Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th December 2012, 03:42   #1
BHPian

A review of my Toyota Premio (ex-Japan)

Disclaimer

This is my first ever thread on TBHP.
While I have taken every effort to put up a report that does justice to a beautiful vehicle, it's natural to have fallen back on a number of areas, especially technical, as I am no expert. I therefore request your pardon and will be glad to take any suggestions that will help enhance my posts in future.

I hope you enjoy this piece. If all goes well, expect an African safari travelogue covering Masai Mara, very soon

A review of my Toyota Premio (ex-Japan)-01.jpg

A Background

JDM – Japan Domestic Market; consists vehicles that are designed (to be used) exclusively for Japan.

Nairobi, often-dubbed “City in the Sun” is a clean, green and pleasant city to live and drive in. People follow lane discipline, good clearly marked roads (free from two-wheelers) for the most part, horns rarely put to work and traffic rules respected. Much like the way our Western brethren ride, albeit on the inverted side of the tarmac.

Enter traffic-jams: the greatest source of vexation for motorists in this Kenyan capital. Bad bad jams. Every working day. The kind that make footing 20 kilometers feel quicker, unless your leather seat seems cushier than the couch back home, for 2 hours. Or more, you never know.