Old 23rd January 2025, 15:46   #1

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner

After owning a 2016 Skoda Superb II F/L 2.0 TDI 6-DSG Elegance Zeal Edition for over 5 years, I took delivery of my Skoda Kodiaq L&K 2.0 TSI on December 5th, 2025. After waiting for the registration, I finally received the car on December 20th, 2025.

How it all started: I’ve shared the details earlier in this thread (Help me with replacements for the Skoda Superb & Hyundai Grand i10).

So let me jump straight to it and share a few pictures from the delivery. Haven’t clicked great shots yet – a photoshoot is still pending.

Pics taken by the Sales Executive during PDI – the car reached the dealership yard on December 4th, and we had planned the Pooja for the morning of December 5th. It was a tight schedule, but the Sales Executive did a great job in getting the car right on time. They had coordinated to have the car shipped along with an Audi shipment to ensure it arrived on time.

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-pdi-2.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-pdi2.jpg

Confirmed that the car came with the fabric mat. We were waiting to place an order for the fabric mat if it had not come with the car.

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-pdi-4.jpg

First sight of the car when we drove in:

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-first-sight.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-first-sight-2.jpg

During Delivery and Pooja:

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-dely-us.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-fam-dly.jpg

My Favourite angle:

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-kod-back.jpg

With her little sister, the XUV400 (My Wife's drive):

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-kod-xuv-1.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-kod-xuv2.jpg

Before departing my favorite Superb, but she’s still around. My cousin from a nearby town has bought it from me, so I can visit anytime and have a look at her.

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-superb-3.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-superb-2.jpg

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-superb-1.jpg

I’ve covered around 3,500 kms already, so here are some things I’ve liked and a few things that have bugged me. I also have some doubts (some might seem silly, but where else can I get better clarity than on our forum?).

Good Bits:

The Looks: I absolutely love the design. Even though the Kodiaq has been around for 8 years (with only minor changes in the facelift), it still turns heads. Honestly, I prefer this look over the 2nd Gen Kodiaq.

Powerful 2.0 TSI Engine & 7-Speed DSG: Coming from a 6-speed DSG, this new 7-speed feels super quick and smooth. Cruising at 100 kmph is effortless, with almost no noise. Switch to Sports mode, and the car becomes a whole new beast – it feels light, agile, and the engine sound is addictive!

Great Value for Money: The car’s price is 34.99L, which is a steal for the L&K variant. Keep in mind, this was the price for the Style variant when it was launched three years ago. So, at the same price now, it feels like a solid deal. I initially booked it for 37.59L back in April 2024, but canceled it after a week. Turns out, the wait was worth it.

DCC (Dynamic Chassis Control): A segment-first feature that really works well. I’ve read some comments saying the difference between Comfort and Sport is noticeable, but normal vs comfort isn’t much. Personally, I feel a clear difference between all three modes. Comfort is a bit too cushy for me, but I use it on rough roads.

Smart Features: Things like the nap package, auto-door protectors, net and velcro-based boot dividers – all these little touches make the car feel well-loaded and practical.

Not so good:

Fuel Efficiency: Not really a surprise to me, as I had read plenty of reports and reviews before booking the car. For reference, I’m coming from a 2.0 TDI, so I knew the fuel economy wouldn’t be great. I’ve accepted it and look at it as a stepping stone before my next car, which will likely be a 250+ bhp petrol from Audi, BMW, or Volvo (if they still make ICE cars by then).

Auto Start/Stop: As many others have mentioned, this feature is annoying. I still don’t understand it. Sometimes, it stops the car when I brake suddenly (e.g., if I’m avoiding something or approaching a speed bump), but other times, when I stop at a signal, it doesn’t turn off the engine. It’s just inconsistent.

Material Quality: The materials are good for the price point, but they feel like a downgrade compared to my 2nd Gen Superb. I’ve also noticed some flexing in the roof area near the shark fin antenna. Not sure if that’s normal, but I’ve never seen that on any of my other cars.

Ride Comfort & Driving Position: Coming from a sedan (and also driving my wife’s XUV400), I’m struggling to find the right driving position. The ride comfort on the Superb feels much better, and I’m starting to realize that I’m more of a sedan person than an SUV person.

