Team-BHP - Crossing into the grays: Maruti S-Cross Zeta granite gray petrol

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Crossing into the grays: Maruti S-Cross Zeta granite gray petrol (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/242698-crossing-into-grays-maruti-s-cross-zeta-granite-gray-petrol-4.html)

A very warm hello to all bhpians.
Been inactive for quite long and since updated the thread. Sharing with you all what it has been like.

Continuing from where I left, due to the the ongoing construction of roads in my colony, I had parked the car at a safe spot. Now the roads got dug up and this very spot was now a full 14 inches high. I couldn’t take down my car. Many of my co residents took down their cars by constructing makeshift mud and bricks ramp and need less to say a few cars got badly damaged because the makeshift ramp wouldn’t hold the weight of the car and collapsed. For the fear of what may happen I left my car up there only. Starting the engine every 4th or 5th day was the routine.

The Bullet was what kept me moving in the grinds of life. Needless to say, My love for this iconic piece of two wheeled legend continues to grow. Nothing stands in the way of the bullet. Roads; no roads: doesn’t matter. Have wheels will go seems to be the motto of this machine. Although now it’s 10 years old and at times it does show its age but it is still going strong. Ironically- I read somewhere that the Royal Enfield bullet was designed initially to give the stance feeling of riding a horse: a steed of the knights of the yore. I initially dismissed that as an exaggerated thought. Now a part of my mind has started believing this. It indeed has been my faithful steed since I got it. Somehow, the Enfield manages to connect with the owner on a level that is hard to describe in words. I hope you understand what I am trying to say but unable to express.

Since I was practically car less, for this whole period, on many occasions I ended up borrowing cars from my friends. I managed to drive quite a plethora of them. Just a few words to sum up my experience-

My heart goes out to the Volkswagen Tiguan 1.5 TSI. Driving it gave me an exhilarating rush. Beautiful machine. But it is a tad too expensive and a whole foot short.

Drove the 1.3 Turbo petrol Creta too. While the acceleration is enthusiastic, in bumper to bumper traffic and during sudden overtakes, it hesitates for a second. Keeping it in the powerband gives a wonderful driving experience but in slow traffic it gets a little difficult to manage. Still enjoyed it though.

The car I drove the most was my neighbor’s Etios diesel. This car is a true workhorse. Gets the work done. Stonking FE also. Although not as energetic as the ones mentioned above but it is dependable. This particular machine had more than a lakh kms on the odo, had a few rattles here and there but it had a strong heart which I felt will endure much more. I was a follower, now a believer of the Toyota.

Had small stints in a few others as well but I have mentioned the worthy appraisers.

So the car had been lying idle for so sooo long and well so was I.
That itch to floor the pedal had been bothering me long had now turned in to an urge - taking the form of compulsion- every time I saw her sitting.
The gods were soon to smile upon me.

The broken roads of my colony got paved. I took the car down from her pedestal where she had perched atop for nearly 3 months. Her tyres touched the ground after a long time and I could feel the happiness running in the hoses.

From atop her perch, I brought her down at 6 am in the morning. The car was yearning to be driven. The wheels rotated after so long. Rust had accumulated on the disc pads. This whole experience was quite emotional.

I felt the car saying “ I missed you”.

And frankly so did I.

As a diehard team Bhpian, I felt it was my duty to take her out for a spin, rather a drive. A trip to be more appropriate.

Mountains- we are coming.

A trip to DHARAMSHALA.

The plan was to leave early morning Friday. When I got home on Thursday evening and wifey and me were contemplating having dinner, eagerly waiting and planning for the next morning when our sunny boy said” Papa Abhi chalo na. Mujhse wait nahi ho raha” and that was it. The final straw. Bags were packed already. The car was fueled and filled( I always fill up my car one day before trip). The only thing was where? The hotel bookings were from Friday night. What to do on Thursday night? The journey is a long and arduous one- too arduous to overcome my urge to drive.
So we changed our plans. We will drive till Maa Jwalamukhi temple, there are plenty of decent hotels nearby, stay there for night, freshen up In the morning and visit the temple and then go further. Plus more than half the drive will be over.

The joy and glee on wifey and kid’s face was something I will never forget my entire life. For them and part for me. We started.

