Old 9th September 2021, 20:02   #31

re: The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update

Originally Posted by arindambasu13 View Post
Lovely, your car looks absolutely pristine. Great job on maintaining the car so well Only hope that I am able to do this good a job on my Ecosport over the years. Those are a serious number of miles on the clock, too - this car loves the expressway and is a true blooded mile muncher for sure!

Happy to hear that the maintenance costs continue to be reasonable for what is a powerful motor and solid mechanicals. Kudos to Ford for rationalisig maintenance and service costs.
Originally Posted by Samfromindia View Post
Wow the car is looking as good as new Just curious, did you change your timing belt kit now that you crossed 1L milestone or giving it a pass ?
Thanks for the good words Arindambasu13 and Samfromindia, hell of a day to talk about a Ford though. Such a fabulous car to have and enjoy. Such low and rational after service costs and hoot of a car and yet, we have to see Ford leaving. I for one, will continue to enjoy this wonderful car for as long as I can and I know you guys will do the same too.

Coming to the question of timing belts, I haven’t replaced them yet although at 120k kms, I have plans to replace them. Last checked, they were fine. After the last service, I am of the view that spending some amount of money on new rear shock absorbers, the car will be back to its best.
One of the best things of servicing at the ASC is the Vehicle Report Card that they provide which actually tells you about the state of the car.

It’s sad that we will not get to buy another Ford for the time being unless something dramatic happens and Ford decides to reboot its operations in India. Till that happens, let’s enjoy with what we have
ABHI_1512 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th February 2022, 21:02   #32

re: The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update

It’s been a while since Baahon got the next update here. Since the pandemic is still raging, there has been a significant decrease in the usual running of this fantastic car. While the daily usage had reduced somewhat during the last six months, the highway drives still continued and munched on miles gladly. The regular 1.20l service was done sometime back and apart from the usual culprits like change of engine oil, oil filter and air filter, brake pads and the timing belt and the complete pre tensioner assembly were replaced too. Some pictures of the parts for reference:

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-bbf8894619ef42cd9b783c454d8ed69c.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ab5a01c4345b4af58af437bab817da09.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-bb576fc9156e41cb8cb031b07c277215.jpeg

Ford service continues to be great and affordable. In fact, what makes me happy is that the service part seems to be more proactive now after the announcement of Ford ceasing manufacturing in India. After each service, Ford India folks continue to ask for feedback. Baahon seems to be in happy place and continues to be the great car to drive as it was some seven years ago. Baahon recently made a trip to the far East Arunachal Pradesh recently and the account of which will be made in a separate post. Some random pictures from the city and highway drives.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-0f685127349d44f6b553a43e37c8b5f5.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-edafabbdb9364fed9998daaf0a3f2b85.jpeg

Above two pictures were from the trip to Bundelkhand during the Puja holidays last year and Baahon performed flawlessly just as it always have been doing.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-07e61a02588744fab9972ae16daac1f7.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ca23f22d36a849899915996010042ce5.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a4a87ce0819c45c39cb653ab80544c5b.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-08372140d1d0483d881994e9f2104f1d.jpeg

The last picture is special in a way since it has been clicked by fellow BHPian dip27in while we were returning from a wonderful meet up few days back.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-f288a5e7e54745f6a557ce2caa63d0bc.jpeg

Odometer reading stands at 1,23,500 kms now and this wonderful little machine continues to amaze with each drive. Leaving a wonderful sequence from the odometer :

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-dae4cc6df2d64d5d8fe86ae76bf06e0f.jpeg
ABHI_1512 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 26th March 2022, 00:28   #33

So Baahon is chugging along nicely and crunching miles with glee. The odometer reading is now 1,27,000 and the car recently got new shoes from Yokohama. Yokohama Earth1 seems to be a good purchase as of now after the noisy Good years. The handling and grip levels have improved to a certain extent and the ride quality has become more plush. Of course, nothing can be done about the suspension part since it has always been little bouncy