Niggle: The scroller on the right-hand side of the steering wheel wasn’t working properly when I got the car. I thought it was just me not knowing how to use it, but later found out that the switch had an issue. They didn’t catch this during the PDI. I raised it during my first free check-up, and they admitted it was a problem. They’ll need to go through the warranty process to replace it, but I had to wait for a while due to the Pongal holidays. They finally took the car in today, so hopefully, they’ll sort it out soon.

Now, the Silly Doubts:

DCC Usage: I change the DCC settings a lot, especially during my daily drives (110-220 kms). The roads I drive on are a mix of bad city patches and smooth highways. Is it okay to switch modes frequently, or am I stressing the DCC system too much?

Eco Mode: Since I drive long distances daily, I often use Eco mode. I don't do much spirited driving every day, so Eco mode works fine for me. However, I’ve noticed that the car goes into neutral when I lift my foot off the pedal, then switches to the appropriate gear when I accelerate or brake. By always driving in Eco mode, am I putting too much stress on the gearbox, possibly leading to faster wear?

Final Thoughts: Overall, if you ask me if I’m happy with the purchase, the answer is definitely yes. There’s no other car in this price range that could’ve satisfied me. The moment I put the car in Sport mode, all my doubts about the choice just disappeared. It’s such a brilliant machine. I don’t think any Asian brands would’ve worked for me, as I test drove nearly every car in the 20-50L range before settling on this one.

Here is a Bonus Picture - Kodiaq in a new color - Lights tricked the camera

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-new-color-kodiaq.jpg
₹itzylove is offline   (56) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 16:47   #2

re: Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner

Congratulations on your new Machine! Wishing you many happy miles!

What was the final on-road price? Any year end discounts?!

Powertrain

Originally Posted by ₹itzylove View Post
After owning a 2016 Skoda Superb II F/L 2.0 TDI 6-DSG Elegance Zeal Edition for over 5 years, I took delivery of my Skoda Kodiaq L&K 2.0 TSI on December 5th, 2025. After waiting for the registration, I finally received the car on December 20th, 2025.
Unless you've invented a time machine, you must have taken delivery in Dec 2024 & not 2025!
powertrain is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 16:57   #3

re: Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner

Congrats on the beautiful purchase, and welcome to the club!

Eco Mode: Since I drive long distances daily, I often use Eco mode. I don't do much spirited driving every day, so Eco mode works fine for me. However, I’ve noticed that the car goes into neutral when I lift my foot off the pedal, then switches to the appropriate gear when I accelerate or brake. By always driving in Eco mode, am I putting too much stress on the gearbox, possibly leading to faster wear?
Based on what I have observed, Normal mode will do just fine. The shifting eagerness is definitely different but not significant.
Given the need to adjust the mode and needless worries, having it in normal should do fine.

I do get your point, in stop go traffic, the gear shifts in and around the second gear itself is a bit of worry at times. Maybe we are overthinking due to the earlier transmission issues.

Last edited by sarathlal : 23rd January 2025 at 16:58.
sarathlal is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2025, 10:57   #4

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post
Congratulations on your new Machine! Wishing you many happy miles!

What was the final on-road price? Any year end discounts?!

Powertrain

Unless you've invented a time machine, you must have taken delivery in Dec 2024 & not 2025!
Thank you! Yes, I booked the car online during Nov sale with 5L discount on Ex.Showroom. From 39.99L I got it for 34.99L - On road price in TN came around 44.5L. (It was on sale for 52.8L beginning of 2024). So it's a good deal.

Thank you for pointing out the typo on year, yes it's 2024.

Originally Posted by sarathlal View Post
Based on what I have observed, Normal mode will do just fine. The shifting eagerness is definitely different but not significant.
Given the need to adjust the mode and needless worries, having it in normal should do fine.

I do get your point, in stop go traffic, the gear shifts in and around the second gear itself is a bit of worry at times. Maybe we are overthinking due to the earlier transmission issues.
I find a difference of 1-1.5 KMPH between Normal and Eco modes. Yes agree with you, even I feel am overthinking but still wanted to get a clarity from fellow members and Kodiaq users like you!

Last edited by KarthikK : 24th January 2025 at 15:39. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks!
₹itzylove is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th January 2025, 11:27   #5

Re: Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner

Congratulations on your beautiful car. I purchased mine in September 24 for a considerable higher price. You are one lucky person. To answer some of the doubts.

