Old 8th October 2007, 22:39   #16

When in doubt go to Wikipedia...

Originally Posted by kumar2007 View Post
How well will VCM work? Even with two cylinders not firing I presume the pistons will still be connected to the crankshaft. Wont that create a drag on the remaining cylinders? Maybe the valves will remain open so they wont have to be driven against pressure?

I really am not technically sound WRT this but I wonder how variable cylinders would work.
Variable Cylinder Management - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Honda Introduces Variable Cylinder Management V-6
Old 9th October 2007, 10:03   #17

Originally Posted by kumar2007 View Post
How well will VCM work? Even with two cylinders not firing I presume the pistons will still be connected to the crankshaft. Wont that create a drag on the remaining cylinders? Maybe the valves will remain open so they wont have to be driven against pressure?

I really am not technically sound WRT this but I wonder how variable cylinders would work.
From what I understand VCM is very and only useful when you are cruising.
Even the current Accord V6 comes with VCM (Not in India though)
Old 9th October 2007, 10:28   #18

Originally Posted by adya33 View Post
The short report that I read in Autocar gave the impression that the VCM will be such that all the six cylinder will become active when we really need the acceleration and floor the paddle. Else two or even three of the cylinders would switched off.
Old 9th October 2007, 10:41   #19

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
Resale point of view it has to Civic (of the 2).
BTW (and don't shout at me) why not Skoda Laura? it has all the features you mentioned above and being an extremely frugal diesel, it will hold it's value highest among the 3 cars mentioned.

Dude The Skoda and a Resale Value dont match and mix up together well

The Accord Though a bit heavy on the pocket is one of the best in its class. But I would Say Go In for A Civic 1.8V
It Rocks! Easy on Pocket and Good Resale
Old 9th October 2007, 15:38   #20

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Dude The Skoda and a Resale Value dont match and mix up together well

The Accord Though a bit heavy on the pocket is one of the best in its class. But I would Say Go In for A Civic 1.8V
It Rocks! Easy on Pocket and Good Resale
Yeah me too leaning towards a Civic now. The question has now become 1.8V or 1.8S. The price difference in the two models is 72k. Is the price difference justified?
Old 9th October 2007, 21:59   #21

Originally Posted by thefreak View Post
Yeah me too leaning towards a Civic now. The question has now become 1.8V or 1.8S. The price difference in the two models is 72k. Is the price difference justified?
yes you get good quality leather , nice door trim
side mirror indicator , aux port for i pod and other music devices and fog lamps

My Bro bought
Maybe Dad Buying Next year , though me inclined towards Skoda RS
Old 17th December 2007, 15:41   #22

Originally Posted by unknown View Post
According to Autocar new accord is expected in april 2008 at an estimated price tag of 19.5 lakh , & also honda has adden an new system calledVCM (Variable cylinder management) which shuts off two or even three cylinders,when not needed, for better fuel economy .
that's only in the V6 AFAIK. Not in the regular four cylinder 2.4 litre engine.
Old 17th December 2007, 15:44   #23

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
that's only in the V6 AFAIK. Not in the regular four cylinder 2.4 litre engine.
This feature is not there in the current V6 and I doubt Honda will offer this in the 2008 V6 version in India.
Old 18th December 2007, 10:48   #24

Go for the CIVIC IMHO.

The new Accord is again a generation ahead of the current one. The prices for the Current Accord is going to go down a lot.

No point you buying something for 16 Lacs right now which is not going to get you even half in the next 18 months or so.

Either buy the Civic or wait and buy the new Accord.
Old 18th December 2007, 11:01   #25

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
This feature is not there in the current V6 and I doubt Honda will offer this in the 2008 V6 version in India.
The VCM was not offered on Honda Accord V6 globally in the previous model. it is a new feature of the incoming model and would most definitely be launched in India.

@vkochar: Thanks pal! Already bought off a Civic (1.8V MT) in Black about a couple of months ago. Runs like a dream and I am soo pleased with my decision
Old 18th December 2007, 15:47   #26

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
Dipen I was referring to the new Accord, coming in 08, and not the current V6. I think Honda will maintain product continuity and will sell the new V6 with VCM in India.
Old 27th December 2007, 14:31   #27

The new replacement might be sooner that we think. Honda has discontinued selling the V6, which certainly indicates the new Accord launch is imminent. I tried to negotiate for a hefty discontinutation discount on the existing 2.4 (i had got a hefty 1.2 lakh discount when the old honda city was discontinued early 2004) but the dealers are not offerring any. It will be useful to know if any of the members are able to get some discounts on the current 2.4. Cheers! BTW i am really undecided whether to buy the Laura or the Accord. Both have strong business cases going for them!!
Old 27th December 2007, 20:06   #28

Originally Posted by adya33 View Post
Only in the Accord Hybrid which is now discontinued. Also the Odyssey minivan has it. In the new gen, the regular V6 gets it.