The beauty of Punjab is- no highway is ever empty. The black Tarmac veins coursing this state are always flowing, always open. So till Hoshiarpur the drive of 40 kms was smooth. We even saw the mighty Sonalika tractors factory outside of it- it runs day and night churning out tractor after tractor. Crossed Hoshiarpur into Himachal. Traffic followed us for a while and then it was only us. The situation was scary but I had full faith on the Scross. We moved on. Total journey 110 kms. Just outside of Jwalamukhi, I spotted an open petrol pump. Refuelled from there. Now I had no worries. Reached there by 12.15 night. Checked in to the hotel.

Maa Jwala mukhi is one of the Shakti peeths of Goddess Durga. According to the folklore when Lord Shiva was set to marry Sati and her father refused, Sati immolated herself in the fire of the mandap. Lord Shiva was heartbroken. He carried the dead corpse of Sati for 9 months. The whole of creation was in turmoil. The gods requested Lord Vishnu to do something. So lord Vishnu unleashed his Sudarshan Chakra whic started cutting Sati’ s body to pieces as Lord Shiva carried her. Where her parts fell, the shaktipeeths are situated today. Her toungue fell at Jwalamukhi. Since then many flames burning on natural gas appeared in this area. The temple houses them. It is said that in the early 80’s, the so called KGF era, ONGC tried to look and dig for natural gas deposits in the region but couldn’t find any. The flames of Jwalamukhi continue to burn to date without any identifiable source. The temple has a lot of reverence. Mundan ceremonies of kids are performed here. Even my son had his head shaved at this temple. Another story is that Akbar tried to take over the temple. The goddess appeared in his dreams and forbade him. Akbar abandoned his plans and as a sign of respect donated a golden dome or chhatra to this temple. The goddess again appeared in his dream and denounced whatever Akbar had to offer.

That chhatra turned to an unknown metal. What was pure gold now is no metal. Even scientists from the ASI cut out a portion of it to study. But the metal’s composition and analysis didn’t reveal anything. To this date the Chhatra is there. One can see from where it was cut for examination.

So this is an important holy shrine. Plenty of hotels nearby. The bus stand is right opposite the way to the temple and surrounded by hotels. We checked in by 12.30. The room was decent. Now the next problem. What to eat. So I forayed out at 1 in the night. Got hold of a Maggi point at bus stand and got our supper packed. And that is how our night went.

Next morning we got up, went for darshan to the temple. Had food at Fateh Dhaba. It is a nice place. Located at the corner of the parking lot of the temple. Came back, took our stuff, checked out and drove towards our destination.

The road from Jwalamukhi to Dharamshala passes through the scenic Kangra valley and Palampur onto Ranital and finally Dharamshala. It winds around the Shivalik range rising and dropping. Traffic is a plenty because Kangra and Palampur are major cities. The route to Hamirpur is also via here. Narrow two lane twisty mountain roads are a tough drive if you have to overtake a bus ahead of you. This road has a lot of twists and turns and many severe U turns. It can get nauseous after a while.
A pointer to future travellers- if you want to go to Dharam Shala, then go via Pathankot. Just for reference- Jalandhar to Dharamshala via Hoshiarpur is 166 kms out of which only 40 kms is in the planes. The rest is twisty mountain road. Jalandhar to Dharamshala via Pathankot is 205 kms. Up till Pathankot you have the beautifully laid out butter smooth NH1. Total 110 kms. Then the road to Dharamshala is somewhat straight for about 50 kms. The rest of the road is not so windy and twisty. I will advise going via Pathankot as it is the better road and easy to drive. Time taken is almost the same since the gap is covered speedily on the highways in the planes. I went via Hoshiarpur and came back via Pathankot. After Hoshiarpur, till my way back to a little before Pathankot, I couldn’t get into 5th gear. Mostly 2nd and 3rd. FE on way up was 9 km/l. FE on my way down was 15.6 km/ l.

Anyways, onto Dharamshala. It is a major city. Located at an elevation of about 766 mts, it provides a magnificent view of the Mighty snow capped Dhauladhar range. Dharamshala and macleodganj are also the headquarters of the Tibetan govt in exile. The important places to visit are the Dharamshala cricket stadium. It is a must. A beautiful ground with the Dhauladhars in the background provide a very scenic and soothing image. Then there are the tea estates. There is also a war memorial with many artillery on display. But the climate is hot.