1. DCC settings - Depending on the road conditions, it is ok to change the DCC settings frequently. But I would suggest configuring the Individual mode to identify the right setting so that no frequent changes are needed. This will ensure no distraction while driving.

2. Eco mode - is also the coasting mode where when you speed up and lift the A peddle, you dis-engage the engine / gear system. Thus your fuel efficiency is improved. The downside, is frequent use of breaks since engine breaking is not available most of the time. So break wear and tear will be there. I do not believe it creates stress on the gears.

3. Fuel Efficiency - will get improved when you run for about 3000 KM. It seems you have already done that. So now ensure that the tyre pressure is around 39. The higher tyre pressure helps improve the fuel efficiency. The downside is the stiff ride if the roads are really bad.

4. Driving position issue - can be sorted out with the 12 way adjustable seat with the lumbar support. Do some trials with seat settings. In fact I have saved 2 seat settings, one for normal drive and one for long drive. The seats are really good and you just need to find the right position with numerous adjustments.

5. Auto start stop issue - If you see long term, this is not as much an issue. Start-stop system also has an input of your AC control. If the cabin is not cooled yet, the start stop system will be disabled. On other time, it will be enabled. However with slight input to steering wheel or to A peddle, the car will start again. If you do not want the engine to be stopped, just move the steering slightly. I have noticed that when the car is stopped, there is a 0.5 second delay from input to A peddle to the movement of the car. Once you accept that, the complete procedure will be acceptable to you.

Some changes I suggest to enhance to feel of the car -
1. Set the AC profile to high. There is a post on this by a BHPian in the official Kodiaq review page.
2. Set the Canton equalizers as per another post by a BHPin.
somersault is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th January 2025, 12:11   #6

Congratulations on the new SUV. I also like the look of the outgoing model. Other than the fact that the new SUV may come with ADAS, current Kodiaq seems to provide everything you need.
Ride Comfort & Driving Position: Coming from a sedan (and also driving my wife’s XUV400), I’m struggling to find the right driving position. The ride comfort on the Superb feels much better, and I’m starting to realize that I’m more of a sedan person than an SUV person.
SUVs provide 'commanding view' and getting in/out is less of a struggle but IMO low slung cars always provide better comfort. It is similar to sitting in a 'sofa' vs sitting on a office chair
I could never find a comfortable position in my Tiguan Allspace. I find our i20 Elite's driver seat to be much more comfortable even though it lacks the lumber adjustment and the steering 'reach' adjustment the Tiguan has.
Guna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th January 2025, 12:16   #7

Some changes I suggest to enhance to feel of the car -
1. Set the AC profile to high. There is a post on this by a BHPian in the official Kodiaq review page.
2. Set the Canton equalizers as per another post by a BHPin.
Thank you for taking the time to explain everything in detail. I hope you're satisfied with your purchase so far. As mentioned above, I initially booked in April when there was an offer for 2.4 lakh. However, I noticed there seemed to be an excess of stock at that time, so I cancelled the booking and decided to wait a few more months. The only downside was missing out on all the color options except white, which, unfortunately, is my least favorite.

In the meantime, I had already adjusted the AC settings to high, but the equalizer suggestion is new to me. I just found the thread and downloaded the setting image, so I’ll definitely give it a try. Thanks again
Old 24th January 2025, 15:29   #8

Congratulations.

Welcome to Skoda Tank Club!

All your queries are answered well in ongoing thread.

Last edited by SilverSmoke : 24th January 2025 at 15:46.
SilverSmoke is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 08:54   #9

From one Skoda owner to the other! Congrats on the new ride!

Here’s Wishing you memories galore.. Skodas are built to last forever if maintained well!
Akki272 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2025, 13:12   #10

Originally Posted by somersault View Post
Congratulations on your beautiful car. I purchased mine in September 24 for a considerable higher price. You are one lucky person. To answer some of the doubts.
Originally Posted by SilverSmoke View Post
Congratulations.

Welcome to Skoda Tank Club!
Seeking Advice on Car Care Products & Dashcam Installation

I’ve been going through several forums and threads on our site but still couldn’t find a clear solution, so I’m hoping to get some help from you all (Kodiaq owners). I’m someone who prefers cleaning both my car and my wife’s car myself. I have a Bosch car washer at home, but I’m finding it a bit tricky to maintain the leather dashboard and beige interior of the Kodiaq compared to my previous Superb (Zeal edition), which had soft plastics and a full black interior.
My wife’s XUV400 also has a beige faux leatherette interior, so I’m already familiar with the challenge of keeping beige interiors clean. Since I’m looking for the best products to maintain the Kodiaq’s interiors, I wanted to ask for your recommendations.

