(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
S Cross is an excellent VFM car as compared to the Cretas and the Seltoses sold in India. This car is no doubt a true cross over. This and SX4 are true champions from MS stable.
Forget the SCross, I loved the tribute you gave to your father. :)
I pray his memories live within you forever. Love for cars often times is passed on from our older man to us. I can clearly relate to the bond between automobiles and you both.
Wishing you lakhs of km of safe and enjoyable ownership of the Scross!
First of all a a very heartfelt congratulations on buying the new S-Cross Doc! I loved reading the anecdotes of your childhood and also loved reading about your father, he truly was a very wise and dynamic person and always guided you towards the right path, I felt so sorry to know that he was no more when you bought your first new car :crying.
Now coming to the car buying process itself, it was very interesting to know that final decision was made in a pronto but I must say you have made a perfect choice for yourself the S-Cross is one of the most mature cars in its segment and especially in Granite Gray shade looks terrific and very professional keeping well in line with you and your noble profession.
I wish you a very delightful and safe journey ahead and I hope you enjoy your new steed to its fullest. Thank you once again Doc :)!
What an Outstanding Tribute and a well written Review. Scross is a true warrior on its own. I truly adored it since the it was launched, wish it had a better automatic transmission.
Wishing you miles and miles of joy with this beauty
Originally Posted by knrn
(Post 5165698)
He always knew when to leave a party. The way I know him, he must have gotten down to 3rd and revved his way up, slingshotting past everything in his way up to the heavens.
Goodbye dad. We had a fantastic run. Given a chance, would love to do it again. |
This..!! Outstanding!
Wish you all the very best and may you clock many more miles with your car.
(Post 5214206)
Conclusion
All in all this is an excellent VFM package at the price point it offers. It has all the ingredients of a great vehicle and in the just right proportion making it a sweet receipe. The piece de resistance is the suspension and the ride. It inspires confidence. As I had said the car has a dual personality performance wise, choose your forte. I am very pleased with the purchase and I hope and pray that it continues to accompany me to my many adventures in the journey of life.
I feel very humbled and thankful to the Team Bhp forum for giving me the platform to write and concoct my thoughts. I get really emotional while writing. To the reader, thanks for accompanying me till here on a very emotional journey of purchase and ownership. Thanks once again all and keep revving. |
Congratulations for your new car !! Brilliantly narrated as well.
S-Cross is one of the best cars from Maruti. It's brilliant package and not sure why people buy Brezza over this. S-Cross is better than Brezza any day and I will buy this over cars like XUV300, EcoSport, Nexon, Venue, Sonet, etc. With Maruti, you get peace of mind for free which is very important for me.
Enjoy your new ride and happy miles :)
Excellent write-up. I could really relate to your childhood anecdotes and that tribute to your father did strike a few heartstrings. Wishing you many happy miles with your machine :).
Brilliant narration and involving write up :thumbs up
Didn't seem very special at the first glance but as I read further the brilliance of the entire thread as a whole was obvious, exactly like the S-Cross, our Transformer :)
Respect to your Dad, he will be happy to see how far his teachings have taken you.
Ditto on the BMW design hints, every time I see the front my first thought is BMW, especially in the darker shades.
Wish you the best of drives.
That piece of writing which you dedicated to your father is truly a captivating read, loved it!!
S- Cross is a machine I have always admired, the design which looks bland to few somehow I find clean, composed and attractive, added to it the sorted dynamics along with Maruti credentials and space that it brings to the table make it a very practical choice. Wish you many happy miles ahead with it.
What a superb write up. Absolutely loved reading the entire narration, specially the part where you gave a tribute to your father.:)
Coming to the car, I always felt that the S Cross was one of the most complete packages from the Maruti Suzuki stable. A no non-sense, simple and well built
car that can be a great driver's car too.
You have made a great choice and wish you a wonderful ownership experience with your S Cross. And Kudos to you for that wonderful write up and I'm sure your father would be damn proud of you and he would love to see you revving from 40-100 in third gear.clap:
Thanks dear @Rehaan for taking Time out to go through and edit the thread.
Thanks @Ajinkyap. The car is very well built, European like if I can say. Minimalist and elegant as you said.
Thanks @ArTigor. It is indeed better built than brezza and the chassis is where the difference shines. Being a Nexa product only limits it’s visibility to customers. Even I believe it should sell more.
Thanks @narayans80- granite gray brings out the true beauty of this car as the side panels merge with the overall paint and embolden the look of it. This is a car to munch miles, glad to know you are at 67k plus.
Thanks @KPR. THE VFM package of this vehicle compared to creta and seltos is just too much. While I agree they are slightly better cars but at 12 lacs plus otr they are hardly any features to offer while the scross is fully loaded. The sedan version was a masterpiece. No doubt.
