(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by SS-Traveller
(Post 2292860)
ABS is not an upgradeable item for after-market fitment, but a factory-fitted OE. Retrofitment of ABS is not easily feasible, nor advised. |
Very Ture, Fitting ABS is not a simple job and not advisable too. I am changing the reaar drums to disc and upgrading the Shocks, I am sure this should be enough. Any comments appreciated.
Originally Posted by moodswings
(Post 2292922)
Very Ture, Fitting ABS is not a simple job and not advisable too. I am changing the reaar drums to disc and upgrading the Shocks, I am sure this should be enough. Any comments appreciated. |
What i meant was consider Non ABS factor too. With increase torque , it will accelerate quickly , with rear wheel too on disc, I presume it will lock even faster .
@SST agree:
Torque increase (nothing earth-shattering is to be expected from that box) has nothing to do with braking. The momentum of the car at any speed will remain same as before. Though the tendency for the wheels to lock will be more with better stopping power, @moodswings will very soon figure out when the brakes will tend to lock, and avoid reaching that situation.
ABS can be retro-fitted, but it has to be done in Tata works - which means a lot of time (has to be extensively tested) and a lot of money (will cost ~2L).
(Post 2292815)
Condor,
I will post the pics by tomorrow afternoon....cheers |
@condor, I got the K&N box fitted yesterday, Its a perfect fit however its thinner as expected. Some of u gys may not believe thts it improves the performance, but i have felt a slight increase in startup torque.
Am going in for the Rear Disc Brakes and the Chip Express Diesel tuning box. Will report as its done.
HAPPY MOTORING.:thumbs up
[IMG]D:\k&n[/IMG]
(Post 2292815)
Condor,
I will post the pics by tomorrow afternoon....cheers |
Here r the pics
I paid 4699/- including taxes.
Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Please use the "edit" button if posting within 20 minutes of the first post, instead of creating another back-to-back post.
Also use "Multi Quote" option for quoting Multiple posts.
Congrats moodswings. Can you post some pictures of the installation and also the engine bay? Also, is this removable and can the original filter be installed before giving the vehicle to the TASC for service?
Originally Posted by SumitB
(Post 2293841)
Congrats moodswings. Can you post some pictures of the installation and also the engine bay? Also, is this removable and can the original filter be installed before giving the vehicle to the TASC for service? |
@Sumit, the filter is totally removeable just as the original 2.2 original Air Filter. So, no issues there. I have posted the pictures and it is the one for the Subaru Forrester. Let me know if u want more details.
Thanks for the response. Any picture of the engine bay showing the filter in place would be appreciated. Where did you buy this? I remember seeing this once at Reliance Auto Zone in Ambience Mall at Gurgaon. Not sure about the price though.
Originally Posted by SumitB
(Post 2293899)
Thanks for the response. Any picture of the engine bay showing the filter in place would be appreciated. Where did you buy this? I remember seeing this once at Reliance Auto Zone in Ambience Mall at Gurgaon. Not sure about the price though. |
@Sumit, The filter is not visible as it is housed in the air filter casing n yes i bought it at Reliance autozone @ambi mall, i have already posted the pic
s
Originally Posted by Rahulk76
(Post 2245089)
Guys having intermittent gasping issue, kindly please check the clamp directly below the turbo, on the pipe which is orange in color and goes to the intercooler.
Mine got lose again, since the last time post when I tightened. Seems like Pandora Box to me :D
is the leaking boost pressure from this point the mother of all causes we face (jerking/gasping ) ? only TASS will tell :deadhorse |
Originally Posted by simply_sunny001
(Post 2245101)
Rahul,
can you post a pic please if you dont mind.
thanks |
This is what Rahul was talking about. But check clamps(no. 9, 10) at all Intake plumbing joints, leakage point indicators would be slighly greasy at the joint. Some are hard to reach but tighten the ones that you can.
Pressure leakage at these joints is also a probable cause of hesitation.
