Old 25th February 2006, 11:36   #91

Hi Peter

What are the 0-100 timings on your car v/s the stock cars 12.2 secs? Would it be sub 10s? I will be contacting Four Seasons when I do purchase the car. Thanks.
Old 27th February 2006, 13:12   #92

Saw one on road today, it looks awesome. Probably one of the best looking car on road today.
Old 27th February 2006, 14:50   #93

Originally Posted by ponjo
Hi Peter

What are the 0-100 timings on your car v/s the stock cars 12.2 secs? Would it be sub 10s? I will be contacting Four Seasons when I do purchase the car. Thanks.
I tested the 0-100 yesterday and got an average of 9.98secs. Testing was done at Noon so maybe it will be better with a cooler atmosphere.
Old 27th February 2006, 15:01   #94

Thought i would post a peek view of our new Laura RS.........

The body kit is that of the SKODA OCTAVIA II RS just out in Europe.
The car has the tuning box fixed and develops 130 Bhp with 300 NM of torque right now. Stanley seating and OZ racing 18" wheels with 235/35 R18 and Dunlop SP9000 rubber,

Have fun guys

Last edited by turboindia : 27th February 2006 at 15:08.
Old 27th February 2006, 15:07   #95

Nice car...looks really sleek n cool.
Btw how can it be the Laura RS??!!
Old 27th February 2006, 15:11   #96

Originally Posted by karthik247
Nice car...looks really sleek n cool.
Btw how can it be the Laura RS??!!
It is just the outside of the RS, karthik.
Old 27th February 2006, 16:52   #97

Lovely car.. wish i had around 20L
Old 28th February 2006, 01:12   #98

Those are nice pics!

I just read the Volkswagen is going to be selling the Passat here for 28 lakhs!!! If that's true, then I am convinced that Volkswagen as a group do not know how to price cars in this country. I mean who in their right mind would spend 28 lakhs on a bloody Passat?!
Old 28th February 2006, 02:22   #99

I just read the Volkswagen is going to be selling the Passat here for 28 lakhs!!!
Is this confirmed news? I guess Passats will be initially brought in as CBU's but Rs.28Lacs is day light robbery! I would rather buy the Audi A4. Even though it's smaller in size but it has the 4 rings all over.

Off Topic : VW imports Passats into Canada from Germany and of course the taxation is different between India and Canada but the manual version starts off CAD 29,950 plus taxes which equals Rs. 11.5 Lacs approx! On road it comes to approx CAD36,150 which is about Rs. 13.75 Lacs!!

As good as their cars are, VW will be another in the long line of failed European car makers in India.
Old 28th February 2006, 02:45   #100

Originally Posted by kbk_75
I just read the Volkswagen is going to be selling the Passat here for 28 lakhs!!!
That had to happen ! When you take into consideration that Laura is selling for 18+lacs in India and are left with no cars(waiting for 2 months) than why cant VW sell passat for 28 lacs ??

p.s I ve always been a huge fan of VW but it seems soon it all would be a history(once the above price is confirmed) ..
Who the hell would spend 28 grands on a bloody VW instead o going for a brand new BMW 3 series or for that matter A4 ..
Old 28th February 2006, 03:03   #101

Originally Posted by turboindia
Difficult to believe you can actually have both power and economics, isn't it??
Have the cake, eat it and still have enough left over to throw a party!
Old 28th February 2006, 04:14   #102

Well, we all know that VWs are more expensive than Skodas, and the Passat is a nice car and all, but 28 lakhs is completely ABSURD for a Passat. The Laura at 18+ lakhs with the 1.9 engine is a rip off in my opinion, but compared to 28 lakhs for a Passat, that Laura seems like fabulous VFM!

I seriously hope that this trend of ripping-off the Indian car buying public stops. As it is the government rips us off with its ridiculous taxes, duties, etc and gives very little back by way of well designed, well constructed roads. Now it seems that the manufacturers / importers of foreign cars have decided amongst themselves to completely rip customers off collectively, so that a blessed VW Passat sells for 28 lakhs and next we'll see the A4, 3 series and C class heading up to the 35-40 lakh price band. It's sad.

If they really plan on selling that car for 28 lakhs odd, I hope they fail and I hope they fail miserably and lose a lot of money in doing so. Only then will this robbery stop and prices become more realistic.
Old 28th February 2006, 04:25   #103

Things will change, in due course. There was a time when Rs.10 lakh cars were considered to be a niche for a select few with tonnes of 'black' money, but these "D-minus / C-plus" segment cars have now become rather common. Next, it will be the turn of the D Segment to rationalise as buying power increases and people start upgrading yet again. That is when all those vehicles in the 15-20 lakh bracket will start becoming more affordable as manufacturers rationalise prices to get more of those numbers.

You can see that happening already, with prospective customers skipping the C-segment altogether and upgrading straightaway to Citys, Fiestas and Optras in the C+ segment.

And one of these days (perhaps in a couple of years or so) the D+ or E (executive) segment may actually start off at 20 lakhs or even less. Perhaps they will find enough numbers to manufacture these in the country.

Its just a matter of time, if the economy keeps growing at current rates.
Old 28th February 2006, 07:08   #104

Originally Posted by kbk_75

I just read the Volkswagen is going to be selling the Passat here for 28 lakhs!!!!
If you think Superb = a streched Passat, then 28 lacs seems a possible price tag, given the brand upgrade from Skoda to VW.
Old 28th February 2006, 14:29   #105

You have a point there, but then when you consider that you are moving dangerously close to the 220CDI in price, what brand upgrade does your Volkswagen enjoy there, even if it is a larger car?