Old 31st December 2010, 14:00   #1

Trip to Kalatop, Dalhousie - May 2009

Yaju: Let’s go somewhere.
Me: Where?

The last question throws many people into cauldron of confusion.
But Yaju had a habit of finding unusual places with great ease.

About fifteen minutes later, he showed me a place, on a webpage, with certain snaps.
The place looked serene and beautiful. It was Kalatop, about 10 kms from Dalhousie.
Two of our colleagues, Abhishek & Tolstoy, also joined in.

Yaju: There is a forest rest house in Kalatop.

We all got delighted because none of us had ever been to a forest rest house.
For bookings, Yaju made a call to DFO, Wildlife, Chamba. He enquired about the huts and their availability. He booked two rooms for two nights.
The booking was done on phone itself and it did not involve any money transfer at all.
Of course, we had our apprehensions regarding such booking. So, we made Yaju to call the DFO again to clear up our doubts.

Guy on the other end: Sir ji, agar koi bada sahib aa jaye aur koi room uplabadh naa ho to hum aapki booking cancel kar denge. Par aisa bahut kam hota hai.

(Sir, if some big govt. official shows up and there is no room available then we will cancel your booking. But this happens rarely.)

“It happens only in India” … Song from the movie Pardesi Babu (1998)

My mind got filled up with that song .
Anyway, we took the risk, confirmed the booking, bought the train tickets and off we went.

So, enjoy the trip through our eyes!

BTW, the following thread also proves my point. You’ve got to see this place.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...en-forest.html

================================================== =======

On our way to Pathankot.

Beautiful Punjab

Some random shots on our way to Kalatop

Kalatop, here I come!

Our hut!

The village behind the rest house

Great ambience

One afternoon at Khajjiar

Hope you guys enjoyed!

Happy travelling, over and out!
helter_skelter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2010, 16:15   #2

Re: Trip to Kalatop, Dalhousie - May 2009

Nice snaps. Kala Top is an amazing place.
Another amazing thing I realized when coming down from Dalhousie to Pathankot is how the vegetation changes from a green place to a dry place within 1.5 hours of a drive!

Stayed at a place called Peace Channel. Not sure if its still there. Funny Name!