Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th February 2014, 14:18   #1
BHPian

From Bangalore to Manali ..err Ooty!

Hello Team-BHPians!

Great to be part of this wonderful forum. This is my first post and travelogue. Your inputs/comments/criticisms are greatly appreciated.

If you read the first part of the title, it was exactly my reaction when I reached Ooty on 30th Dec. It was so cold even at 3:00 in the afternoon that it reminded me of my trip to Manali.

Let me give quick background on this trip. I have been driving car(s) for over 18 years now and have done more than 500 highway drives in these years. However majority of my drives have been limited to around 350-400 km round-trip. I have never driven for more than 200 kms at a stretch.

You may wonder - Why Ooty of all places? One word – Masinagudi! I have read so many blogs on the forum and people describing the 36-hairpin bends as challenging and equally fun to drive. My Amaze was just about settling into rhythm after the run-in period and it was right time for me to take her out on some adventure trip. Moreover, we wanted to celebrate New Year in a place away from Bangalore.

Trip Details:
Start date: 30-Dec-2013 @ 7:30 AM
Returned: 01-Jan-2014 @ 8:00 PM
Total distance: 683kms
Trip Mileage: 20.7 km/l

Day 1: Bangalore -> Mysore -> Gundlupet -> Bandipur -> Masinagudi -> Ooty
From Bangalore to Manali ..err Ooty!-route1.jpg

Road condition:
Bangalore-Mysore: SH17 – Silky smooth, with lots of speed-breakers
Mysore-Gundlupet: Excellent (no divider – just two lanes)
Gundlupet-Mudumalai: Excellent
Mudumalai-Masinagudi-Ooty: Average in the beginning and very good once the 36-hairpin bends start