Old 20th April 2004, 14:25   #1

yesterday i drove the terracan for a short distance.

the first driving impressions are - its powerful with a good pick up.

+ves - silent and powerful crdi engine , airbags

- ves - no seperate aircon vent for the middle and last row , cheap looking and feeling wood insert on the dash , the last row seats face the front and are cramped as hell ,comparitively low seat ht , steering unresponsive and mushy , suspension wobbly , and its 20 lac on road.

the only thing that impressed me was the silence and power of the engine ......

though it was a short drive , i think the terracan wont be able to hold its won against the endeavor and the crv .

Old 20th April 2004, 16:47   #2

Hey pal

The CRDI engine is i feel the only positive aspect over all of the Terracan. Apart from that theres nothing to rave about in that car. It doesnt look all that great and the rear looks wierd and narrow compared to the front end. Add to that the other negative points u mentioned. 20 lakhs for a Korean SUV like the Terrracan is absolute no no. The Ford Endeavor is definately abetter buy. Its huge , it not all that noise and i found it pretty easy to drive even with one hand like I usually so. For 15 odd lakhs its real good value
Old 27th May 2004, 20:22   #3

Hate the car,
Hate the brand,
Hate the looks,
Hate the fact that its in India, and people buy it!
Old 28th May 2004, 03:33   #4

hey ppl the new Terracan has a power increase from 150 approx to 164
plus it also has rear seat a/c vents.
hey normally_crazy...did u give Hyundai any suggestion??/
Old 29th November 2007, 05:17   #5

New Platform for the Terracan

As most of you must be aware, Hyundai bought Kia motors (a sister Korean car company) a couple of years back and since then they have been platform sharing for most of the range. Kia is slightly down market when compared to Hyundai.

Anyway Kia will be launching a full size SUV called the Kia Mesa (In US) and Kia Mojave (In Korea). It looks nice and I am certain that we will see a Hyundai version of it in the near future.

If they can throw in the 2.9 CRD mill from the Terracan and price it about 20 lakhs, it will be a good seller in India.

Check out the pics at:

Autoblog
Old 29th November 2007, 07:20   #6

Ditto

Hate the car,
Hate the brand,
Hate the looks,
Hate the fact that its in India, and people buy it!
That sums it up nicely. I lived many years in the U.S...... Hyundai has a poor reputation in every aspect of their North American operation.
Old 29th November 2007, 07:30   #7

Negatives are much more than the positives. Shows why terracan couldnt make a place for itself in the crowded market. I think the Tucson was a better product at the segment was offered in.

New platform? I thought Santa FE was going to come in!
Old 29th November 2007, 07:43   #8

This is a 3+ years old report of a SUV long discontinued. There are other threads to discuss newer Hyundai products. Closing thread.