Originally Posted by dadu
(Post 2299282)
This is what Rahul was talking about. But check clamps(no. 9, 10) at all Intake plumbing joints, leakage point indicators would be slighly greasy at the joint. Some are hard to reach but tighten the ones that you can. Attachment 526105
Pressure leakage at these joints is also a probable cause of hesitation. |
Thanks for this info Dadu. Its very useful.
My 2.2 LX (August 2009) has done 32.8K. All services done as per manual.
1. Its RPM meter stopped working. Gave to TASC today. They checked and told Alternator has some problem, though battery is getting fully charged, but RPM meter needle is not picking up. They told it'll go for checking to local center of manufacturing company (Lucas/or Micro). TASC advisor told they are sending it as a warranty item, but, it'll depend upon whether that company accept does it under warranty or not as it is electrical item!
Need your opinion, will alternator repair be covered under warranty by Micro or Lucas or not? How much expenditure may be expected?
2. Sound on full right turning of steering is with me too. As some members said, I think we have to live with it. It is only on right turn, not on left.
3. I find, LX's AC takes lot of time to cool the car! Even on full cool option, the air coming out is not that cool! Though it is working, but effectiveness is low!! Is it normal?
Off course, when AC is not ON, lot of warm engine air comes from front AC vents, after running few kms!
4. Got front brake pads changed at 28.5k! Though they were not completely worn out, but bite was considerably low and felt uncomfortable. At 22.5K TASC advisor has checked and suggested to replace them around 25K. Finally, I changed at 28.5k. But, the technician told that I may be using too much brakes, otherwise pad change is usually not needed before 40K! Is it so?
Even after change, I was not fully satisfied with the bite, but, now after 30 K service, brakes r working fine, like they were when new.
5. I also notice, on low beams only, headlight falls on left side quite considerably, but not on high beam!! Does it has to do with vertical alignment with that given motor on dashboard?
6. I too find head light inadequate, but, has been reluctant to upgrade bulbs to higher watts. Will it impact warranty claims on electrical items. Will replacing bulbs with same wattage (60/55) like philips x-treme, etc, will do any improvement? Or can we go for 100/90 safely, without any modifications needed?
At times I prefer night drive, so really need to sort out this head light issue. Pl.. give your valuable inputs.
7. Last yr, I got fog lamps (in bumper given space) fitted from after market, were d same OEM that come with new Safari! But, they r useless.
If we get them fitted at Tata Showroom accessories shop, will it be original OEM?
8. Sometimes, service light comes on, and goes in few seconds, may be 4-5. There is no pattern, but, mostly it has come during my home - office runs which is 1 kms only!! That too when slowing down for down-shifting or turning. It doesn't stays for long.
It doesn't come on long runs. I have taken long drives of even 1000 K in 18-20 hrs (with usual food, fuel, pits breaks, etc). It doesn't come then. On such drives, I take 20-30 min break after approx 3 hrs or 150-200 kms.
Is it normal thing?
Your comments on above points pls..
Despite small niggles, I am thoroughly enjoying driving it, and it is serving the purpose for which it was brought.......very long drives.
Originally Posted by LongDrive lover
(Post 2299854)
3. I find, LX's AC takes lot of time to cool the car! Even on full cool option, the air coming out is not that cool! Though it is working, but effectiveness is low!! Is it normal?
Off course, when AC is not ON, lot of warm engine air comes from front AC vents, after running few kms! |
If a lot of warm air is coming in from the vents, that means you might not have selected the "internal air circulation" mode. This may be also the reason why your AC is not cooling the cabin properly. Just my $0.02.
Vikram
Originally Posted by LongDrive lover
(Post 2299854)
My 2.2 LX (August 2009) has done 32.8K. All services done as per manual.
1. Its RPM meter stopped working. Gave to TASC today. They checked and told Alternator has some problem, though battery is getting fully charged, but RPM meter needle is not picking up. They told it'll go for checking to local center of manufacturing company (Lucas/or Micro). TASC advisor told they are sending it as a warranty item, but, it'll depend upon whether that company accept does it under warranty or not as it is electrical item!
