easier than jumping to conclusions. I assume you have the DQ381 transmission.

Happy Motoring!
Thanks Bsilver for your detailed inputs. This really helped indeed to calm my nerves I'm providing a detailed update in the next post.

Originally Posted by kapilsharma80 View Post
Hi, Mahi - any update on the issue, tryst it is resolved by now.
Thanks Kapil ji - I've a detailed update in my next post in the thread below.

Hello Mahi,

My apologies for not getting back quickly. As far as I understood, this warning may also relate to battery issues, wiring etc. So, not necessarily a DSG issue.

As for status of my vehicle, the ASC is awaiting the delivery of control unit from Germany which is expected to arrive by end of the month.

It's been more than 2 months since the car was given for service. After reaching out to VW Customer Care, there's some attention on this.

Will post when I have further updates.
Thanks drivingme.crazy --- Hope your machine comes back to life soon enough. I've had a luck I would say, and my Kodiaq is back to normalcy. I am posting a detailed account of how it went.
MahiDesai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2025, 23:02   #24

I am posting a detailed account of how it went.
Looking forward to the post.
Old 27th February 2025, 11:25   #25

Originally Posted by kpkeerthi View Post
I would be damned to believe such a complex piece of electronics+mechanical components would so dumb to constantly grind the clutch not sensing that the car is stopped (in traffic or signal).
If a car could 'sense' this, it would have the shifted to N or P on its own?
The whole point of a machine sensing this would be to act on it.. not mull over it.
Old 22nd April 2025, 07:00   #26

After a 4 month wait, I got my car back (finally!) with a 1L dent on the wallet. Car has been driving normally as before. Yet to test on a long drive (100+ kms) though.
Old 22nd April 2025, 11:45   #27

After a 4 month wait, I got my car back (finally!) with a 1L dent on the wallet. Car has been driving normally as before. Yet to test on a long drive (100+ kms) though.

Dear DMC,

Could you elaborate on the repair work done ? Attach the invoice if possible after removing your personal information from it ?

AP

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com