Old 30th January 2008, 22:39   #1

Opel Corsa 1.4 - trouble

Reposting this, request some reply on this
I am a new member and in a bit of car trouble.

I have an Opel Corsa, which has done about 65 K km. The engine is abslutely fine, but I am feeling a loss of power suddenly (earlier occasionally, now frequently) and the car is not able to cross a speed of even 20 on 1st gear, with almost full throttle. I noticed this happening within 10 - 15 minutes of driving and in some cases, after passing over any bumps / speed brakers.

I got it checked from some local mechanic, other than Opel (as that is too expansive). He said it may be because of jammed brakes, adjusted and I test drove with him for about 4 km, without any problem.

The same day, when I came back from about 6 km drive in the evening I noticed a red glow below my car and was shocked to see that coming from some overheated part (below the gear lever or slightly behind that). Not sure if this is the gearbox, but this sure seems to be some serious trouble

Opel has a horrible resale and I am not likely to get more than 1L on this, so don't want to spend too much.

Need the following help from the forum:

- can some one suggest what can be the trouble
- what is your suggestion - should I try to find some local expert mechanic to get this repaired, even if I do, will Opel sell me the parts if I require.

Need a urgent help on this.
Old 31st January 2008, 01:05   #2

Originally Posted by anujk View Post

I have an Opel Corsa, which has done about 65 K km. The engine is abslutely fine, but I am feeling a loss of power suddenly (earlier occasionally, now frequently) and the car is not able to cross a speed of even 20 on 1st gear, with almost full throttle. I noticed this happening within 10 - 15 minutes of driving and in some cases, after passing over any bumps / speed brakers.

I got it checked from some local mechanic, other than Opel (as that is too expansive). He said it may be because of jammed brakes, adjusted and I test drove with him for about 4 km, without any problem.

The same day, when I came back from about 6 km drive in the evening I noticed a red glow below my car and was shocked to see that coming from some overheated part (below the gear lever or slightly behind that). Not sure if this is the gearbox, but this sure seems to be some serious trouble

Opel has a horrible resale and I am not likely to get more than 1L on this, so don't want to spend too much.

- what is your suggestion - should I try to find some local expert mechanic to get this repaired, even if I do, will Opel sell me the parts if I require.

Can't say anything about the red glow, but have you ever had the fuel injectors cleaned? That's a known issue with the Corsa and that's why they suggest using System-G along with petrol.
Do get your fuel injectors cleaned and use system G (fuel additive) regularly whenever you tank up.
Old 31st January 2008, 03:18   #3

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
Can't say anything about the red glow, but have you ever had the fuel injectors cleaned? That's a known issue with the Corsa and that's why they suggest using System-G along with petrol.
Do get your fuel injectors cleaned and use system G (fuel additive) regularly whenever you tank up.
I'll vouch for that,vikram.
My dad had a 2001 Corsa,and one fine day we found the engine losing power on and off. Took it to the dealership,and they recommended using System-G ( not sure if there was another brand they suggested). It became a routine,and the car had no problems till the time we sold it off.
Old 31st January 2008, 08:08   #4

Its probably the Catalytic Converter which is choked/blocked and hence glowing red hot.

Viper
Old 1st February 2008, 19:30   #5

Opel corsa thread

Catalytic converrter is at the bottom of the car before the silensor, pl confirm. I use Speed / Extra premium petrol, will it still require system G.

Thanks guys for the responses.

Anuj
Old 2nd February 2008, 00:21   #6

Catalytic converrter is at the bottom of the car before the silensor, pl confirm. I use Speed / Extra premium petrol, will it still require system G.

Anuj
The injectors still get clogged and need to be cleaned. I always used premium fuel in my Corsa AND System G; they still clogged!
Old 2nd February 2008, 11:05   #7

Anuj
Hi Anuj,

A convertor is a part of the silencer(exhaust system), generally fitted after headers and in some cars integrated into the headers. Am not sure of the location in your car but should be somewhere under the flooring of the driver seat.

Viper
Old 2nd February 2008, 20:16   #8

Originally Posted by viper View Post
Am not sure of the location in your car but should be somewhere under the flooring of the driver seat.
(below the gear lever or slightly behind that).
Both are talking about the same location. There is even a small sheet, between the body of car the cat-con, for heat insulation i guess.

But how you managed to notice this red glow?

Last edited by gkrishn : 2nd February 2008 at 20:19.
Old 5th February 2008, 11:56   #9

Opel Corsa 1.4

I came back late evening from somewhere, observed some burning smell. Bent down to look under the car and observed some red glow coming from the car.

If it is the catalytic converter, does any one have an idea how much it will cost. Can it be the gearbox that is glowing hot
Old 5th February 2008, 21:55   #10

anuj,a sincere bit of advice to you.
Opel cars are very good if you take basic car of them,and get them serviced at the authorized service centers. It might be expensive,but that goes with the brand. I'd recommend that you take the car to an Opel service center,and get them to inspect everything. The last thing you want is for something dangerous to happen. Life is way more precious than an amount of money spent on the car.

ASAP,take the car over and let those guys do the needful. If I were you,I wouldn't be driving the car around,and taking the risk of it blowing up or causing serious damage to myself/others. If the diagnostic comes through with minor work to be done,get it out of the way & drive in peace.
Old 6th February 2008, 08:35   #11

If it is the catalytic converter, does any one have an idea how much it will cost. Can it be the gearbox that is glowing hot

A catalytic convertor is expensive(read as more than the cost of a complete FFE system). NO it cannot be your gearbox glowing as that is in the engine bay and not below your car.

Viper
Old 6th February 2008, 17:07   #12

Thanks Nitin / Viper others who responded to this. i will take it to an Opal service as advised.
Old 6th February 2008, 17:38   #13

good that you decided to take it to Opel garage, sounds like a catcon issue, get it replaced. Can be expensive so option B would be to go for Free Flow exhausts at the cost of added pollution.
Old 16th August 2010, 11:26   #14

Similar problem with my COrsa done 52000 KMs

Hi buddies,

I have a similar problem with my Copel Corsa whcih is done around 52000 KMs. Engine is in very good condition. But Since last 3 months I started observing sudden loss of power for couple of minutes and then car was back to normal.

But last week while returning from office the real trouble started. After driving around 7 KMs in bumper to bumper trafic engine started stalling and refused to move. I could feel the heat inside the cabin. But some how managed to reach and home.

Then I started checking the car and horrifed to find the RED GLow at staring of the silencer pipe near the engine. I was worried but it came to normal within 30 mins.
Then I called GM service center who did not have a clue on what I was telling them. They said this can't happen and it could be red mud sticking to silencer pipe. Any way they checked and replaced very expensive part Ingnition Uinit costing Rs 16000. But the sudden power loss problem still exists. It engine just stops and moves after resting for couple of mins.

The car is well maintained.
I have been using premium fuel not system G.

Can anybody guide me on how I should go about this problem and any guidace on what I should ask mechanic to check. I am hoping it is not Catalytic converter problem as looks like it is quite expensive.

Thanks lot in advance.
Old 16th August 2010, 12:46   #15

All catalytic converters get clogged and it is a very expensive part, what i did is, i took it to a workshop and asked to bypass it they said its better to break it(its like a honey comb inside) and the flanges cannot be perfected if i want to bypass, so this is the only solution. My car has done 132k and the engine is still extremely free revving than many younger cars, and trust me i did a PUC check after that and to my surprise the emission levels were even lower than earlier, But first check if you clutch has any problems before getting this done, to check this just drive your car from stand still in the second gear and see if it jerks or struggles to pull, if so you know what to replace.

Pramod

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com