Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th July 2009, 13:25   #1
BHPian

Hyundai Verna CRDi SX AT - initial impressions

Newbie here.

July 09 - picked up the AT version of the verna crdi.

Color - deep blue.
Trim - Sx. GLS by hyundai description.
Expected usage - 90% city driving - urban crawl.

Initial impressions :

Trim : Hyundai has skimped in the 2009 model top end variant.

The glovebox light, ashtray box, cigar lighter socket have been removed.
The music system provided has no aux, ipod input provision. music system quality is average.

A letter to hyundai on ABS provision or upgrade was met with stony silence.

Auto transmission : The main reason for the buy. Smooth, slightly slow to respond, keeps upshifting for fuel economy.
I noticed that if the OD button is switched off, it improves the city driving experience.
Keeps the tachometer around 1500 to 2500 and reduces the turbo lag.
Effortless driving in the mid range from the diesel.
L mode useful for climbing, poor roads, descents.
The initial slow forward movement in D mode is a boon in bumper to bumper city traffic.
Happy with the purchase.

Hyundai provides no additional operation manual or technical data with auto transmission - even on request ! The user has to figure it out.

Team BHP users/forum a great source of information.

AC - auto aircon works very well. ac is a chiller.

Seats/interiors : seats are low. added a seat cushion for better visibility.
Interiors are light in color, airy,cheerful but stain easily.
Driver seat handrest very useful.

Exteriors : Cosmetic changes in 2009 model. Bland, inoffensive appearance.

Initial pictures attached
Attached Thumbnails
Hyundai Verna CRDi SX AT - initial impressions-blue-hyundai-verna-closed-door-view-2009-002.jpg  

Hyundai Verna CRDi SX AT - initial impressions-blue-hyundai-verna-front-view-2009-003.jpg