Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd September 2010, 19:33   #1
BHPian

Alto Trip Meter Resets to 0 on Turning Off Ignition

Hi,

I have been using my Alto for over 3 years and have clocked about 30,000Kms to date.

Strangely, yesterday I replaced the audio system of my car, afterwhich the trip meter is automatically resetting to 0 each time the ignition is switched off.

I related this problem to the replacement of the audio system, however I can't seem to understand the relation between the electrical wiring of the audio system with that of the trip meter.

I've checked all of the fuses and also checked by removing all the electrical connections made to the new audio system, however the problem seems to persist.

The odometer seems to be working fine and so are the other electricals. Any help in this regard would be much apprecaited.

Thanks

Yikes
Old 2nd September 2010, 20:01   #2
Senior - BHPian

yikes pretty strange it is, usually the culprit is a blown fuse. Since you confirmed having checked it all, look at the battery terminals and ensure they aren't corroded or loosely connected.
Old 2nd September 2010, 20:16   #3
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by yikes6633 View Post
Hi,

I have been using my Alto for over 3 years and have clocked about 30,000Kms to date.

Strangely, yesterday I replaced the audio system of my car, afterwhich the trip meter is automatically resetting to 0 each time the ignition is switched off.

I related this problem to the replacement of the audio system, however I can't seem to understand the relation between the electrical wiring of the audio system with that of the trip meter.

I've checked all of the fuses and also checked by removing all the electrical connections made to the new audio system, however the problem seems to persist.

The odometer seems to be working fine and so are the other electricals. Any help in this regard would be much apprecaited.