Need your opinion, will alternator repair be covered under warranty by Micro or Lucas or not? How much expenditure may be expected? |
If your vehicle is under standard or extended warranty, it has to be given. The extended warranty manual clearly states that alternator is also covered. But your vehicle is still under extended warranty, so no issues. You bought a Tata vehicle with 2 year warranty. They cannot say they will give warranty for parts made by Tata. Tomorrow Delphi injectors may fail and they will wash their hands?
2. Sound on full right turning of steering is with me too. As some members said, I think we have to live with it. It is only on right turn, not on left.
|
Live with it
Off course, when AC is not ON, lot of warm engine air comes from front AC vents, after running few kms!
|
The HVAC hot air control setup is lousy in the safari, Many times hot air flap does not close. Ask them to open it and fix it for you, if not fixable replace entire center console under warranty
4. Got front brake pads changed at 28.5k! Though they were not completely worn out, but bite was considerably low and felt uncomfortable. At 22.5K TASC advisor has checked and suggested to replace them around 25K. Finally, I changed at 28.5k. But, the technician told that I may be using too much brakes, otherwise pad change is usually not needed before 40K! Is it so?
Even after change, I was not fully satisfied with the bite, but, now after 30 K service, brakes r working fine, like they were when new.
|
I do lot of mountain trips and mine lasted 45K. I guess you are using too much
5. I also notice, on low beams only, headlight falls on left side quite considerably, but not on high beam!! Does it has to do with vertical alignment with that given motor on dashboard?
|
Vertical alignment adjusts both headlights. If one headlight is misaligned, the workshop will adjust it using screws to bring it on level with the other. then you can use the in cabin adjustment
6. I too find head light inadequate, but, has been reluctant to upgrade bulbs to higher watts. Will it impact warranty claims on electrical items. Will replacing bulbs with same wattage (60/55) like philips x-treme, etc, will do any improvement? Or can we go for 100/90 safely, without any modifications needed? |
Stick to 60/55W. You can use a better bulb like Osram Silverstar +60, or Philips Xtreme power +80. there is osram nightbreaker +90 also, remember the +80 and +90 bulbs will have shorter life
7. Last yr, I got fog lamps (in bumper given space) fitted from after market, were d same OEM that come with new Safari! But, they r useless.
If we get them fitted at Tata Showroom accessories shop, will it be original OEM?
|
Safari fog lamps are mostly useless
8. Sometimes, service light comes on, and goes in few seconds, may be 4-5. There is no pattern, but, mostly it has come during my home - office runs which is 1 kms only!! That too when slowing down for down-shifting or turning. It doesn't stays for long.
It doesn't come on long runs. I have taken long drives of even 1000 K in 18-20 hrs (with usual food, fuel, pits breaks, etc). It doesn't come then. On such drives, I take 20-30 min break after approx 3 hrs or 150-200 kms.
Is it normal thing?
|
No its not normal. Whenever service light comes, it logs an error code in the ECU. Ask TASS to diagnose and fix the problem. Many times service centers keep delaying, and when vehicle is out of warranty they will repair it and fix you with a huge bill
Originally Posted by comfortablynumb
(Post 2299878)
If a lot of warm air is coming in from the vents, that means you might not have selected the "internal air circulation" mode. This may be also the reason why your AC is not cooling the cabin properly. Just my $0.02.
Vikram |
Thanks. I'll check it.
Originally Posted by tsk1979
(Post 2299880)
If your vehicle is under standard or extended warranty, it has to be given. The extended warranty manual clearly states that alternator is also covered. But your vehicle is still under extended warranty, so no issues.
No its not normal. Whenever service light comes, it logs an error code in the ECU. Ask TASS to diagnose and fix the problem. Many times service centers keep delaying, and when vehicle is out of warranty they will repair it and fix you with a huge bill |
Thanks Tanveer Ji. All points noted.....shall attend to them.
My Vehicle is under standard Warranty, less then 2 yrs old.