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-36872df8537849b48760357833d459ba.jpeg

As an aside, got a small work done at the ASC. The front suspension bearing and the mounting assembly needed to be changed since they were damaged. The whole work costed around two hours and ₹2100.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-147f95aa5b6d42d2864b8dbba9eb1a6f.jpeg

So now, Baahon is just as good as it can be, both mechanically and aesthetically. The car is ageing beautifully and it still drives like it supposed to be. I am planning to give an internal makeover to the car, let’s see how that pans out. Meanwhile, some pictures from a recent trip to Netarhat.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-8c62f87c21dc454282b46149f8836caf.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d63cb21e16264fbebd25267cae84a3ee.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-efa704f01e12455490e7dadb3b75ae31.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-fe35bb3ff6e54af69ab7ccfa4bbb2524.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-54020ac069b94240a94d56a94951f830.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d7ef0fe13bfe4a62ad2660479762f845.jpeg

Last edited by ABHI_1512 : 26th March 2022 at 00:30.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 31st May 2022, 00:58   #34

Service Update:

Baahon recently completed the 1,30,000 kms mark and the service was done accordingly at the FASS (Ganges Ford) here in Calcutta. Some of the parts needed replacement after this long period of ownership and hence the service bill was on the higher side due to the parts change and the corresponding labour charges.

Parts changed:
1. Rear Shock Absorber (RH)
2. Engine Mount
3. Bar bush stabiliser
4. Steering Rack

The normal service included the following routine items and were duly changed as per schedule:
1. Engine Oil
2. Air Filter
3. Oil Filter

So, apart from the regular service and all the work involving the change of parts, the total cost came to around ₹ 33,000. In the case of the Steering Rack, the good folks at Ford and the dealer offered me a 30% discount as Goodwill Warranty and hence saving me some bucks in the process. The service experience has been fantastic so far over the years and I will hope that it stays that way.

Now, the steering rack was changed since I was getting a constant sound while moving on uneven roads and it got amplified due to the recent North Sikkim sojourn (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/trave...-ecosport.html (Gurudongmar and the British Bungalow | Enchanting North Sikkim in an EcoSport))

Turned out, after the trip, the right side Shock Absorber also went kaput since coming out of the factory and had to be changed and so was the engine Mount. Now, after the change of parts, the car just feels like new again and I am now very inclined to give it an inside makeover as I might have mentioned earlier as well. No fixed timeline though, since the interiors doesn’t need much fixing. May be, changing the seat covers will give the car a fresh look.

Some pictures of recent times, just to get some attention

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-0703e057b7da4ab7bc37309331f717a6.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-5fc199a84adf48bfaa33a900837ebc33.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-7f0345195c204da8bca8f1e61cfeba38.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-f08177225b8b49339b36ec72c1d2e804.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-b426a189705141e784c29465ef20e5fd.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4fb62d5fde5647c4a54b50efdbcc1385.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d4e28abfa76a45b9813a5f6d063102fd.jpeg

The present odometer reading stands at 1,30,530 kms and Baahon is chugging along nicely.

Last edited by ABHI_1512 : 31st May 2022 at 01:06.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2022, 15:54   #35

I bought a preloved 2016 Ecosport Titanium (O) last November and I am a happy man ever since when it comes to the car. After having driven a Getz CRDI and Chevy Beat (P) for the past 14+ years, I thought that owning a heavier car with comparatively lesser power figures would make me frustrated. But boy was I wrong. I love the way the power builds up linearly and the excellent drivability even in low RPMs just astonished me. I then really understood why every Ecosport Owner raves about it.

There are a couple of grouses for me though and I would like to know if this is the same for other owners.

1. The second gear doesn't pull at all below 20kmph. As a result, I always have to shift to 1st when going over a speed breaker. I was easily able to drive over them at 2nd in my other cars.

