Old 27th November 2021, 21:12   #31

re: Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2 years & 8,800 kms completed

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Darn! Wish I knew this before, I would have not bought a Bimmer

Jokes apart, this is news to me and I will clarify this with the dealership here when I go for my 1st service on December 10th and will update the findings on my ownership thread.
I hope you're not expecting the stealerships in USA to tell you that RFT's last for 50,000miles without any issues

It's a known fact due to the design and the characteristics of RFT's that the life is significantly lesser than regular tyres.

If you search USA BMW forum's most BMW owners who don't baby the tyres don't get more than 12-15K miles from RFT's. I think I will finish off my set in less than 10K kms. lol
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2021, 11:01   #32

Jokes apart, this is news to me and I will clarify this with the dealership here when I go for my 1st service on December 10th and will update the findings on my ownership thread.
Very interested to hear what your service center has to say.

Originally Posted by el lobo 6061 View Post
Which is why most people upgrade to tubeless. Cost less, last longer and most importantly increases overall comfort.
That is really interesting. Is there a thread on replacing RFTs with tubeless anywhere in this forum or even outside? Really appreciate if you can share.

Which year model is your X3?
My X3 is the 2018 one.

It's actually quite frustrating to drive such an expensive car and not have the basic features like Car Play. I would recommend you to get the car play installed whenever you get a chance.
Not really. Personally haven't felt a terrible need for it. Only when I have some spare cash with which I could buy something I totally do not need I will consider it then .

Last edited by benbsb29 : 29th November 2021 at 11:22. Reason: Merged back-to-back posts. Please use the Multi-Quote button to reply to more than one post at a time.
samarjitdhar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2021, 18:52   #33

re: Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2 years & 8,800 kms completed

Originally Posted by samarjitdhar View Post
That is really interesting. Is there a thread on replacing RFTs with tubeless anywhere in this forum or even outside? Really appreciate if you can share.
Its the general consensus to switch over to tubeless for BMW owners in India.

You can read below thread. Almost a decade old and still active.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/tyre-...-bmw-320d.html (RFT to Tubeless switch for BMW 320d)

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/tyre-...need-know.html (Run-Flat Tyres : All you need to know)
el lobo 6061 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2021, 02:08   #34

Having completed 3 months and 1300 kms the car has opened up well and has become even more FTD.

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-8f94475f3c9d447ba0ac753c28f2285a.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-d48330e207244bad8cb4d4b5f3464b96.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-b11683aa8a714ddf8ccd6a3e856145a0.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-15b5123fc1064338891d1ed900baa2dc.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-e3f0752de2f7497bbdacea1e524ebc5f.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-331fc154eed44a49b879946ccc13459c.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-8f6a6683fd4a4c51b85db4bf3757fad4.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-36ef887ae1aa4b09a584d6d816e3bd4d.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 25th December 2021, 00:17   #35

Decided to go for a small drive and capture some Christmas lights, Merry Christmas to all!!

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-e1fa023ee5344076bc0a87807aa9f077.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-4b784c24567d485b848b816df24730ff.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 25th January 2022, 11:33   #36

Surprised to see that in 2018 when the X3 G01 was launched, it got the option to recline the backrest of the rear seat but BMW India deleted it later

Update: The car just completed 2000kms, it just begs to be driven faster. The ZF gearbox even in Comfort mode offers superior shifting speeds, in no time you’re sitting at 80kmph. Was driving down from the Ghats on Sunday and in Sports mode it almost feels like a sedan, definitely not 3er/5er level but better than the softly sprung C/E-class.

The running is low because, the Fortuner handles the city traffic during weekdays and the X3 is taken out on weekends for a highway blast to anyplace close to Mumbai. Planning a day trip to Pawna Lake this upcoming Sunday.

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 25th January 2022 at 11:53.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2022, 15:01   #37

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
Surprised to see that in 2018 when the X3 G01 was launched, it got the option to recline the backrest of the rear seat but BMW India deleted it later
This is probably because 2018 version didn't have spare tyre in the boot. I see there is no space for the back-seats to recline with the raised floor in the boot for the spare.

Update: The car just completed 2000kms, it just begs to be driven faster. The ZF gearbox even in Comfort mode offers superior shifting speeds, in no time you’re sitting at 80kmph. Was driving down from the Ghats on Sunday and in Sports mode it almost feels like a sedan, definitely not 3er/5er level but better than the softly sprung C/E-class.
That is so disappointing. I got mine one month after you and touching 5k already
CosmicWizard is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2022, 15:43   #38

Originally Posted by CosmicWizard View Post
This is probably because 2018 version didn't have spare tyre in the boot. I see there is no space for the back-seats to recline with the raised floor in the boot for the spare.
The X3 had the spare wheel in the boot from 2018 itself, along with the reclining seats. Please check this comparison video at the 12:16 mark. The video at the 12:16 mark also shows the rear backrest at two different angles to confirm the availability of the reclining seats in 2018! This is the kind of cost-cutting I hate.

