Old 9th June 2009, 23:24   #1

Baleno Overhaul

What is the typical life of a baleno engine ?
I was thinking of getting myself a used baleno under 2 lakhs and mod it slowly. A used baleno under 2 lakhs would have done 1L+ kms.
What all is necessary to be replaced during an engine overhaul and what would the costs be like ?

Also how much would the following cost ?
1. complete suspension replacement
2. brake repalcement
3. gearbox overhaul
4. drive shaft replacement
5. clutch replacement

Basically how much would it cost for a baleno that has run 1L+ kms perform like new ?
Also was there a BHARAT stage 1 baleno ?
Old 9th June 2009, 23:31   #2

Why buy one for 2 lakhs and spend a lakh or so on it?
You can get a low mileage, clean 2005 Lxi for 2.5 lakhs.
Old 9th June 2009, 23:33   #3

Dude , from a Jeep to a Baleno ? Something is wrong here ! Can you even stretch your legs in one of these ? lol.

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 9th June 2009 at 23:37.
Old 9th June 2009, 23:37   #4

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Why buy one for 2 lakhs and spend a lakh or so on it?
You can get a low mileage, clean 2005 Lxi for 2.5 lakhs.
True makes sense.
Also are baleno parts cheaper than OHC, lancer and palio 1.6 ?

Arun: The jeep aint going anywhere. It is just that i cant always go sweaty and smelly to a formal gathering and the fairer sex will surely not appreciate being driven around in a jeep without a/c.
Max budget is under 3L preferably.
I Have never owned a modded car before and i think the baleno is a good place to start.

Last edited by cooldude1988765 : 9th June 2009 at 23:42.
Old 9th June 2009, 23:38   #5

Hi , Maruti Baleno should last you about 3lakh kms if you get a well maintained one, but I tend to agree with what NITROUS has written
Old 9th June 2009, 23:55   #6

Originally Posted by cooldude1988765 View Post
Also are baleno parts cheaper than OHC, lancer and palio 1.6 ?
I'm not sure how they stand in comparison to the cars u have mentioned, but i can confirm that some Baleno parts are really expensive.
Old 10th June 2009, 13:28   #7

Hey even i was in the same dilemma .Finally i settled for 2.40 l for a 2006 Baleno 25k kms on odo .I know some parts are expensive but how often do we require those parts .
So my suggestion look for a less used car .I had turned one baleno run 60K kms due to apprehensions even though he was giving it for less than 2 lacs.
Keep Looking.
Old 10th June 2009, 14:46   #8

Can anyone provide me with the baleno's spare part price list ?
Old 10th June 2009, 14:54   #9

For 3 lakhs, you can get a 2007 vxi with climate control.
Old 10th June 2009, 14:58   #10

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
For 3 lakhs, you can get a 2007 vxi with climate control.
Are you serious ? Most of the cars in hyd are pretty expensive i have seen ads for 2005-2006 balenos for 4-4.5L
Old 10th June 2009, 15:52   #11

THe lower arms should cost you 5000 each.
Clutch should be around 5000 also. The g16b is quite relaible; should easily last 300,000 kms. No, I don't think there was a BS1 baleno.
Old 10th June 2009, 17:10   #12

I agree with nitrous. Re-sale prices of Balenos are pretty low. I was quoted 2.7 for my 30k kms Vxi, which I have babied since it's purchase.
I decided that I'd rather gift it to myself than to a perfect stranger, so am keeping the car for another couple of years at least.
Old 10th June 2009, 17:21   #13

guys car rates vary from city to city and i really doubt you can get a 3lakh 2k7 baleno in bangy. if hyd is anything similar, then same applies there too.
Old 10th June 2009, 17:27   #14

Here in bangalore a clean 2006-2007 vxi model baleno is no where below 3.5 - 4L.
for 2.5L, u get 2002 types. For less than 2L u get some crappy ones.
Old 10th June 2009, 19:32   #15

Originally Posted by silver_shadow View Post
guys car rates vary from city to city and i really doubt you can get a 3lakh 2k7 baleno in bangy. if hyd is anything similar, then same applies there too.
Originally Posted by fieroid View Post
Here in bangalore a clean 2006-2007 vxi model baleno is no where below 3.5 - 4L.
for 2.5L, u get 2002 types. For less than 2L u get some crappy ones.
Even hyd prices are around the same.