Old 23rd October 2008, 01:56   #61

Rahul you come down to Goa and no tinkle or pm?
Old 23rd October 2008, 12:32   #62

Rahul that was a fun travellogue. I really loved the pics of the place which looks like kerala. Guess it was somewhr near karwar if am not wrong.

Well thanks for the info on the casino. I have made up my mind to visit it sometime soon.
Old 23rd October 2008, 19:27   #63

We decided to head to Bagmalo Beach Resort for lunch. We got a table by the beach side again.

Saw this on our way. Its a Birla Institute or something.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_0126-21.jpg

The view from our table.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_0097123.jpg

The pool.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_0104-21.jpg

Goodness motheroflord, I acted like a 5 yr old on seeing this.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00951.jpg

Sexy back.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00941.jpg

My wallpaper.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00921edit.jpg
Old 23rd October 2008, 20:32   #64

I was in Goa from 6th-10th Oct... every snap of yours reminded me of my trip! Great travelogue.
Old 23rd October 2008, 21:34   #65

I am sure by now you are all guessing if I went for a holiday with my TP or was I all alone with my camera right? The pics I have posted here are around just 30% of the total pics I clicked on the trip. Obviously, a certain somebody got a little frustrated. End effect, my camera had somehow lost its SD card .

That night we had a reservation at Wildernest Eco Resorts. This is one hell of a place and once again a must visit place for visitors. The view by the swimming pool is out of this world and heavenly. Their eco-cottages are wonderful too. The place is a bit pricey, but worth it. I stumbled upon this place while watching Roadies 5, it was shot here. Since the dslr was not working, I managed to sneak in a pic of the pool with a phone cam .

The pool overlooking the hills. An amaaaazziiiiiing sight.

Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_001wild.jpg

For more details on this place check out their website.
Wildernest Nature Resort

We had a hectic 4 days of partying, running around beaches, hotels, discos,casino's, soaking in Goa's sun. For the next two days we decided to stay indoors, bask in some fabulous facilites provided by some of the best resorts in the business so that we could have a quality time together. And quality time we did have.

The next day we had a reservation at the Taj Exotica, the same place where Dhoom was shot. In short we were treated like kings and queens. A complete spa experience by the beach (yes you heard it right), golf, a private swimming pool, a candle light dinner setup by the beach again, some of the priciest Moet & Chandon Champagne to go with. It was nothing short of a massive celebration. We were celebrating our two and a half years of togetherness.

Not for a moment I missed my cam, for those moments will be cherished for the rest of our lives & we didn't need proof of it. Though I do have a copy of the bill which boldly mentions 30k .

For further details check out their virtual tour.
Taj Exotica, Goa - Virtual Tour

After a day at the Taj, we were to get back to North Goa and explore everything to the North of Baga for the next two days. All the beaches, Arapora Fort etc. But I got a call from mom saying they wanted me back asap as there was some trouble at home. And it was urgent. So we hurried back, cancelling out on the next two days we had scheduled the trip for.

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 23rd October 2008 at 21:42.
Old 23rd October 2008, 23:20   #66

On our way back we decided to take the Ponda, Londa, Hubli route. Most part of the route was ok till Ponda. After Ponda havoc started but I assumed this would eventually happen. After getting to Khanapur, I was told that the route to Hubli was non-existant and it was better to take the Belgaum route. So I took the Belgaum route only to be greeted by some of the finest two lane highways I have ever driven in. Great visibility, swooping bends, and surprisingly the swift was averaging 140 kmph easily. I don't mean it was hitting top speeds, I was able to maintain 140 or thereabouts consistently till I reached a village or something. The drive was truelly tireless and wonderful.

On reaching Hubli, I paid my granny a visit, later convinced her to tag along with me to Bangy and reached Bangy a day later. Now some pics from the last leg of my journey.

Found these bulleteirs on my way.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_0129-212.jpg

Londa Ghat Section.

Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_013812.jpg

Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_013112.jpg

Near Castle Rock.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_014522.jpg

Found this cute little guy. He was pretty camera shy, ran away, but not before I had clicked his shaadi.com pic.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_013912.jpg
Old 23rd October 2008, 23:45   #67

Some pics of our 40 acre farm house en-route to Hubli from Dharwad. The village is called Amargol.

Our Sierra, the car I learnt most of my driving on.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00091.jpg

Entrance to the farm.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00121.jpg

View from the main gate.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00301.jpg

Resting in the shade, Goa was indeed HOT!
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00231.jpg

Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00422.jpg

Mr.Wormy.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00581.jpg

The little darling, Tommy.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00131.jpg

Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00141.jpg

Thats Chewie.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00311.jpg

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 23rd October 2008 at 23:59.
Old 24th October 2008, 00:17   #68

This tiny little mischievous bugger managed to escape the last post somehow, just the way he escapes into places when he deserves to get a thrashing for stealing food.