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 25th January 2022 at 15:51.
Old 7th March 2022, 08:28   #39

Had driven to Lonavla yesterday, the car has completed 2750kms since the last update.

On the way from Mumbai, had stopped at the McDonalds, just after the Kalamboli (Kamothe) Toll Plaza, and at the entrance they have a huge ramp where a few cars can park as well, at first I thought the ramp is pretty normal, but it was really deceiving and steep. I noticed a slight slip in the front right tyre on some gravel while going up the ramp and immediately I could feel the AWD system give a slight push by transferring the power to the left front tyre.

On the highway the composure for an SUV is absolutely brilliant! Up and down the ghats the car grips like a leech on the corners. In Comfort mode on the undulations the car bounces often, Sports mode arrests the bounce completely.

Had gone to Mapro Garden in Lonavla, to try their Strawberry Cream + ice-cream. It’s one of the best I have tried after a long time, will definitely visit again.

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-ccaba4dbaf2b4139b5c64d5e55e54e2f.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-3cdd66c20c9d4521a859fdac4ddbf4c5.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-615cf8d426004876a3c6f675fb1dbe6d.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-77672f9b38474fb89a6bfc00a2511d3f.jpeg

Filled up XP95 for the first time on the way back and there is a very distinct difference in the way the car responds. The fuel efficiency also went up to a high 14.4 kmpl after refuelling and driving on the expressway, according to the MID and the range reached a new high of 802kms (briefly 804kms) on a tankful.

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-790fc1dae04447baa47b6af722164599.jpeg

Captured the sun setting between the buildings after entering Powai.

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-206dbd3b1b8b4a959f397d097aefdc5d.jpeg

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 7th March 2022 at 08:43.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 18th April 2022, 00:39   #40

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
Filled up XP95 for the first time on the way back and there is a very distinct difference in the way the car responds. The fuel efficiency also went up to a high 14.4 kmpl after refuelling and driving on the expressway, according to the MID and the range reached a new high of 802kms (briefly 804kms) on a tankful.

Hello CEF nice to see you enjoying the vehicle. just wanted to clarify are you getting 14+ mileage? i am hardly getting 8-10 on highways?

Last edited by Sheel : 14th July 2022 at 14:28. Reason: Please quote *ONLY* the relevant bits of a post. Thanks.
kdeepakk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2022, 01:17   #41

Originally Posted by kdeepakk View Post
Hello CEF nice to see you enjoying the vehicle. just wanted to clarify are you getting 14+ mileage? i am hardly getting 8-10 on highways?

Congratulations on your X3, wishing you lakhs of happy kilometers .

Give the car some time to open up and complete the run-in period without pushing it, once the run-in period is over the fuel efficiency will get better.

14.4 kmpl was with XP95 in Sport mode (which is said to return better efficiency) and on the Mumbai - Pune Expressway at speeds between 80-100 kmph for a considerable amount of time.

In regular Mumbai traffic the car returns anywhere between 8-12 kmpl. Worst I have seen is 7 kmpl when I was a bit aggressive with the A-pedal, but nothing below 7 kmpl.

Haven't checked with the tank-to-tank method, these are MID figures, which to me seem pretty accurate. Will get back with the numbers using the tank-to-tank method soon.

PS: I'm currently in my college in TN, so have been away from the car for a month now. Will get to see the car in May only now.
Old 14th July 2022, 13:48   #42

Running has been very low, a measly 3200kms in almost 10 months.

Didn’t get much time to spend with the car, have been away for a good 4 months now (college + internship). In between managed to meet the car for one day at max.

As many would know, I was in Pune and test-drove several cars right from the Virtus 1.5L TSI DSG, Alcazar 1.5L Diesel AT, Meridian 4X2 AT to the Fortuner 4X4 AT.

Many times after you buy a luxury car, people often question you about spending such a huge amount on a depreciating asset and it keeps lingering in one’s mind.

Well one drive in this after coming back for a day to Mumbai and leaving again for college, was surreal! The extra money spent is clearly felt when you drive the car, it’s something that can’t be answered in words to someone asking the above question!

And for whatever reason I find people honking less at me in this car, compared to when I am in my other cars.