A recent addition is the DHARAMSHALA SKYWAY. it is a rope way which starts from just near the Dharamshala bus stand and climbs more than 1500 mts to reach Macleoganj which is situated at an elevation of more than 2200 mts. And the weather is different. You cross through and reach above the clouds while going through. Ticket is 500 rs two way. It operates till 5.30 in evening. It drops you at the Elphinston building right opposite the Dalai Lama Temple. So travellers can either stay at Dharamshala and use the rope way to reach macleodganj and come back in the evening or stay at macleodganj and come down to visit Dharamshala.

The road from Dharamshala to Macleodganj is 12 kms and climbs the same elevation and is jam packed. It took us 1 hour just to cover the distance. The U turns are steep and can catch the uninitiated drivers scarily. Thanks to the traffic, one will mostly be climbing in 1st or rarely 2nd gear. Takes a toll on engine. The main macleodganj area is also highly congested. Thanks to the fact that it is the residence of the Dalai Lama and a lot of Tibetans this place is always crowded. And then there are foreigners and tourists. You rub shoulders with people while walking. My stay was at Asia health resorts Naddi. There is a turn to go there 2 kms before macleodganj and I thank god for that. The queue of cars to enter macleodganj was nearly 1.5 kms when we reached and this is off season.

Places to visit in Macleodganj are obviously the Dalai Lama temple. It is a serene place with a large Buddha statue adorning the shrine. Then there is the Bhagsu nag shiva temple and a trek leading to the Bhagsu nag falls. ( this is the place where the terrible flash flood occurred last year). Then Dal lake, Naddi view point and sunset point. Plenty of Indian and foreign eateries and big restaurant chains. If you want to enjoy the quietness my suggestion will be to stay at naddi. Hotels offer taxi pick up and drop to macleodganj at very nominal rates. It is best to reach your hotel, park your car and use the taxi to reach your destination then roam around on foot. Fun fact- we came down the rope way to Dharamshala. While it was the blistering sun in Dharamshala, in macleodganj it was raining. Anyways the beauty of dhauladhars is something to behold. We went on many evening walks and came back via the Pathankot road. Took a turn towards lakhanpur (20 kms from Pathankot) to enjoy our favourite pakodas and headed back. I was so relieved to finally be able to use the 5 th gear.
The post would be incomplete without 2 things. Photos which will be there at the bottom and a few words about the car and the driving experience.

First the car:
Getting to the Scross after driving so many others made me appreciate the wonderful engineering that has been put into this product. It is quite simply the best built Maruti- period. The 1.5 K15b engine has a very good bottom end grunt, something I took for granted but appreciated greatly while I drove in the mountains. It climbed the Shivalik twistys and the final 12.5 kms ascent to Macleodganj without even breaking a drop of sweat. I never felt out of the power band or wanting more to climb. The gradient in the 180 degree U turns at Dharamshala are very steep and on the inner curvature can catch one unaware. I saw many cars stalling on quite a few occasions. And once we were back on the highways of Punjab it just drove so beautifully and effortlessly. I re-iterate again. This engine has two characters. The car moves efficiently on the inclines at 1100 rpm even in second gear. While up to 2500 rpm it has a very torquey nature, beyond 3500 rpm it starts coming into a different element. One feels a kick when crossing 4000 rpm and it just pulls and pulls.

The suspension and chassis also deserve a worthy mention. The suspension is beautifully balanced. It just doesn’t unsettle at all and even when it does it recovers instantly. It is soft and smooth enough to absorb bumps and potholes but also carries on unnervingly while riding at triple digit speeds. Coupled with the taut chassis this combination clubbed with that rev happy NA engine make for a faster vehicle than what these components individually can offer. Needless to say- it is the ingredients that make a fine dish to savour.

The ACC also worked brilliantly. The car’s MID read 39 degrees. While outside on the road it felt even more hot due to the radiant heat from the road. And Punjab is known for its summers. The car kept us chilled. Only while on our way back when the sun was directly upon us did the auto ac run the blower at level 3. Rest in the entire trip the auto ac maintained a cool 23 degrees while running at speed one.

I was initially skeptical as to how the JK UX Royale tyres would behave. A fellow bhpian also had asked me earlier in this thread about the tyres where I had stated budget as the constraint for not changing them. Now I can candidly rather confidently declare that these are a good product from JK. They provided wonderful grip even climbing steep U turns. Not even once did I hear the tyres squeal or struggle for grip or even experience wheelspin even when it rained. And on the highways at triple digit speeds they gave a comfortable ride. I am impressed.

Like the bullet, my love and faith in this steed also continues to grow unabated with time. I don’t know how it might behave in future but for the time being I thank god for being so kind.

