Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2009, 15:51   #1
BHPian

Swift Petrol - Brrrrrrrrr noise at high speed!!

Yes , Swift petrol has a weak clutch , I have been driving since last 25 years , in none of the cars I have driven the clutch had to be changed ( Padmni , Ambassador , Maruti Van , Gypsy , Tata Sierra , Opel Astra ) , but three year old swift done only 18,000 km needed a clutch change .

Now there is a Brrrrrrrrrrrr............. noise coming once the car is in the range of 60 - 90 kmph . Any ideas what this noise could be ?

I am suspecting the tubeless radials are making this noise !!!!!
Old 8th October 2009, 16:30   #2
BHPian

I used to get the same kind of sound in my Scorpio when I had JK tyres. Since I have shifted to Bridgestone the sound has reduced considerably. But I get this sound sometimes on particular roads.

Check if you get this sound on all the road or particular roads
Old 8th October 2009, 22:31   #3
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandrda View Post
I used to get the same kind of sound in my Scorpio when I had JK tyres. Since I have shifted to Bridgestone the sound has reduced considerably. But I get this sound sometimes on particular roads.

Check if you get this sound on all the road or particular roads
Matter of fact the stock tyres in the Swift are JK .

Its on all the roads . With AC & without AC .
Old 10th October 2009, 23:15   #4
BHPian

If you suspect it could be your tyres, try to isolate the noise. Some tyres do make a lot of noise. Remember the Jk Steel radials on my amby sound as loud as truck tyres on a silent highway )
Old 11th October 2009, 00:14   #5
BHPian

Other than the tire also get your rear wheel bearings.
Old 11th October 2009, 19:16   #6
Distinguished - BHPian

if the noise also brings with it some vibrations,it could also be because of improper balancing
Old 11th October 2009, 19:20   #7
Senior - BHPian