I am a senior citizen, and a long-time car enthusiast, residing in the historic city of Panipat, NCR. I have been a driver since 1980, with a history of owning and driving various cars, including Fiat, Maruti, Ford, Honda, Innova Crysta and currently Toyota Fortuner, and MG Hector.
I am writing to seek your assistance and guidance regarding an ongoing issue with my MG Hector, which has been in the workshop for over 15 days due to a serious engine defect. Despite the vehicle being under warranty, the company has yet to begin the necessary repairs, and I have encountered multiple instances of delay, avoidance, and inadequate responses. Below are the details of my situation:
I purchased my MG Hector on February 24, 2021, with a 5-year warranty and have driven only 58,850 kilometers. On December 28, 2024, I noticed unusual vibrations in the engine and promptly drove to the local service center. After several days of testing and disassembling the engine, they diagnosed a broken piston (Piston No. 3) as a result of a manufacturing defect.
On January 1, 2025, Service Manager at Rahul Garage, Panipat, informed me that the cost to replace the damaged parts would be between INR 2 to 2.5 lakh, and this would be covered under warranty since it was a manufacturing defect.
That same day, I sent a WhatsApp message to the company stating:
"As discussed with service manager , the piston has broken at 58,850 km within the warranty period, with regular service history. We request a full engine replacement at company cost. A repaired engine is not acceptable. Kindly convey this to the concerned team. Awaiting your response."
However, the following events have been increasingly frustrating:
1. January 6, 2025: I visited the workshop again for a conference call with the Area Service Manager (ASM), who only offered to replace the child parts. Despite waiting for almost two hours for a written estimate, none was provided. Additionally, the service manager refused to share the ASM’s contact details, citing company policy.
2. January 7, 2025: Senior Service Manager, quoted a cost of INR 2.84 lakh for replacing the damaged parts and INR 4 lakh for the entire engine assembly. I again requested a written estimate.
3. January 8, 2025: At 11:30 am, I finally received a WhatsApp estimate for INR 1,34,538, which was significantly altered from the initial quote. It was clear that the company was trying to save costs by replacing only some of the damaged parts, and crucial components like the crankshaft, camshaft, timing belt, tensioner bearing, and valve guides were excluded. Furthermore, the dismantled engine has been stored in a dusty environment, putting the safety of the components at risk.
4. January 9, 2025: I reiterated my request for a full engine replacement, but on January 10, 2025, I received an email from JSW MG Motor India stating, “The entire engine assembly cannot be changed.”
It is crucial to understand that the piston is a key component of the engine, and such a defect, if left unaddressed, could lead to severe consequences, including engine seizure or even fire, jeopardizing the safety of all occupants.
The company’s refusal to replace the engine entirely, coupled with the deliberate delays and withholding of estimates, raises concerns about the intention to cut costs, even at the expense of customer safety.
Additional Issues:
1. A fictitious repair order for accidental work was generated on January 3, 2025, without my knowledge, indicating possible fraudulent practices to offset the warranty repair costs. The details of this repair order are as follows:
"Thank you for rejecting the LAMP ASM-RR FOG, FASCIA-RR BPR UPR, FASCIA-RR BPR LWR, MOLDING-RR BPR FASCIA LWR, MOLDING ASM-PUBX E/GATE O order NW07309228 of your MG HECTOR HR06X0332 on 03.01.2025."
2. The company had promised delivery of the repaired vehicle on January 6, 2025, but no work has been started to date. I have been forced to hire a taxi for my daily commute.
I also discovered on Team BHP that a similar engine failure occurred in another 2021 MG Hector after just 10,000 kilometers, which supports my claim of a manufacturing defect in the 2021 model. You can view the relevant post here: Team BHP Discussion. ;
https://search.app/UyhyhhArdv3f2mk47
Given these circumstances, I respectfully request your intervention in this matter. I am seeking your support to ensure that MG Motor honors its warranty, acknowledges the manufacturing defect, and provides a complete engine replacement, as this is the only acceptable resolution to ensure both safety and customer satisfaction.