Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 13th April 2015, 17:06   #1
BHPian

Mahabubnagar trip with Dad

Mahabubnagar is a small town with barely enough traffic to choke the roads. It is about a hundred kilometers from Hyderabad. I studied here till class tenth so a trip to this town is always an interesting one. Every turn in the road feels like a sharp probe into the vault of my memories. In the last couple of days it had been raining heavily in and around Hyderabad so the drive on NH7 was reminiscent of August or October.

Mahabubnagar trip with Dad-wp_20150118_014.jpg

NH7 exit to get to Mahabubnagar

The highway drive was uneventful and brief. After getting off the highway near Jadcherla the scene changes – the bends in the road are eager to please you, the rising pastoral lands meeting the fat clouds in the horizon.

The road is lined with trees on both sides that rustle as they rub their branches against each other, as if nudging in disbelief. This stretch of fifteen kilometers between Jadcherla and Mahabubnagar is most enjoyed with the windows rolled down, the cars passing through alternating patches of shade and light, the landscape dappled with sheep that occasionally fly into sight right across the road, the village elders huddled under banyan trees, the twitter of birds, and above all, the absence of rush. It is rare to spot a speeding vehicle. A point to be noted here – other roads to Mahabubnagar such as the one towards Boothpur or Raichur are not fringed with trees as this one. The other roads are far too arid, robbed of any traces of chloroplasts…