On this trip I managed to put my first dent on the car while making a very narrow U turn. Had to turn around because the road was jammed and there was too little space. A small ding is visible on the plastic bumper just in front of the driver side tyre when the car is viewed from the front head on. The keen eyed shall spot it. For now I intend to keep it as a battle scar.
Now for the pics. I hope you enjoy reading this. Keep revving and cheers.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5344911)

My heart goes out to the Volkswagen Tiguan 1.5 TSI. Driving it gave me an exhilarating rush. Beautiful machine. But it is a tad too expensive and a whole foot short.

I apologise for the back to back second post. I have quoted the section from the post before this. Please read this as the TAIGUN. I have wrongly mentioned the Tiguan. Since the editing time window has expired I couldn’t correct it. Hence posting a correction. Apologies for the typographical error. Thanks.

This is the dent I managed to put in the front bumper just ahead and in front of the driver side tyre. ( DETAILS of the trip in the previous post). Try as I might there is no way to reach it from inside and push it out whatever I try. And I have tried. As mentioned I will carry it as a battle scar for now. With car standing idle for so long it has accumulated a lot of scratches. So I have ordered interior vinyl polish, outside wax spray polish, applicator sponges and lint clothes. Will require some hardwork but I intend to put in the work before the rains. Will post update soon. Keep revving and cheers.

So here is the stuff I got.
All ordered from dear amazaan (Amazon). Was waiting like a baby for candies for them to arrive one by one. And my wife was like ye ho kya raha hai? Anyways the stuff looks like this.
1. A set of car saaz foam applicator sponges.
2.wax pol tyre shine spray 300 ml
3.wax pol vinyl and leather polish
4.Sheeba scdpo2 polish for dashboard and plastics.
5. Softspun microfibres cloth 4 pieces.
6. Waxpol silky touch liquid wax spray
Here is how they look. I read a lot about what to do to preserve the car paint. Ceramic coating on the car is to the tune of 15000 and above. PPF reaches 30. So I thought why not give it a try my self. Realise my own hidden powers and see the results. This is what they look like. More so how will they work like. We’ll time to spend some night sweats as it is to be done in cool weathers. Let’s see how things plan out. Results in next post when it come.

Keep revving and cheers.

Welcome back, glad to see the Transformer back in action.

Was interesting and very informative to read about the places and the journey :thumbs up

- This engine has two characters. The car moves efficiently on the inclines at 1100 rpm even in second gear. While up to 2500 rpm it has a very torquey nature, beyond 3500 rpm it starts coming into a different element. One feels a kick when crossing 4000 rpm and it just pulls and pulls.

- Needless to say- it is the ingredients that make a fine dish to savour.

- The Transformer's powers are to be experienced first hand like you are doing.
IMO its one of those cars which silently raise your expectations to a level so when you drive something else, something seems missing.
VWs(earlier ones at least like the Polo, Jetta, Golf) have this property too.

- The understated brilliance of engineering stays and charms forever.

Like the bullet, my love and faith in this steed also continues to grow unabated with time. I don’t know how it might behave in future but for the time being I thank god for being so kind.

I would also like to point out that with the S-Cross now discontinued, you are one of the lucky few.
Cherish your journeys with the Transformer.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5346727)
Try as I might there is no way to reach it from inside and push it out whatever I try.

Seems like something the ASC can easily fix since the hard part is accessing the area.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5351065)
So here is the stuff I got.
- Was waiting like a baby for candies for them to arrive one by one.
- So I thought why not give it a try my self. Realise my own hidden powers and see the results.

- Understandable :D
I hope you already have the Jopasu duster.
- That's the way to go and DIY gives a satisfaction and exercise that is unmatched along with the benefit of finding out the tiniest of scars or just admiring the beauty of the mechanicals and paintwork. The deeper thoughts if I may put it that way.

Some tips :
- I have used Formula 1 Carnauba Wax, 3M liquid wax and I am currently using TurtleWax Color Magic(since we have a silver car and it masks the minor scratches as its residue is silver-grey in color).
- I might try one of the ceramic waxes next if it doesn't need buffing or a detailed process else I will stick to the standard wax.
- If you're going to polish yourself, do invest in a good buffing machine(angle grinder with attachments could work too) and get spectacular results with minimal effort.

Have fun.

Originally Posted by shancz (Post 5353721)
Welcome back, glad to see the Transformer back in action.