@PrasannaDhanna thanks for your kind words. I wanted to immortalise the memories of my father before they fade and indeed I got the right place and the right people to share it with. It takes many years to develop that bond with one’s father and somehow we always grow up as a splitting image of the man we idolise. Thank you so much for your kindness.
@Tony2298 heartfelt appreciation for your kindness. I am glad that you liked reading the small anecdotes I shared. Papa was indeed very wise. Countless time he has pulled me out of a soup. The hardwork I pulled in over 2 years came really handy while making a decision and I am glad I made the right one as is indicated by your appreciation.
Thanks so much @DevSunit. Had the automatic been a little better I would have gone for it but then the car is such a wholesome package that I don’t feel bad I didn’t.
@abhijeetd_swift this my favourite para as well. And that is exactly how he was. Thank you so much.
Thanks @aniketi. You realise the brilliance of the scross as you drive it and slowly this car is growing up all on me.
@#drivingfreak. Big thanks for the appreciation. This thread is more of a tribute to the talents of my dad. He would have loved Team Bhp had he known. This is the least I can do as a son to him.
@shancz. Thank you for appreciating. I just wrote what came to my heart at the time. It is the reader who reads and discovers the quality of what he has come across. I am glad that you found it worth your appreciation. Wherever he is, dad must be smiling knowing all this.
And yes, the design is uncannily BMWish when viewed from certain angles but still it is a timeless design.
@Akhileshmdp. Thank you so much for your kind words. The car’s practically literally tends to grow on as one drives it. It is as a whole a very dynamically sorted package.
@DIV17. I am indeed glad that what I wrote appealed to you as well. Many people say that I have inherited my father’s humility. I really had gotten very emotional writing about my father. Thought of just writing a line or two about him but then there is so much he has taught me that it ended up taking an entire section of the write up. Thank you for your appreciation. On a slightly off note, even I love revving from 40-100 in 3rd. The way this car pulls is exhilarating.
Hopefully I will be able to continue writing more and more to this story.
Thank you dear brothers for your appreciation once again.
(Post 5181412)
THE DRIVE
... |
Dear KNRN - I ready your beautifully written thread last night. And then again, soon after waking up this morning i switched on the computer to enjoy it one more time - the heartfelt tribute for your Dad, the brilliant S-Cross package and it's superb Drive captured without hiding your admiration for it.
Pictures of your father embracing you tight, the values he imbibed and the journey he endured brought me tears. Happy tears, seeing how much he's loved.
I could also go on about your Drive section for i loved every word of it. Your narrative writing skills are brilliant. It's made me look at the S-Cross with an altogether new level of respect.
(Post 5165698)
Zoooooooom. From 40-100 in 3rd gear the esteem ripped and it flew( only it didn’t have wings else papa would have taken it to the skies). Cars can do this also- I thought in mind. That’s when I learned how to do a slingshot. |
(Post 5165698)
Hurdles will come. Some you will cross. Some will make you falter. But you have to get up every time you fall and start anew. Come let’s go again. |
(Post 5165698)
I saw the man who was as big and strong as a mountain, crumble and fall to the forces of nature. It’s heartbreaking.
|
(Post 5165698)
Often when I took him to the hospital, I would come down to the parking and sit alone in my car- cry my heart down; let the sadness within out and would go back up to his room cheery faced. Getting up from the scrapings of life’s hurdles and going at it again. |
(Post 5165698)
The way I know him, he must have gotten down to 3rd and revved his way up, slingshotting past everything in his way up to the heavens.
Goodbye dad. We had a fantastic run
|
(Post 5165698)
I write this on a very emotional note as a final grace to a befitting soul who deserved this. And somehow my heart feels light as I do. It is the first time in nearly two years that I have opened up about him. If you read this- I thank you.
|
(Post 5165698)
Loved to travel that man. |
(Post 5165698)
Should be introduced to these wonderful machines was his statement. |
What a write-up! You come looking for the S-Cross and stay on to salute the pearls of wisdom woven by a petrolhead family.
I am reminded of those beautiful, poetic, motorcycle diaries.
Car manufacturers (and the giants who's footsteps they follow) should be proud of the kind of emotion their products can spark in human beings.
Dear Doc,
Congratulations on your purchase of the S-Cross and may you enjoy the many drives with this cross-over and as Robert Frost would put it, many more miles to go....
But more than the purchase I enjoyed your wholesome words about your family and especially your father- RIP.
Your memories of the drive in the Esteem 1.3 reminded me of my childhood days in Uganda and my father driving a Fiat 1100R from Mehta's sugar factory in Lugazi all the way to Kabale- where my brother studied.
:)
Congratulations again and thank you for that wonderful reminiscence..
Stay Safe, Stay Blessed, Stay Happy.