Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th September 2010, 13:05   #1
BHPian

My new fortuner

Got delivery of my Silver fort in early Aug. Been planning to write this ever since, but somehow got delayed on that one.

I have been using a Scorpio for 4 years (not a 4x4), and some time back decided that I want to get a fortuner once its launched in India.

However, it was a long wait, and last year it was launched, and I was not very happy about the long waiting period.
I was in for a pleasant experience when the sales rep brought the fortuner for a test drive. Near my house there is a stretch of dirt track, with slush & lots of undulations. When I asked the rep about taking the gleaming vehicle into this narrow/muddy opening, the response I got was very surprising. “Take it Sir, its got 4x4 and low range, and don’t worry about making a mess. We will wash it”. Wow

Took the plunge and booked it, and in early Aug got to know that I can take delivery. Thanks to Team-bhp, found a buyer for my Scorpio on short notice (I hate the secondhand car dealers) and made the finance arrangements. Within couple of days, took it to Vayanad and finished the first 1000K.

Its much more relaxing compared to the Scorpio and the first thing you will notice is the absence of roll, as compared to scorpio. (Pls Don’t start comparing to a Sedan). It’s a mile muncher, Bangalore, mysore, HD kote, Nagarhole National Park, Bavali and in Manathavady under 4Hr 30 mins (ok, it was early morning 4:00AM when I left Bangy, and I didn’t see any wildlife for photo stops, + I was alone, so no long stops for food/coffee).

Love the torque. Step on the pedal, and it surge forward. And its giving a very decent fuel mileage for its size. 11+ on highways.