Team-BHP - Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/97799-quick-first-drive-tata-indica-e-v2-cr4-ls-4.html)

So today I spent some time with the LX and sorry to say, the build quality has gone from bad to worse.
The whole interior appeared crude and hastily assembled, the plastics used were worst possible and hard to touch and even the sheetmetal thickness has gone down, as found from the way the doors shut. Heavy cost cutting. And the pricing is insane.
The top two models overlap the base vista model's pricing. I would go for the figo with my eyes closed, despite being 40-50 grand more expensive, though this e V2 would be used by the taxi people.
The LX CR4 touches 5.25 lakh OTR Delhi.

But one thing is not able to gel..whats gone wrong with tata motors and why is it their none of their vehicles have a VFM advantage?
The Vista QJD aura plus touches 6.5 lakh OTR Delhi, a whopping 40,000 expensive than the figo titanium diesel.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2462.jpg
paint peeled off. No, its NOT a grease mark.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2463.jpg
tacky ill fitted rubber beadings and its glue.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2464.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2467.jpg
poor quality rubber used.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2468.jpg
paint peeling off from bumper corners.:Frustrati

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2469.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2470.jpg
Graphics not to my taste.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2471.jpg
Good looking hyper silver alloys.

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2472.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2473.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2474.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2477.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2478.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2479.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2480.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2481.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2482.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2475.jpg

Quick First Drive: Tata Indica E-V2 CR4 LS-photo2476.jpg

Interior shots. You be the judge.

I feel TATA should have given it the face of the CS. It would have looked way too smarter than what it looks now.

Glove box panel gaps are so huge that no need to open /close to put papers inside. just insert them:Frustrati

Hand brake console mis alignment, no rubber on door.

I guess TATA decides to encourage vista sales by scaring customers with their eV2 CR4 version interiors:uncontrol

Nice review Sid! Feels good to see the Indica getting the new gen Common rail treatment again. My guess is it will now find more private buyers as well given the improved levels of NVH and reliability that the Common rail system offers.

It also looks much better now, with the plastic cladding over the wheel arches finally off! I was never a fan of those plastic bits!

Tata seems to be taking Suzuki's 'Kitna Deti hai' too seriously, and what they seem to be doing might also be correct. A lot of fleet operators and private taxi providers will be more than happy to see lower fuel bills, at the end of the day they also know that the car is going to driven super rashly. My only fear is the fact that they have reduced steel thickness, which would be problem since the older Indica's had a nack of withstanding bangs & nudges like anything.

Seeing the pics, for a moment it reminded me a lot of the first generation Indica. Quality never seems to be good for such a price. Also, I don't think the CR4 is worth trading off on quality. Then why TATA? :Frustrati I don't think even the base version of eV2 will make sense to taxi people. They will simply stretch their budget a bit and get the Vista TDi/QJD. The reason is for Vista, they can charge more from people. Also its a segment above. I am not at all understanding on what market study, they have made such a car ! I am a fan of TATA motors for their VFM packaging, but this one scared the hell out of me. 4.77 for a gen 1 indica with all those cosmetics never ever feel appealing. A definite NO NO for me :Shockked:

Just saw the new Indica e-cs ads splashed across Dadar station (on the widest bridge in the middle, on the central side), advertising a whopping 25kmpl!!

Yep the maruti "Ketna deti hai" campaign seems to have rubbed off on the new e Indica

The alloys look good.

Sid, I like the graphics, (though you don't) it is as simple as one can get. (Maybe have be spoilt with the Safari TCIC graphics).

The Thinner body has me thinking if this uses some of the newer technology to weld the panels together. Yes the TATA cars were always heavier and so now this should match the panel thickness of the rest.

Somehow newer cars all seem to have thinner panels compared to their earlier variants. Even at the higher end a Laura (octavia II) has thinner panels than the earlier octavia, or in the case of older and newer Merc E, C or S class one sees the same today compared to the models 10 years back. Maybe technology has moved ahead in terms of thickness required to attain a certain rigidity and strength. Wonder if the way it is put together has changed.

Interior plastic should have been better than earlier or at least matched earlier levels and it is shocker to hear that they are lower grade.

Also the pricing should have been better. (the overalap with vista just does not make sense)

One can't get the Vista as a Taxi at all, so there is a distinct difference in positioning.

Indica (including old shape and the new Vista) must be the car with the max variants in the model.

Why would one brand a non-electric version as EV-2 is beyond me. Or perhaps, Tatas never intend to introduce a true EV Indica in India. Despite all the right noises in global press about a 2011 electric vehicle launch: Tata Indica Electric — Autoblog Green. What will they call the Electric one now? EEV-420?!

TATA should make CR4 engine available in the Vista as well, and price the Indica a bit lower, I'm sure this engine on the Vista would be a hit if priced correctly.

Originally Posted by musicmanaman (Post 2328858)
TATA should make CR4 engine available in the Vista as well, and price the Indica a bit lower, I'm sure this engine on the Vista would be a hit if priced correctly.

CR4 is a reworked version of the engine first introduced in Indica DICOR. That was withdrawn and later reintroduced in a new avatar in Indigo eCS, making eCS the most fuel efficient sedan in India.

Indigo CS is also sold (I am not sure about metros) with the TDI engine. I don't know what the sales percentage of eCS to CS-TDI is, but I keep seeing a lot of new CS-TDI sedans. This makes me wonder whether people are still suspicious of the eCS and waiting for any problems to appear and get fixed.

Both the engines currently doing duty in the Vista diesel are tried and tested engines, the TDI and the QJD. Personally, I wouldn't have bought a CR4 Vista in the near future. I would have gone either for the QJD or if funds were limited, the TDI.

Nowadays, here I find even cabbies going for the QJD, ignoring the TDI.

My friend is planning to own his eV2 LX by this week and to be frank I was trying to convince him to opt for the Liva by shelling out a lakh or more for awesome features and excellent *** albeit it being a petrol. But it seems he is lured by the '25kmpl' magic and I see a typical indian in him who just wants to move from A to B. He used to own a dzire-lxi (second hand) and now he just wants a diesel car with mileage. TATA still believe in the 'Kitna deta hai' attitude of India to sell stuff and I think will stick to that for some time.

Originally Posted by u_chill (Post 2307822)
Why would one brand a non-electric version as EV-2 is beyond me. Or perhaps, Tatas never intend to introduce a true EV Indica in India. Despite all the right noises in global press about a 2011 electric vehicle launch: Tata Indica Electric — Autoblog Green. What will they call the Electric one now? EEV-420?!

What we are missing here is the badging, the car is called "eV2" and not EV2 as you have suggested

V2 was the upgraded Indica that was launched, the second-generation Indica, and e in this version stands for Economy

Hope this explains