Old 9th January 2011, 15:50   #1

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.

Hi Friends.

Almost 10 days into the new year and not a single goa travelogue? Too busy to write or still in the holiday mood? He he..

I would like to share a small trip i did to Goa from 3rd to 7th.
Just major details and some pics and a couple of videos.
Onward Route:

Hyderabad-Zaheerabad (Breakfast)-Humnabad-Gulbarga-Bijapur (Gol Gumbaz and Lunch)- Athani-Chikodi-Sankeshwar (Halt for night)- Gadhinglaj-Ajara-Amboli-Sawantwadi-Calangute.

Return Route: (I was an idiot to try this!)

Calangute-Ponda-Mollem-Londa-MK Hubli-Dharwad-Gadag-Koppal-Gangawati-Sindhanur-Raichur-?No idea where?-Jadcherla-Hyderabad

Going to Goa was fine uptil Bijapur. Athani-Chikodi had some bad patches but not bad at all. Sankeshwar area had good roads. Gandhinglaj-Ajara-Amboli was slow with narrow and rough roads. Sawantwadi onwards i had NH17 which was good.

We went straight to Calangute, looked around for a few minutes for a decent place to stay and finally put our bags in O'CAMARAO. This is a smallish place right on the calangute beach with decent cottages.

Non-TV one was 800/- but we took with TV for 1200/- with extra mattress for total 3 persons.

I was looking for the mantheven homes but majority was for nearness to beach.

Coming back we decided to go without stops and it turned out to be a nightmare.

NH4A from Goa to Londa has infact been re-laid and is very smooth except for 25 kms from Londa. Now here, i wanted to try new route so asked directions for Hubli-Raichur route and what followed is best not talked about here on a family forum. About 50 villages and 500 speed breakers. Misled about the route from Raichur onwards and got onto the NH7 only at Jadcherla instead of beechupalli.

After about 20 hours of continuous driving, many halts, many villages, many bad roads, hundreds of speed breakers, couple of sleepy moments on driving seat, few pinches from wife we reached home at about 2am!

No more driving to GOA! Phew!

Total Fuel - 95 litres
Total KMS - 1600
Economy: 17kmpl
AC: 85%

Total Spending Except Shopping: Rs.12600/- (Fuel, Hotel, Food, Boat Rides)

Sahara Lodge at Sankeshwar (Decent Place): Rs.400/- per double bed room.
O'Camarao at Calangute Beach 1200/- non AC.

Petrol in Hyderabad - 62.10, Petrol in Goa - 55.78 !!!

Dolphin Ride - Rs. 400/- for 3 people (Paisa Vasool!)

Some Pics-
Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-010.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-012.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-016.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-019.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-031.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-033.jpg  

Last edited by unoczar : 9th January 2011 at 16:00. Reason: expenditure
Old 9th January 2011, 16:38   #2

more pics and videos

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-038.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-039.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-040.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-045.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-048.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-049.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-052.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-057.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-062.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-069.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-072.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-082.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-077.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-086.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-087.jpg  

Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.-picture-083.jpg  

Old 9th January 2011, 17:39   #3

Re: Hyderabad to GOA! Pics and Logs.

Ohh you have spend a lot of fuel i believe, We learn from expirences but what was your ride i mean which car?
Some more pics of beachs plz.
Potla zabardast hai..

Last edited by ferrariKSA : 9th January 2011 at 17:56.
Old 9th January 2011, 21:59   #4

Originally Posted by ferrariKSA View Post
Ohh you have spend a lot of fuel i believe, We learn from expirences but what was your ride i mean which car?
Some more pics of beachs plz.
Potla zabardast hai..

I'd gone in my Swift.

and i dont think lot of fuel was spent. Reasonable i guess, onward was much more fuel efficient coz of good roads, had i come back same way economy would have been better by at least 0.5
Old 10th January 2011, 10:52   #5

@miya,

aapke style me likho bhai!!
some chhu-cha ho jaye!!!

