Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 9th July 2009, 21:41   #1
Senior - BHPian

Hyundai i20 Crdi Asta: Short Review

I was lucky enough to get a short test drive of the i20 CRDi Asta today.

Just though I will share my experience with all those who are considering this vehicle.

FYI, I have been hunting for a premium hatchback for the last 2 months and have taken test drives of:

1) Swift VDi
2) Indica Vista QDJ
3) Fiat Punto MJD
4) Fiat Linea MJD (I know not a hatch, but I fell for the looks)
5) Honda Jazz
6) Getz CRDi

My garage has a Accent Viva Crdi, and a CR-V 2.0

The test drive was given in the White i20 Asta, at the dealer's premises.

Sound/Vibration: The engine is an extremely quite one on startup and idle. Even under normal driving circumstances, the engine is low on decibels and vibrations. It is difficult to tell its a diesel. Only when revved high a coarse nature of the engine shows, with a noticible sound inside the cabin. Noise insulation seems adequate.

Power: There is enough. The car feels as quick as my accent CRDi, maybe a couple of shades quicker. The torque is fantastic and there is great driving ease. Its no Getz CRDi though.

Brakes: Excellent. 4 discs + ABS. A firm stomp made me feel the car had hit a wall!

Steering: Small, Light, Nimble. Its a pleasure to drive this car in the city. However, I have no idea how good/bad this same steering will feel under hard cornering / at high speeds. The steering is adjustable and I found my perfect driving position within 20 seconds.

Gearshift: The gear lever is fantastic, and extremely well crafted. The throw/gear change itself could have be slightly more positive, but overall no complaints in this department.

Space: Very decent. Boot is adequate (for a hatch)