Thanks @shancz. It is always a pleasure reading your comments here and elsewhere on the forum. Always substantial and informative.

IMO its one of those cars which silently raise your expectations to a level so when you drive something else, something seems missing.

Absolutely spot on. I realised this during my without car period when I got a chance to drive many other brilliant machines. While it was the Volkswagen that tugged the strings of my heart the most, somehow I always kept reminiscing the Scross. Maybe it is the wallet effect. But still it is a good product.

I would also like to point out that with the S-Cross now discontinued, you are one of the lucky few.
Cherish your journeys with the Transformer.

Yes. You are quite right. Although the new iteration of the Scross is ready to be released somehow I like the present design. I am in many ways an old school fellow, I appreciate classic yet understated technology and designs. Not over the top yet subtle. I had researched quite a lot before picking up this vehicle and I continue to get impressed by the very thing that this machine is. Not too gimmicky but modern at the same time. Since my other vehicle is nearly a 15 year old design may be I am bowled over by what I have got ( wallet effect) but i agree with what you stated and will try to enjoy it till I can. It is the last of the NA engines left on offer so can’t agree with you more.
I will try to get the dent rectified on the first major service but I will not let them open up any panels or moulding. The clips once off can never be put back up to the factory finish state so let’s see.

I hope you already have the Jopasu duster.

In fact I ordered one when I got the car and was waiting for it to arrive and take a pic of it when I wrote my review. It is another beautiful thing that I discovered on Teambhp and I feel a must have accessory.

Formula 1 Carnauba Wax, 3M liquid wax, TurtleWax Color Magic, ceramic waxes, good buffing machine(angle grinder with attachments)

Well I am just discovering the joy and satisfaction that DIY brings and accumulating knowledge from this forum with time. I have duly noted the suggestions. Since I have just started I went with the simplest and most easy spray on type products. As I get the hang of it, shall advance to the higher stuff. Carnauba is next on my list. Since it is a hard wax, it’s result is the most durable, but requires the same effort too. Fun fact- Pure Carnauba in its natural state is even harder than concrete. Something I discovered reading about it after going through your comment.

Thanks once again.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5353925)
- Maybe it is the wallet effect. But still it is a good product.

- Although the new iteration of the Scross is ready to be released somehow I like the present design.

- I appreciate classic yet understated technology and designs. Not over the top yet subtle.

- The clips once off can never be put back up to the factory finish state so let’s see.

- Pure Carnauba in its natural state is even harder than concrete.

- Wallet yes and especially because you don't expect it from MSIL. The car just makes me respect the development teams.

- Ditto, the BMW esque front will always be a favorite. The new one is very competitive but I think the Transformer is the version you have. Also I am still unsure if the new SCross will make it to India.

- Ditto again, that's why I was heartbroken when VW decided to "liven" up the Jetta to appeal to a younger customer base. Although I do understand it from a business perspective. Like I had said in another thread I accept that I am getting obsolete :D

- Agree and with first hand experience too. I haven't tried but have seen a video where hot water and a suction cup were used to fix a similar dent on a bumper.

- This is something I learnt today, Thanks :thumbs up
Also don't agree in principle with PPF let alone the cost.
Ceramic coats seem good but for 15-20k for a year I would rather get a buffing machine and good old wax polish like the Carnauba and add life to my weekends. The remainder goes towards fueling the next trip.

So it has been like what, 4 months or so before my last update. Well to be frank I haven’t been up to any recent trips in the car lately. Previously it was our dug up colony road (pics in posts above) that I had to perch atop my car on a higher pedestal of a parking where she lay motion less for 3 months. Now that road has been completed but the main road outside our colony is dug up so I am like still trapped in a bigger jail. The potholes and uneven surfaces aren’t able to do much damage to the car but it is my small heart that panics while taking her out on this nightmarish hell.

Since the car has been standing so long unused below my balcony, I started some diy with the products I ordered(details above mentioned). Every one or two nights I would burn some midnight oil and very gradually and painstakingly detailed the interiors and exteriors of the car. Now while the car has risen to her past glory, sadly I feel it now need a second coat. Anyways the results of my first coat are as shown. The shine on the exterior is distinct and cohesive. The water beading effect is enigmatic for the first time viewers like me. If you show love to your cars, it loves you back doesn’t it. It does and in ways more than one.

