Old 16th October 2008, 23:02   #1

Baleno Suspension overhaul:any good & reasonable mechanic in South Delhi/Noida

Hello Folks,

I have a baleno 05 clocked 70K kms and front left suspension is making "kahtak" sounds while hitting potholes.
Showed the car to a couple of MASS and both advised to change the faulty front left suspension arm..costs around 4.5K.All inclusive 5.5K.

But from my past exp. with my esteem when I had this problem my mechanic(who has got a job in dubai) told me that do a suspension and steering overhaul when any suspension/steering issue occurs becos both are inter-related esp. the te rods and ends which start to deteriorate faster when suspension is bad.My esteems work has been done twice by this guy.It has clocked 2.5Lac kms .

I have found that aftermarket parts for baleno arent that expensive (for 4K I can buy the steering and suspension parts)..and spend another 1-1.5K on labor... and I will be equalling the cost of changing 1 arm as quoted by MASS.

The only issue is a reliable mechanic.I have searched the forums and talked to Pandit&Co. in Okhla.they seem to be too high..
My req are:
1. Mechanic should be reputed.suspension specialist ideally(but reasonable when money comes 1-2K labor)
2.rodsiders not preferred.unless they are tooooo good.

Delhities.Kindly give your valueable inputs.
Old 17th October 2008, 00:44   #2

70k is nothing for a Mcpherson to be worn out, unless you used your car in a rally conditions or in Jalore district in rajasthan. lolz

Are you sure its the suspension and not the tie-rod and its ends. Both are quite different things you know and are not related. 1st one is suspension and latter are steering related parts.

Is there any sign of oil leakage from suspension. (i guess baleno has oil and not gas shocks at front.) Suspension can be checked very easily.

Following is a SX4 layout. but its almost same for all FF layout cars. Hope it helps.
Baleno Suspension overhaul:any good & reasonable mechanic in South Delhi/Noida-sx4-service-manual.jpg

PS: @ Mods. Sorry for a large image upload. Its needed for illustrations.

Last edited by SirAlec : 17th October 2008 at 00:46.
Old 17th October 2008, 09:43   #3

Here is a pic from the Baleno service manual. I downloaded the entire manual from a link provided in one of the threads here.
I too feel you should get a second opinion, from a good mechanic experienced in Baleno (take him privately outside just for the diagnosis)
Baleno Suspension overhaul:any good & reasonable mechanic in South Delhi/Noida-balenosusp.jpg  

Last edited by filcord : 17th October 2008 at 09:45.
Old 17th October 2008, 14:37   #4

Thanks for the quick reply mates. Well Today's update : Went to another MASS in south delhi who say front shocks and suspension bushes are the culprits and asked me to get complete suspension and steering work done for 25K just for peace of mind.

Even it looks to me that suspension @ 70k for baleno should be good.

Well I have noticed a strange thing today..Lost in my thoughts of my car while i was driving in my companys parking lot(its very smooth and long road)..the car made the same sounds from the front left @ speed <20 at 5th gear(when engine vibrates).

Ananlysis::The sound that car makes on potholes is the same sound that is made by a struggling engine(low speed @ high gear)..
Would this help to isolate the problem as the car is running on a very very flat road???

What can it be: suspension arms/bush/shocks??
Old 17th October 2008, 22:18   #5

I still doubt that its suspension. and 25k is way too expensive. Pair of koni is cheaper than that. lolz

I will give you the exact price tomorrow. and as i said before Mcpherson struts are very reliable and go way beyond 3 lac km. if you have used in place like new delhi.

Since you are saying the sound is like knocking, i suspect drive shaft. and not the suspension.

PS:Have you enlarged my image above, i have given the problem points in red.
Old 19th October 2008, 01:21   #6

thank you siralec for the detailed documentation. I have taken a printout and shown the checkpoints to a mechanic whom my office colleague has referred me to.
Old 19th October 2008, 23:35   #7

Cost of from struts is Rs.1888.60 tax paid Rajasthan.
Old 20th October 2008, 11:21   #8

Change the bushes, as it could be a case of worn out bushes and tighten up everything.
Old 20th October 2008, 11:49   #9

I have heard good things about Riaz in Khan market.
You can try him.
Old 25th October 2008, 01:42   #10

baleno suspension issue::resolved::phew.what an experience

hello folks,

thank you for all the inputs and support.I have finally managed to get my balenos suspension khatak noise resolved.
After consulting so many people ranging from desi mechanics to MASS advisors i found a guy in noida sec 16 market(car market) who gave me a convincing answer.He said 70k was nothing as balenos suspension is good.shocks are not gone since ride is ok and he pushed the car to see some squeks and bouncing thing and came to conclusion that it might be jumping rod end.Got them changed for RS 300 but still the isue remained.I was a little upset but then he said its definately the bush.He was so confident that without even asking me opened the suspension and took out the arm and bingo.The bush in the arm end was almost free.He tied some black tape to the arms end where the bush fits and then applied some oil so that the bush could slide in and that was it.No noise.Issue sorted out at 300+250laborand 10Rs tape(which did the magic).LOL .Thanks again guys for your help. cheers:
Old 27th October 2008, 19:01   #11

That is really good to know. One more instance of this forum helping us save unnecessary expense on repairs.
Do you have any pics, or a little more detail? I print these things out and keep them in the Baleno manual so i can discuss with the mechanics when i have any trouble.
Old 27th October 2008, 20:00   #12

Unfortunately I havent got any pics mate, because it happened so fast and I didnt even know he would be able to repair it. It doesnt appeal to anybody that a tape might work.LOL.Well since my bush was original he insisted i use that bush.I was more keen on buying a new one.Anyways suspension drills a huge hole in the pocket so i hope that my 2 cents would have helped the forum.
Old 27th October 2008, 20:01   #13

TSK1979 please pm me Riaz's address/contact number.Since I am a newbie I cannot contact/pm you.Thanks
Old 27th October 2008, 21:48   #14

Glad to hear, the issue is resolved.

Drive Safe
TBHP urges you to use your seatbelts at all time.
Old 16th July 2010, 20:20   #15

Originally Posted by kannyrocks View Post
hello folks,

thank you for all the inputs and support.I have finally managed to get my balenos suspension khatak noise resolved.

After consulting so many people ranging from desi mechanics to MASS advisors i found a guy in noida sec 16 market(car market) who gave me a convincing answer.He said 70k was nothing as...

....Thanks again guys for your help. cheers:
My apologies to bringing this thread back up.
Could we get a little detail on "the guy in noida sec16" ?