Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th October 2023, 14:58   #1
BHPian

Karnataka Temple Run Road-Trip in a Kia Sonet

Preface

Hello fellow BHPians. I have been a long time lurker in these forums. It helped me immensely to buy a car for our family. For that I want to thank everyone for contributing to this beautiful community we have here. Looking into the reviews and weighing the pros and cons we bought a Kia Sonet HTX imt this April and have taken it a few road trips before too. Previously we had a 2008 Hyundai Santro Xing which was sold off to make way for our new car. This is my first time posting here so please forgive me for any mistakes I make.

This time we wanted to go on a long road trip and were searching for places to go. Being fortunate enough to stay in Bangalore which is makes the entire South of India within driving distance of us. There are a load of places to visit but we hadn't decided yet. A random video recommendation on YouTube of the Murudeshwar temple peaked the interest of my mom. So hence began the planning. My father had a passport renewal appointment on Thursday and hence we planned for a three day road trip starting on Friday and ending on Sunday. As we were planning to go up north, we planned what else we could see. Seeing the road options and destination we had the following four main places we would like to visit.
  • Jog Falls
  • Shri Mahabaleshwara Swamy Temple (Gokarna)
  • Shri Murudeshwara Shivana Temple
  • Shri Kshetra Dharmasthala Manjunatha Swamy Temple
Our car just had its second servicing upon completion of 5000Km the previous day and hence we were ready for the trip.

Day 1