Team-BHP - Difference between ohc 1.3 and 1.5

-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   Difference between ohc 1.3 and 1.5 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/50513-difference-between-ohc-1-3-1-5-a-2.html)

I will do that later in the day. :)

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl (Post 1089984)
to add to the differences list:
rear defogger ony in 1.5.
I know type 1 OHC 1.3 didn't have power windows, not sure about type 2 OHC 1.3 though.
lowest model in 1.3 had black bumpers
not sure but i think the extra brake light behind the rear glass was missing in 1.3 as well. Anyone can confirm this?

1. All four power windows in 1.3 Dx
2. Body Colored Bumpers (No other option was there)
3. Rear Defogger and the Brake Light are also there.

Another difference was in the interior panels. in 1.3DX it was all Grey/Black (the panel with AC controls, HU and all), and there was apart in the doors (under the power window switch). However in 1.5 and Vtec, they had wood finish and chrome finish.

Let me add some of the features of my OHC (Aug 2000) 1.3 EXi
All factory fitted
Door Handles, Door Mirrors - Black in Colour
Body coloured bumpers
Wheel Caps
Tachometer, 4 power Windows, Defogger.
175/70 R13 tyres

Features I have added
Front Fog lamps ,
Power Antenna
Alloy wheels

I think this should end all the confusion. :)

Originally Posted by iraghava (Post 1089935)
Gen 1, Type 1 1.3 cars did not have a Tacho (they were the ones with the non-clear headlamps). Also, all Gen 1 Type 1 cars had grey interiors.

Nahi Ishan bro, all OHCs have a tacho, I have a Type 1 1.3 standing in my driveway too.

Agree with the gray interiors for Type 1. Type 2 had options for either.

I know type 1 OHC 1.3 didn't have power windows, not sure about type 2 OHC 1.3 though. It does have power windows for all 4 doors. I believe all OHCs have power windows - standard.

not sure but i think the extra brake light behind the rear glass was missing in 1.3 as well. Anyone can confirm this? Correct. Only 1.5 has the 3rd brake light.

Originally Posted by Shashank.A (Post 1090150)

2. Body Colored Bumpers (No other option was there) -

There was a Type 1 model which had black bumpers, and I believe it was only available in white colour. My guess says it was made to be used as a commercial / taxi vehicle.

panel with AC controls, HU and all),
How can we forget this. The Type 1s have sliding A/C controls whereas the Type 2s have rotary knobs.

How can we forget the 1.5ExiS model that came with factory fitted alloys and a spoiler. A very limited few of these even came with retractable ORVMs. I wish I could get my hands on that pair of ORVMs!!!!

Originally 1.3 did not have tacho, a friend of mine has 99 model 1.3 exi which does not have techo. There was a model in 1998-99 (ex, not exi) which was with black bumper, non-power-steering , non-power-windows. That was available for only few months. Only a few hundred units sold.

guys one more doubt here -

have you all observed that door lining outside the frame - silver garnish frame - i mean the silver beeding which runs through the door frame.

is this coming only for 1.5 OHC's or not ? What about 1.3 dx and Exi - I havent seen it in 1.3 OHC's.

can this be retro fitted if possible in 1.3 exi OHC's - it really enhances the looks man..! i swear...notice the baleno for a while - it has the same.

rgrds
prsn

I think it is an aftermarket accessory. You can get it installed in any variant. I got it installed in my 1.3 DX.

1.3 =1300cc 90Bhp

The initial batches of the 1.3 came without tacho, but had a 'Honda' branded audio system with 2 speakers.

Sometime in mid 99, the colour 'emerald green was launched' around the same time, the 1.3 exi variant too got a tachometer, and i think 4 speakers.

The 1.3 LXi came with black bumpers, and no power windows/defogger. It also came with only a centre hubcap instead of the normal full wheelcover.

The 1.3LXi had silver painted rims against the black rims for the higher models.

There was also a 50th anniversary model based on the 1.3 Lxi and the 1.5 exiS, which had some stickering on the bootlid, gold coloured trim instead og the normal chrome plastic bits, and came in silver colour.

1.5 EXi- 1500cc 100 Bhp
Over and above the feature sof the 1.3, the 1.5 always had
a tacho,
a different stereo with 4 speakers
Chrome trim around the side windows
Matte black B pillar
3rd brake lamp(only the last few batches of the 1.3 have them)
More sport looking wheelcaps
Digital clock
Drivers armrest/centre console box
Wood finished centre console, and AC vents.
The last few batches came with beige interiors and wooden gearknob
Electrically adjustable ORVM
Body coloured door handles and ORVMs

1.5 ExiS
Only in the type 1 model
small spoiler on the boot
Front for lamps
Five spoke alloys
A very subtle skirt
1.5 EXiS Badging on the rear
This model had an exclusive colour-MONTECARLO BLUE.

Over the 1.5, the V-Tec had

106 bhp Vtec engine!:D
silver finished center console and ac vents
See thru front headrests
The interiors were always black.
Alpine stereo
Alloy wheels
Rear spoiler
Chrome garnish around the rear number plate
Twin tip exhaust

Difference Between Type 1 and Type 2
Clear lens headlam and taillamps
Wrap around taillamps
Different bumpers
Rotary controls for the ac instead of the old sliding ones
Different stereo
EXiS model discontinued
Different rear end design(bootlid)

Hope its clear now! :)

Good description. It should clear all doubts of everyone. :)

I know type 1 OHC 1.3 didn't have power windows, not sure about type 2 OHC 1.3 though.
lowest model in 1.3 had black bumpers

That would be the 1.3 LXi model which came only with A/C & Power Steering and didn't even have the plastic wheel caps.

Originally Posted by ankitahuja (Post 1090495)
Nahi Ishan bro, all OHCs have a tacho, I have a Type 1 1.3 standing in my driveway too.

Nahin bhai, a friend's '98 1.3 EXi didn't have the tacho, I drove around in it for about 3 weeks.

now if someone can put the pricing of these various models it would be good fun seing how Honda has been fleecing Indian customers since 97 ( ?)

i vaguely remember the 1.5EXI ( type 2 ) was around 8.7-8.9 on road cochin ( 2001 ) - don't think prices would have varied much across the years

I will need to search my old files for the quotations from Honda, surely I can do that for u guys. :)

Here is the price list of May'03 in Delhi. :)

Over the 1.5, the V-Tec had

106 bhp Vtec engine!:D
silver finished center console and ac vents
See thru front headrests
The interiors were always black.
Alpine stereo
Alloy wheels
Rear spoiler
Chrome garnish around the rear number plate
Twin tip exhaust
almost 1 lac extra. that is robbery.And its just 6hp more.

Originally Posted by paras211 (Post 1091554)
almost 1 lac extra. that is robbery.And its just 6hp more.

Bro the extra 6BHP in the "VTEC" form is what separated the men from the boys.