2. The mileage is very sensitive to hard foot. If I keep driving at 80kmph and keep giving carefully mild accelerations, I get a mileage of 18-20. Taking it to 100 or so reduces it to 16 or less. My Getz used to give me 16+ while being driven hard at 100+. So I am puzzled how are other owners able to extract 22kmpl.

3. I also noticed that the speedo error is almost 10Kmph compared to the GPS speed. When the speed says 100, the car is actually moving at 90-91kmph.

Despite these things I still love the car. I can keep at the wheel all day long and chugging.
vimalgk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th August 2022, 00:02   #36

So Baahon is chugging along nicely and the odometer reading has crossed 1.34 lakh kilometers. No new addition to the vehicle as of now and the car is munching miles just as the car always does with great aplomb. Recently made a trip to Betla National Park in Jharkhand. The route from Calcutta is straight forward till Ranchi and consists of fantastic road surface throughout. The road is also very scenic and passes beside places like Dalma Sanctuary and Chandil Dam. Ranchi Ring Road was taken to bypass the city traffic and then superb two lane road takes all the way to Betla through Mandar, Chandwa and Latehar.

We also explored the place enough to see some beautiful water falls nearby Betla namely Mirchayya falls, Suggabandh and Lodhfalls. Also, Palemu Fort is one hidden gem near Betla. The road from Betla towards Netarhat is superb and newly laid with fresh coat of bitumen. As a result, the journey itself turned out to be wonderful. Betla to Netarhat must count as one of the most scenic routes to drive across the country. Filled with greenery on both sides and lush green forest, the route is pure bliss. Sharing some pictures of the trip here.

First picture during sunrise after the long night
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4235e49a420545fab81213dccfec9829.jpeg

Early sunrise view
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-46cc61808d5f4b08bf4c8990ac66fb2b.jpeg

Baahon at the entrance of Palemu Fort
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-5442451771294908a67661eabf81cd7f.jpeg

My version of Sachiv ji ka makaan ala Phulera
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-1baef2c2d0214cc8adc78e7c767656b7.jpeg

Betla National Park
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-e6b29a7ace0e4367af1bf5172f410f0e.jpeg

Van Vihar Betla
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-9ac27643209e4ac7abf663b2ad6b4fca.jpeg

Baahon posing near Betla
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4e76ec6002a24304b9b229882af37ccc.jpeg

One of the numerous water crossings
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d34277bc897b44af846f3faca863d8fd.jpeg

Baahon at Suggabandh
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4409e480062c49879edc4592461a6972.jpeg

Local hot Jalebis for the love of sweets
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-73954e5b097f405da06afebc33ac2342.jpeg

The route from Latehar towards Betla
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d02f3d3a6b54435e8f75faa78860ef8b.jpeg

Entrance to Van Vihar Betla
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-7f91b6f00ee145d4ac2f447f13ecda17.jpeg

Maggi never fails to amaze
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-8bb9af822f414993bbfda189b7063959.jpeg

This route from Betla to Neterhat is a driver’s delight
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a7b76d282f5547688c0fe6ff6142a7ea.jpeg
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-cd58a3c2d16d4b9a922e8d36919c0da6.jpeg

Lodh Falls is the highest in Jharkhand
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-14a3737ac8e343c5af67555c994b7c14.jpeg
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-6f9e29a101a147fd8a09b7d70a9b6fd8.jpeg
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-31664cdf35b2413bb20c49ed5b0b1225.jpeg

The beauty of Suggabandh is simply outstanding with water gushing amidst the rocks
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-83d2ab6a201d4421afd5f960645229bb.jpeg

The road from Betla towards Natarhat also passes through the Tropic of Cancer
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-5f2f295ff7df4a2a8e515a1495643446.jpeg

Baahon posing on the newly built bridge over Auranga river at Kechki
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-12a4a5a0880a4df98a7d4c939481c6d8.jpeg