A cute little visitor posing with the car and purring away, just like how the sweet B48 30i does

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-6c4aed6af1e845e28e0f7e96c828ee51.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-cb4b48754adf4a9dbea838a781862a76.jpeg

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 14th July 2022 at 13:56.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 01:51   #43

Independence Day Drive around Mumbai. Everything lit-up in our Tri-colour felt so special.

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-44e3748ea78044fe997556cbe9829d97.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-0840ebdd47be4f06b88244e81ef4b544.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-c3921f3e185742bb9558e55108b64bd7.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-ccd186640a6843e589034fcd515ceb8e.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-dcd9f3e8a98f4aff89a2eccdc2f19091.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-35b7b42d9caa45f78f18abc532073094.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-08f8bc39f8644a13b6a4e220b221bb60.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-5283ef4063834b5aa3ff7d5cdff71a1a.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-574283cd57ee48f39b628226c8f606f1.jpeg

PS: I am still in college so the pictures have been shared by my parents.

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 15th August 2022 at 02:01.
Old 8th September 2022, 22:10   #44

The X3 aka Blue Bolt has completed a year and 3410 kms with us

I am back home from college and got to drive the car after almost 6 months. Brings a big smile every time one drives it.

The car has only done 3410 kms till date, my parents used to take the car out only on weekends and since my dad has to shuttle between Bombay and Ahmedabad every alternate week his daily the Fortuner is also seeing less running than it used to previously.

Anyways now that I am back, hope to put some serious kilometres on it. At the end of the day it’s built for long pleasurable drives…

A bit of a sad and unexpected experience with Infinity Cars Lalbaug.

The first service for the oil change was due as the car was indicating, so my dad had booked a service with Infinity Cars Lalbaug a day or two back, to have them pick up the car from home and reach the SC by 9:30am.

First of all, there was no communication on who would come to pick up the car till 9:30am. I called the SC twice to tell me who is going to pick up the car. There was clearly no clarity and they never called back. Finally a second call was made by me and they told me the driver’s name and still no number of the driver was given.

At 11:00 AM the driver calls me and tells me he is reaching in 10-15 mins. I wanted to blast him but somehow controlled my anger…

He took a video of the entire car for proof of scratches on the car if any and left by 11:20 AM.

Throughout the day no one cared to call either me or my dad about the progress. Basically no service advisor was assigned to the car.

The car was supposed to be returned today as told by the receptionist on the day of booking service as it was for 9:30AM in the morning.

Casually I drop a message with the receptionist at 6:20PM and get to know from her that nothing has been on the car…

Tomorrow being the 10th day of Ganpati Visarjan, their workshop is closed, so whatever oil filter/change that needs to be done on the car, will be on Saturday.

For a 75 Lakhs car if this is the service, god save me. I’ll happily chug along with my Toyota that treats customers with respect and values their time and energy.

Lesson Learnt: Not going to use pick-up drop facility for this car at all. I am going to drive down myself.

The daily that is going to touch 1,00,000kms soon. The replacement is going to be another Toyota for sure, even these premium brands don’t offer the same service experience that Toyota does:
Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-53bd3479d90244f1815f4314f4219569.jpeg

Anyways will post an update on Saturday, once I get back my car.

Some pictures till then:
Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-785d9453dcfe4dccb71d2715ac37ac2d.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-c58dcac9d63f4cc38e706e55a9193da2.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-6b1bf00dbada4770b38cada6081bf8ca.jpeg

Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-dd4e7a0142934b63a7c2630bde86234c.jpeg

Happy 1st Blue Bolt, many more memories and miles to make/cover in the future:
Blue Bolt | Our BMW X3 30i | Ownership Review | 2.5 years & 10,000 kms completed-4a085db98a99438b8a08f742f5359775.jpeg

Planning to get either PPF or Ceramic Coating done on the car in the coming week…

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 8th September 2022 at 22:29.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (21) Thanks
Old 9th September 2022, 13:00   #45

One thing that I have learned from my experience of getting 2 wheelers and 4 wheelers getting serviced in India is, that almost everyone has a chalta hai attitude. Most manufacturers provide a checklist of what needs to be checked, replaced or replenished. I hardly find any service advisor even looking at the checklist. They either don't care or they don't know and both are unacceptable. Next thing that erks me is not servicing the car to manufacturer standard. Orings and crush washers are not replaced, not using torque wrenches when the torque will be written right there on the oil filter! God knows if the service centre technicians follow the torque recommendations!
I have decided to stand on the technicians head and get things done the proper way. I am even contemplating buying a couple of jacks and doing the next service myself.
That's a beauty you got right there! Many more happy and safe KMs to you!

Last edited by vaibhavyagnik : 9th September 2022 at 13:02.
vaibhavyagnik is offline   (2) Thanks