Looking forward for some more pics, writeup.
Old 10th January 2011, 11:13   #6

Originally Posted by ferrariKSA View Post
Potla zabardast hai..
+1 on that.Solid hai bhai.

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
@miya,

some chhu-cha ho jaye!!!
+1 on this too.

Khalid Bhai, please keep the rest coming in your trademark style.
Old 10th January 2011, 12:07   #7

Ah Nice to see another Travelogue from you. So no Mazhaar this time? Any Cho Chaas?
Old 10th January 2011, 12:15   #8

Loved crossing the shaky bridge at Mandrem and that "End of the world" boards made me feel like Capt. Jack Sparrow awaiting the return of the Black Pearl! Thanks for bringing back the memories mate.
Old 10th January 2011, 13:33   #9
MX6

Wow. The restaurant at the end of the world. Is the owner a fan of Douglas Adams? I always wanted to go to the restaurant at the end of the world. Now I know where it exists thanks to you!

@miya,

some chhu-cha ho jaye!!!

All chhu-chas are now in my logs AP Bhau. lol.

Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
Ah Nice to see another Travelogue from you. So no Mazhaar this time? Any Cho Chaas?
Yeah. If there's no Mazhar, there's no dampener. Anyway, the return leg seems to be a Mazharrible experience waiting to unfold. Let's see whether the choo chaas unfold then.
Old 10th January 2011, 15:54   #10

@miya,

some chhu-cha ho jaye!!!

Ha ha, bhai, not much to write about on this trip. Except for couple of moments i'd like to forget this trip soon.

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
+1 on that.Solid hai bhai.

+1 on this too.

Khalid Bhai, please keep the rest coming in your trademark style.
Aur kya bhai, khatam ho gaya.. no stories, just trip log thats all! LADDU kaha hai??

Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
Sorry to disappoint everyone, no mazhar, no choo chaa!

Originally Posted by lordofgondor View Post
Loved crossing the shaky bridge at Mandrem and that "End of the world" boards made me feel like Capt. Jack Sparrow awaiting the return of the Black Pearl! Thanks for bringing back the memories mate.
I crossed that bridge not without fear, and i almost froze when a couple of planks made horrible noises. CREEAAK!!

And, i encountered this at Agarwada (Beside Arambol beach), dont remember any mandrems.

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
Wow. The restaurant at the end of the world. Is the owner a fan of Douglas Adams? I always wanted to go to the restaurant at the end of the world. Now I know where it exists thanks to you!

He he.. Dint get a chance to go into that one. Its at Agarwada, ask for Arambol beach if you wanna get there, almost northmost point in goa.

Yeah. If there's no Mazhar, there's no dampener. Anyway, the return leg seems to be a Mazharrible experience waiting to unfold. Let's see whether the choo chaas unfold then.
Its over bhai log, sorry to disappoint, not much masala this time. The dolphins were surprising, and i liked the calmness at arambol. Other than that not much fun, especially for a non-drinker, non-party fellow like me. Will look for a much more quite place next time, am i thinking of the himalayas again?
Old 10th January 2011, 17:38   #11

Originally Posted by unoczar View Post
I crossed that bridge not without fear, and i almost froze when a couple of planks made horrible noises. CREEAAK!!

And, i encountered this at Agarwada (Beside Arambol beach), dont remember any mandrems.
Tell me about it. I'd a big scare while crossing the bridge when 2 planks were missing and the one I'd to land on was only half a plank. It was only after being prodded by the locals, whom I was definitely amusing, did I muster enough courage!

But hey, isn't the End of The World cafe located at Mandrem?

Quote from goaholidayhomes dot com

The Mandrem beach is a beautiful deserted beach, just a few huts offering not-so-good food, but the beach and sea are worth it. Good places to eat include End of the World Cafe for fish & Oasis for superb tandoori chicken, prawns & bread.
But yeah, Mandrem & Arambol are pretty close when walking I guess.

And you've ended it too soon mate! Would love some more anecdotes from you.
Old 10th January 2011, 19:44   #12

Lovely travelogue unoczar, a few more pics please, especially of Goa !