Entrance of the Betla Jungle area
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-e73fbd74128145ac9ee507b5f7b0d938.jpeg

Baahon at Kechki Sangam- the confluence of river Auranga and River Koel
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-24944288188d425994528985a1f041c8.jpeg

Mighty ruins of Palamu Fort
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-01a75c7aece44242b4f052cc13d017b4.jpeg

Last edited by ABHI_1512 : 18th August 2022 at 00:06.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 21st August 2022, 18:05   #37

Though leaving India I think ford’s doing an excellent job of after sales support
Naveen_1176 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2022, 00:22   #38

Originally Posted by ABHI_1512 View Post
So Baahon is chugging along nicely and the odometer reading has crossed 1.34 lakh kilometers. No new addition to the vehicle as of now and the car is munching miles just as the car always does with great aplomb. Recently made a trip to Betla National Park in Jharkhand.
Another feather added to Baahon's cap, and another destination added to my travel wishlist!

You really do get around - it seems it was only yesterday that you posted the 120k milestone for Baahon, and she's at 134k already! You are an inspiration for anyone who lives to drive and wish you many more happy miles with Baahon. Keep revving!
Neversaygbye is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th September 2022, 19:10   #39

Parts changed:
2. Engine Mount
3. Bar bush stabiliser
4. Steering Rack

In the case of the Steering Rack, the good folks at Ford and the dealer offered me a 30% discount as Goodwill Warranty and hence saving me some bucks in the process.

Now, the steering rack was changed since I was getting a constant sound while moving on uneven roads and it got amplified due to the recent North Sikkim sojourn (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/trave...-ecosport.html (Gurudongmar and the British Bungalow | Enchanting North Sikkim in an EcoSport))
Thanks for your effort in putting down your experience and drives.

My 2014 Ecosport has just touched 90K on the ODO. Last year around December I started noticing this sound from my front LHS especially on patchy roads. I was suspecting my lower arm, but the FASS diagnosed this to be the Steering Rack.

I did not see much of a hassle, and even FASS suggested to replace it with ease - until I noticed an uneven wear on my Front LHS tyre. So looks like I have to get this sorted anyway.

Can you tell me how complex the work is - I was told that the Steering Rack assembly is around 17K at FASS.
peterjim13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2022, 00:08   #40

Originally Posted by peterjim13 View Post

Can you tell me how complex the work is - I was told that the Steering Rack assembly is around 17K at FASS.
Before changing the Steering Rack, have the tie rods inspected first. If that comes out good, only then think of touching the steering rack. The price quoted by FASS is correct, the cost comes to around 22k including the labour charges if I remember correctly. The work takes around 1.5 hours or so, not much of a hassle as such. Just the alignment part is additional. Hope that helps.

Regards.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 14:56   #41

Hope that helps.

Regards.
On inspection it looks like the culprit is the left tie rod. And they feel I may have to replace both. When look at the cost - I felt replacing the Steering Rack assembly made more sense.

Front suspension has also got a bit more stiffer, and I may have to replace this as well. I am going to do that outside FASS as MonRoe suspension are available at almost 3K less than FASS.

I have ordered the steering rack last week and expecting the spares to come down this week.
peterjim13 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th October 2022, 00:09   #42

Before changing the Steering Rack, have the tie rods inspected first. If that comes out good, only then think of touching the steering rack. The price quoted by FASS is correct, the cost comes to around 22k including the labour charges if I remember correctly. The work takes around 1.5 hours or so, not much of a hassle as such. Just the alignment part is additional. Hope that helps.