In the meantime, around a month or so back I had the opportunity to go to Amritsar, a short drive of around 78 kms one way. Stayed there for a night, attended a marriage, visited the Shri Darbar Sahab Golden Temple, had a nostalgic trip. Stayed at hotel Ramada in Amritsar. It is just a 5 minutes walk from the heritage complex. A much needed break. Pics will show what I saw. The hotel was nice. Had a swim but the serenity of the Darbaar Sahab can only be felt or seen. It is indescribable.

The car ran flawlessly. As I get to spend some more time with the car, I realise that it is good or rather very good in the ride and suspension department. Doesn’t let you feel a thing. Has a decent acceleration to keep it up with the big boys and give them a run for their money but it isn’t what you would call fast. Sure, it builds and carries speed well while keeping the inmates cocooned from what happens outside, masks speed very well but now I sort of feel the shortcomings. It is not a hoot to drive, it’s meant to take you there calmly and fast not faster. One really has to yank at the engine and gearbox to squeeze the best out of it and it obliges.or else simply drive sedately and enjoy.
Two other cars I extensively drove were my own santro and my friend’s 1.5 taigun.

As compared to santro, the s cross gives you a more ensconced in the car feeling. It wraps around you. Rides flat stays flat. No bounciness no pitching. And will carry the speed what you commandeer it to. This is what makes it relatively fast. But I like the seating of the santro better. The santro now feels lethargic and slow while the s cross moves smooth and faster. Had gone to Hoshiarpur too- 55 kms one way. On the way back had to drop a friend who had to catch a bus. I drove nearly like a madman. Coupled to the fact that the road was a single lane dual carriageway with heavy traffic at night. I must have overtaken so many trucks and vehicles but once in the rear view mirror, they faded into the darkness behind. It was at this time I missed the rush of the Taigun. Covered 55kms in 40 minutes in the traffic scenario I mentioned- got him to the bus on time but this had me thinking. What have I gained. Of course my wife and son in the backseat had dozed off despite me driving so aggressively without a worry in the world. So this sense of comfort and calmness is what separates this car from the others. It is decently fast, gets the work done but the smoothness and ride is extra plenary. Would not have been possible in the santro. Meanwhile it continues to give a decent FE of around 15.5 kmpl.

Still The taigun is simply faster. In every way. So much so that I feel the scross to be slow now:eek:

Got the first service done. Nothing major. The SA was trying to sell me 5 years extra warranty which I already had and then rust proof underbody coating, which I happily bought. Total charge of consumables including coating turned out to be 6,000. They have a very nice lounge from where you can see the work being done on the car.

So tha’s how the last 4 months have been. Cheers.

Just loved the entire blog!! S-cross indeed is a great choice and for me as well, it was the car that chose me, rather than me choosing the car. I have the same variant, same colour, Oct 2021 manufactured.

I'm so glad that I got my hands on this beauty before Maruti took the plug off this one. The highway manners, the ride, the comfort and even in city the short gearing really helps and I almost drive my manual one like an automatic. S-cross may not have modern features that other cars offer, but what this car offers, no other car in same price range offers. As you mentioned, this can be enjoyed as a dish well put together.

The more I drive, more I fall in love with this beautiful machine. I'm off to Ranthambore this weekend starting from Delhi. Can't wait to start this journey in S-cross.

Once again, totally enjoyed reading your posts and the tribute to your dad was really emotional :thumbs up

Originally Posted by Beingtraveler (Post 5443784)
Just loved the entire blog!! S-cross indeed is a great choice and for me as well, it was the car that chose me, rather than me choosing the car. I have the same variant, same colour, Oct 2021 manufactured.

Same Same and same pinch. It indeed is a good car. Would love to read and hear your story too.

I'm so glad that I got my hands on this beauty before Maruti took the plug off this one.

Yes. It is indeed an under rated car from Maruti. Despite being their flagship didn’t make it in numbers. It offered performance (1.6 litre version) and well put features( present edition now plugged) but not many were able to understand the vehicle for what it was. And now everybody laments the loss of this great car. You are surely a lucky bloke.

The highway manners, the ride, the comfort and even in city the short gearing really helps and I almost drive my manual one like an automatic. S-cross may not have modern features that other cars offer, but what this car offers, no other car in same price range offers. As you mentioned, this can be enjoyed as a dish well put together.

Yes it is a very well sorted and balanced car with regards to everything that a car should offer. It really is a well put together dish.

The more I drive, more I fall in love with this beautiful machine. I'm off to Ranthambore this weekend starting from Delhi. Can't wait to start this journey in S-cross.