One and only Minnu.
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_00051.jpg

Thus ended my Goa sojourn. Filled with lots of heat, beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food, casinos, discos, driving and last but not the least lots of memories that will remain with us all our lives.

Before signing off, here is my favourite pic of the trip.

At Karwar.The BEE!
Goa- The land of beaches, churches, adventure, alcohol, food and much more.. Tune in!-img_0143-copy2.jpg

Thanks a ton for the kind words, hope you guys enjoyed the pics. Until the next travelogue then. Signing off.

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 24th October 2008 at 00:25.
Old 24th October 2008, 09:13   #69

Rahul, the last set of pics were really nice and thanks for the road update of the Khanapur - Kittur section.
Taj Exotica for 2.5 yrs of courtship !! WOW, lucky girl !! Boss, keep something for post marriage as well. Ya, shaadi ke pehle saab kuch kar loge to baad mein ghumne ke liye kuch rahega nahi !!

BTW How much did you spend on this journey (home to home)? Asking this just out of curiosity.

Your Farm pics were excellent !!
How about a Tbhp meet @ your Farm?

Abhi

Last edited by akroy : 24th October 2008 at 09:15.
Old 24th October 2008, 09:18   #70

Originally Posted by mclaren1885 View Post

Not for a moment I missed my cam, for those moments will be cherished for the rest of our lives & we didn't need proof of it.
Dude - You need not prove that you had a TP or not. As stated in someone's signature of T-BHP --> What happens in Goa, stays in Goa!!

Nicely written but as mentioned by someone in this thread, do take care of venturing out in the darkness whenever you are in any female company. The days are not the same any more.

Enjoyed your pics & this is kind of a warm-up for our office trip on the long weekend on 26th jan-09. We plan to cover South Goa this time & planning to stay at the Country Inn.

Cheers!!
Old 24th October 2008, 10:09   #71

Unfortunately no one knows that Goa is also land of temples.. originally known as Gomantak.. home of saraswat brahmins, Goa has number of temples located mainly in Ponda area

So before the goa became what it is today..Thanks to our friends from Portugal, perhaps earlier people used to visit there only for temple "yatra"

Those of you who have no clue about what i was talking about, please take some time to visit atleast one of those temples(i cant resist to visit all of them everytime)

All of them have some great architecture and worth visiting atleast once

But temple and alcohol do not go together isnt it []

So i usually plan my goa trips in two different ways

Last edited by rajshenoy : 24th October 2008 at 10:12.
Old 24th October 2008, 10:37   #72

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
Unfortunately no one knows that Goa is also land of temples.. originally known as Gomantak.. home of saraswat brahmins, Goa has number of temples located mainly in Ponda area
Now this was news for me !! Thanks for sharing it raj. Looking at Goa now, one can never imagine it to be a temple destination.

I am sure to visit this temple(s) in my next Goa visit.

Abhi
Old 24th October 2008, 14:31   #73

Nice travelogue, Rahul. And good pictures too.

Goa remains one of my favourite destinations - mainly for the laid-back style, good roads, tourist-friendly attitude, the bikes-for-rent and ofcourse the awesome breakfast at the Marriott. Oh yes, I forgot the main thing - a variety of booze to choose from, at unbelievably low prices.
Old 24th October 2008, 16:31   #74

Originally Posted by rohan_fonseca View Post
Rahul you come down to Goa and no tinkle or pm?
Rohan, this trip was made at a real short notice. As I hadn't logged onto the forum for ages I couldn't get around getting in touch with some of the local bhpians from Goa. Next time I shall do it with more leisure and make it a point to meet you all.

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Taj Exotica for 2.5 yrs of courtship !! WOW, lucky girl !! Boss, keep something for post marriage as well. Ya, shaadi ke pehle saab kuch kar loge to baad mein ghumne ke liye kuch rahega nahi !!
Actually, if I had a passport, I would post a travelogue about Maldives instead of Goa.

Shaadi ke baad, I guess France ya Swiss Alps? But thats a long long way.

BTW How much did you spend on this journey (home to home)? Asking this just out of curiosity.
Haven't kept a tab, but debit card balance says around 70k. Got a bottle of Champagne from Goa back home for her birthday on Nov 1st. Quite expensive the Champagnes and wines we ordered.

Your Farm pics were excellent !!
How about a Tbhp meet @ your Farm?
Definitely possible Abhi. Only problem is there is no building to stay at. So we will all have to manage with tents if thats ok. And whats more is, I can treat you all to plenty of tender cocunuts, some alphanso mangos and corn too.

Btw, little minnu whose pics I posted last night is no more. A cobra that does rounds near the sheds apparently injected venom killing the kitten today. May the kitten RIP.