Regards.
The FASS always want to work on things which cost $$$ to replace. Finally after replacing the front and rear shocks and components, they want to replace the steering rack which they say is the cause of the sound which comes while driving over bad roads. Considering the cost, I decided to live with it as I cannot end up spending 20K on extras at each service. First came the timing chain set, then suspension, then they want steering rack and finally they will want to replace the clutch

Last edited by Samfromindia : 28th October 2022 at 00:11.
Samfromindia is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th November 2022, 12:45   #43

1.40k kms Update

Baahon just crossed the One Lakh forty thousand mark some time back and the usual service was done at the Ford Authorised Service Center at Calcutta- Ganges Ford. The service experience, just as usual, was great and it couldn’t have been better. The front ball bearing hubs were changed and so did the two bar bush stabilisers. The car probably now needs an interior makeover, just to make things little interesting inside

The following items were changed:
1. Oil Filter
2. Gasket plug
3. AC Filter
4. Air Filter
5. Engine Oil
6. Bar Bush stabilisers
7. Front Bearings
8. Retainer Log Nut

The total cost including the service and labour charges came to around ₹13,000. After the change of bearings, the car is back to its original real self. After the NE expedition, the car needed some thorough cleaning as well and which was done at the service center only. Ganges Ford has two service outlets here in Calcutta and the one at Maheshtala is pretty efficient in the washing and cleaning department. So, Baahon is doing what it does best- bringing a smile everytime I drive it.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-8c3aa2efb9174d84b111cdf3732f5aef.jpeg

The recent NE travel sojourn is documented in the thread :

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/trave...more-food.html (Tawang & Kaziranga Redux | Cars, Friends, Food and some more food)

Some pictures:

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-1edc3df28bc7402e9e21d5f4c1f53670.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-968611594f0742be9a21702d38e61aaf.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ac1e611b9d5840b9a09051b21ab6e550.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-021512581ee44aba9bad2bd74600a9c2.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-476705ad2112492cbe15eb7db4abbc7f.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-39e482caaa45460b9d2b3dbc4db4cd35.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-62907202c68945d69249f1d4ca2e18ab.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-62ff925a0f954b0095f0ca6c6a4d58a3.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d1e59525dcc64b71830dc6382d773882.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-fcaaf0e845044e7ca89f67af8b8f6d46.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-20fc57ae929842a288d0b2d048470a1e.jpeg
ABHI_1512 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 18th November 2022, 11:59   #44

Service Update:

Baahon recently completed the 1,30,000 kms mark and the service was done accordingly at the FASS (Ganges Ford) here in Calcutta. Some of the parts needed replacement after this long period of ownership and hence the service bill was on the higher side due to the parts change and the corresponding labour charges.

Parts changed:
2. Engine Mount
3. Bar bush stabiliser
4. Steering Rack
Even i am getting a sound which is very prominent while going over uneven roads. Ganges Ford has suggested for suspension overhaul which costs in the range of 30 to 35k. My car in still under extended warranty and steering rack will be covered in warranty if required. There's a camp going on for pre 2017 cars having benefits worth 15% off in parts & labour. I will be giving my ecosport for suspension works on 24th. Now my question is can this job wait for sometime or should i get it done asap? My car is into 7th year now with close to 84k in odo.
Old 19th November 2022, 23:58   #45

Originally Posted by Fordlover88 View Post
Even i am getting a sound which is very prominent while going over uneven roads. Ganges Ford has suggested for suspension overhaul which costs in the range of 30 to 35k. My car in still under extended warranty and steering rack will be covered in warranty if required. There's a camp going on for pre 2017 cars having benefits worth 15% off in parts & labour. I will be giving my ecosport for suspension works on 24th. Now my question is can this job wait for sometime or should i get it done asap? My car is into 7th year now with close to 84k in odo.
Rack replacement is an expensive process but if it’s covered under warranty, then there is no point in delaying it. But, having said that, before the rack replacement, check for the lower arm and the tie rods. Many a times, faulty lower arm can result in noise when the car is driven over rough and uneven roads. The steering rack is the last thing one should touch in this scenario. Steering rack is not an easy part to wear off that easily, certainly not when the car is primarily driven inside the city for major parts.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (2) Thanks