This is the beauty of this machine. It gradually grows on you. The more you drive it the more you begin to realise how wonderfully engineered this product is and how well it picks up all the ingredients from the competition and offers them in just the right amount. In fact I saw one YouTube video where the host mentioned that this is one Maruti vehicle that the public was not able to understand but whosoever was wise enough to court this beauty, truly loves it from the depths of his heart. I might sound a bit obsessed but since you also own one, you will probably relate.
Do tell me about your trip experience, I am sure that it will make up for a wonderful read.

Once again, totally enjoyed reading your posts and the tribute to your dad was really emotional :thumbs up

From your comment, I can make out that you have thoroughly gone through the thread. I thank you for your kind words. I apologise for the late reply. Thanks again.

Well been a long time. New year is a sentimental day for me because it is my father’s death anniversary. So the new year came by without any much aplomb.

Anyways, The car has been running great. Thanks to the road conditions I was scared to take her out too much. Whatever road trips I did, it was with a gulp of caution every time I crossed the colony roads. It is so Ironic that it almost ends up being Poetic; I bought a second car so that during the harsh Punjabi foggy winters, I can ensconce myself in the comfortable warmth of the car and not have to brave the cold winds on a bike. But for the entire duration that I have bought the car and it has been nearly one and a half years; first my colony roads then the connecting road and now the main road is dug up. I dress up like an Eskimo and venture out on my bike. Apathy at its best.

Took her carefully out for five trips to Phagwara and back, 50 kms each trip, for a family wedding. The ACC heated the car very well. Even with temperatures around 5 degrees outside, the car kept us cozily warm at 26 degrees. Having both front and rear defoggers worked wonders.
During one of the trips, I had to drive fast and as again, even after touching 150 many times, nobody in the car realised the speeds I was doing. Anyways, kicked myself back to sanity and started driving normally and the next few trips were comfy.
The car has been driving wonderfully. Had gotten the first year service done and it has become quite smooth after that. Besides this I have nothing much to tell.
Aha! Wait! Got a little something for the car. Was browsing car care products on Amazon when I came across carbon fibre like strips to be pasted on the door sill to prevent soiling and paint damage. Immediately ordered and had some good time pasting them on. The first strip I put was a little shoddy, had a few air bubbles. But gradually as I worked, the finishing got better. And they look good too matching well with the gray colour of the car. Here are the pics. And happy new year everyone. May god shower his abundance on all.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5469811)
- Well been a long time.
- New year is a sentimental day for me because it is my father’s death anniversary.
- Apathy at its best.
- Having both front and rear defoggers worked wonders.
- Besides this I have nothing much to tell.
- And they look good too matching well with the gray colour of the car.

- It's been a really long time for me.
- My tributes to your Dad.
- Man proposes God disposes :)
- The most underrated and ignored features IMO.
- That's how a good car ownership sounds like.
- They do, I discovered them very late too.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5432942)
If you show love to your cars, it loves you back doesn’t it. It does and in ways more than one.

- Absolutely and that water beading post a polish is both reassuring and like you said, enigmatic.

Originally Posted by knrn (Post 5432946)
- Rides flat stays flat. No bounciness no pitching. And will carry the speed what you commandeer it to. This is what makes it relatively fast.
So this sense of comfort and calmness is what separates this car from the others.
- Still The taigun is simply faster. In every way.

- That's an apt definition and intention of the S-Cross, don't think I could've summed it better.
- Absolutely, the Taigun has more or less what the Polo lacked for our realities and then some more which are mainly the space, GC and power(in the 1.5) at the cost of interiors and probably the quality of some components. But if absolute power and handling is your thing then the Taigun 1.5 comes at the top of the MSUV/Crossover genre.

Glad to see you again and a very belated Happy New Year.

PS : I was browsing for used S-Cross and your link came up in the suggestions. I could immediately recall it from the title itself and checked in to see how you were doing.
The Transformer's spell is eternal :D

Hello brethren, been a while since I have updated the thread. Well partly because I have not seen much action and partly the car has been running fine as well. It has been exactly 2 year s since the car came home. Yes. She came home on 21 Sept 2021 and has been with me through a few but very demanding journeys and she has been serving me well. Talk about reliability, and personally I have come to appreciate the silent faithfulness with which she stands by me. In turn I too shower her with utmost care and respect. Touchwood to that. Reliability is going to be my top criteria from now on. My late father used to say- Always buy your peace of mind- whatever be the cost. It ultimately comes out to be cheap. The old man is proving to be right on a lot of things and why shouldn’t he be. He saw and confronted and conquered life much before I could walk. Anyways apart from the usual service and fuel costs the car is running well. Underwent second yearly service. Though she has run only 8783 kms of yet but whenever she moves out she usually runs 700-800 kms a journey. Service done and cost came to be 7341 rupees. I always insist on changing all filters despite the fact they were clean. Another thing I learnt from father.