Here’s what I’m looking for:

Microfiber Cloth – Any recommendations on the best ones for regular use?
Glossy Black Surface Cleaner – Mainly for the storage compartment above the glove box on the passenger side, which is a real scratch magnet.
Dashboard Cleaner for Leather – To maintain the dashboard, also can I use the same cleaner for the seats as well? I’ve already picked up a spot on the armrest (possibly from the service center).
Tyre Dresser – Any suggestions for a good one?
If there are any other products that are a must-have for maintaining the Kodiaq, please let me know!

Also, I’m considering installing a dashcam but have some questions about that as well. The Skoda dealer here only offers Blaupunkt, which I’m not a fan of. Is it okay to install a dashcam outside of Skoda, and will it affect the warranty in any way?

Looking forward to your suggestions and advice. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by ₹itzylove : 29th January 2025 at 13:14.
Old 29th January 2025, 13:39   #11

Also, I’m considering installing a dashcam but have some questions about that as well. The Skoda dealer here only offers Blaupunkt, which I’m not a fan of. Is it okay to install a dashcam outside of Skoda, and will it affect the warranty in any way?
As long as you are not hardwiring the dashcam to battery or connecting to fusebox directly, it will not affect warranty. Powering your dashcam through USB port or 12V socket is probably the best and safest way to go, however you will not be able to use parking feature. Also make sure the socket which you are using powers off once ignition is off otherwise it will drain your battery.
Bane214 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 29th January 2025, 14:09   #12

Bought this car towel online. It's not microfiber but cleans everything good & has good water absorbent capacity as well - comes very handy on expressway runs mopping insect strikes from windshield which wipers fail to swipe out. It comes in varying thread density, I bought highest.

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-20250129_134953.jpg
Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-20250129_135003.jpg

Also, query regarding dashcam is well answered by Bane214. I am using DDPAI Mola N model since more than 2.5 years - excellent quality - zero issues. Plugged it in 12V socket & remove it when parked at home. If left plugged in - it records hyperlapse video during parking period. Without asking, Brite Skoda service guys neatly tucked away the visible wire inside windshield encloser during 1st service - thanks to them.

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-20250129_135154.jpg
Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-20250129_135251.jpg
Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-20250129_135327.jpg
SilverSmoke is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th January 2025, 14:12   #13

Microfiber Cloth – Any recommendations on the best ones for regular use?
This one is really good. Anything similar would do fine.
https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B09NY7VK6G

Glossy Black Surface Cleaner – Mainly for the storage compartment above the glove box on the passenger side, which is a real scratch magnet.
Better to get PPF done for these areas, otherwise its almost impossible to keep it scratch proof.

Dashboard Cleaner for Leather – To maintain the dashboard, also can I use the same cleaner for the seats as well? I’ve already picked up a spot on the armrest (possibly from the service center).
The cleaning wipes that you can get from Skoda is best choice for this use case. It works well for spot cleaning on both the dashboard as well as leather surfaces.

Its perfectly ok to install dashcam outside of Skoda, especially if you are not hardwiring. Do note that the 12V port for the Kodiaq does not cut off power on shutting down the vehicle, so better to source from the usb port.
If you are hardwiring the dashcam, ensure that fuse taps are used so that wires are not cut.

For running the wires elegantly, they need to be tucked inside the A pillars. Be aware of the curtain airbags inside the A pillar cladding while this is being done.
sarathlal is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 16:08   #14

Skoda Kodiaq 3500 km and 1 month of ownership | Review from a Superb owner-kodiaq-jan-driver-score.jpeg

While exploring the Skoda Connected App yesterday, I noticed the 'Driver Score'. While I agree that the Kodiaq has made me a more cultured driver, I was really surprised by this score of 98. When I checked on Google to find out what’s generally considered a good score, it said 80; feels like I'm one of the class toppers! 😄

This raises the question: 'Am I that good, or are the assessment skills just that weak?' What are your scores? Is it normal to get such high scores?