You the reader will find this thread to be quite nostalgic and introspective. Because I think a lot.

I keep on reading a lot and try to pick up the good points. Team bhp is my most frequent alongside Wikipedia.
Anyways I had the opportunity to visit MP- Jabalpur. My In laws. Although I flew but someday I will make this journey by road. Got to extensively drive my other car the Vitara Brezza. Went for a few long drives as well. And suddenly it hit me- what the tune of suspension is. Often we read the term that the suspension is firm, softly sprung, bouncy and it glittered with the clarity of a sparkling diamond to me one fine day when I happened to accompany my uncle in his Jaguar XJ. It was a short drive and I am not gonna delve into the Jaguar but after I came to the Brezza and now that I am back- driving the S cross- all the suspension jargon began to make sense. Those cars are expensive for a reason. The Jaguar rode heavenly, the Brezza is softly sprung but bouncy on the undulating highways while the S cross rides a little firm but flat. Wow. The knowledge that I acquire in life. And still so much more.

So anyways the car has been running well. Now I am itching to go for a long trip. Soon.

In the meantime, while foraging through my old stuff I stumbled upon a treasure. For the uninitiated I was pretty attached to our old Maruti van. I have also mentioned it in this thread’s prologue. I found its spare key and I was ecstatic. Took it out and put it in my car’s second key ring.
I have learned from this forum and practice using both car keys one month at a time.
Posting the pics for viewership pleasure later.

Another thought that frequently plagues my mind is that what car will I buy after the S cross. I know it is too soon. She has run less than 9000 and is barely 2 years. I like to plan things much in advance. Such sorted this car is that I am hard pressed to decide what I will replace it with. Reading the many threads on this forum I have realised that this is a tough car to find adequate replacement of. So till then, more food for thought and reading.
Will post further as and when I see some action. Putting up pics of the nostalgic key and washing post service for now. Cheers.

Hello everyone,
It has been really long since I have posted on this thread. Not that I have not been seeing some action but rather the paucity of productive thoughtful time. And the few events I wanted to tell about kept happening so soon that I could not catch up. In the last 6 months I have been through good, bad and good and so many things. So I will describe them individually.

First, in the month and of June I went to the place where a part of my soul still resides- Manali. Having worked there in mission hospital during my training years, I share a special bond with the place and know it inside out. No trail I haven’t walked, no nook I have not explored and yet still yearn to be there again.

There are a lot of threads describing this beautiful place and many travelogues too. So I will keep it short and sweet.
I started from Jalandhar in Punjab at 4 in the morning, at 5.30 am I was at Ropar.
The stretch starting from the Baloh toll to Sundernagar has a very strictly enforced speed limit of 60 kmph with speed cameras every 500 metres. But the beauty is that the old Swarghat- Bilaspur section is bypassed. It was very windy and time consuming section. You can imagine that I was at Sundernagar at 7.15 am.
Such beautiful is the highway that I was at Kullu by 9 am where i took my first break. Had breakfast as there are many roadside restaurants with good views and then reached Manali by 10.30. All in all an excellent trip.

It was during this journey that I discovered what the Scross is meant to do. Corner. And corners it well without unsettling or losing its composure a bit. I did not drive fast- never did i cross 90 kmph during the entire trip. But still due to early morning, empty roads and excellent highways- i covered nearly 350 kms in 6 hours. Not bad by any means. The car drove beautifully with my family asleep more than half the way. Meant for comfortable non stop cruising. Can be driven fast but it prefers not to. It makes you constantly aware of how many kmph one is above 110. 95-100 is the sweet spot for efficiency and speed. And the car delivered excellent fuel efficiency of around 15.99 kmpl. Perhaps sedate driving while ascending and downhill return journey helped. It is a very well Engineered product. All nooks and corners and crevices are very well thought of and carefully executed. Good utility in the cabin all around.

Good car this is.
I will let the pictures do the talking.