Team-BHP - Queries regarding a used VW Passat

-   What Car? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/)
-   -   Queries regarding a used VW Passat (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/127781-queries-regarding-used-vw-passat.html)

I have finalized an August 2011 Mumbai registered Passat (old shape) 1.8 Tsi for Rs. 13.5 lakhs. The car is in excellent condition and has clocked about 21K kms.

I have managed to get a sanction at 12.75% interest rate for a 4 year tenure for an amount of Rs. 8,00,000/-.

I have a few queries i do have relating to Passat. While i have posed these to the car`s current owner, i request Team BhPians to help me out too.
Guys your help will be greatly appreciated. Cheers :)

Thats a great car you have found, in fact Passat is one of the most diffiult cars to find in the Used Car market and that too a TSI.
But the Car has run quite a bit, despite being a petrol

The Car is mechanically similar to the Manual Superb TSI
According to dkaile's tryst with destiny thread, you can expect 8-9 Kmpl in the City without much problems.

The Maintainence cost would be quite similar to the other VW group cars, say about 10K for an yearly service.

Haven't heard much of a Passat Specific Issue yet.

Originally Posted by punitkakri (Post 2932362)
I have finalized an August 2011 Mumbai registered Passat (old shape) 1.8 Tsi for Rs. 13.5 lakhs. The car is in excellent condition and has clocked about 21K kms.

I have managed to get a sanction at 12.75% interest rate for a 4 year tenure for an amount of Rs. 8,00,000/-.

I have a few queries i do have relating to Passat. While i have posed these to the car`s current owner, i request Team BhPians to help me out too.
  • What is the kind of Fuel efficieny i can expect in city with the a/c on?
  • Is there any specific issue pertaining a Passat that i need to be careful of?
  • What would be the typical service costs/ maintenance costs yearly?

Guys your help will be greatly appreciated. Cheers :)

* Driven with a light foot, you should manage close to 10 kpl, even with such a large sedan. The 1.8 TSI is quite efficient. For e.g. Contrary to the popular perception, the Laura TSI is actually more efficient than a Civic, if driven sensibly. They both come with 1.8 liters.

* Generally look for the car. Two areas that you should examine are: Suspension and Air con. Both are expensive to fix. Since this is a new car, you should be okay.

* A regular service can set you back by 12k-15k. With no parts replaced and not add on services. The part replacement is generally costly on German cars.

In Mumbai traffic expect 7-7.5kmpl, around 8 if you drive with a light foot.

The services will be once a year and assuming nothing goes wrong expect them in the range of 8k.

The car is still relatively new, so I wouldn't expect any electronic problems. Do check out the clutch, and make sure to try and slip the clutch as little as possible.

EDIT - Your car is still in warranty, do check from VW if there is any chance of getting extended warranty, otherwise try and get as much work done under warranty as possible, till it lasts.

Air conditioning compressor will go some time. Replace with a sandon from Japan next time around. The clutch is dual mass,being petrol, it should last for around 40k assuming you do not do burnouts. The parking brake will fail later on since the motors in the rear discs which activate this get mucked up or corroded over time.

Hey Guys,
Thanks for the replies. the car is still in warranty. The interior are light beige and so are the seats. Was wondering if it is advisable to put in slightly darker seat covers. ?
I am asking this considering the fact that the car has electronically adjustable seats and airbags and the installing seat covers may not be a straight forward option.

Originally Posted by punitkakri
Hey Guys,
Thanks for the replies. the car is still in warranty. The interior are light beige and so are the seats. Was wondering if it is advisable to put in slightly darker seat covers. ?
I am asking this considering the fact that the car has electronically adjustable seats and airbags and the installing seat covers may not be a straight forward option.

Yes, the passat comes with side airbags on the front seats, so you can't install the seat covers that easily. It would cause some serious problems with the airbag functioning.
and +1 with akshay1234 ,do try to get extended warranty if possible.

Guys unfortunately after everything was set and my loan sanctioned the owner of the car suddenly upped his asking price to Rs. 14.25 lakhs when we had agreed on Rs. 13.50 lakhs. I`m dropping out of the deal.

Guys i have two more options.Request you all to share the indicative pricing for both cars so that i can negotiate accordingly. I need to get the car Mumbai registered.

Originally Posted by punitkakri (Post 2942533)
I need to get the car Mumbai registered.

In the event of a non Bombay but maharastra registered car you can get the vehicle a Bombay registration. Usually there are no additional charges. At least it is that way in karnataka. Just need to ensure vehicle is bs4 I into a metro, which not a problem in your case.

It is sad the owner got greedy at the last minute and wouldn't budge at the last minute. For all you know he was hiding some other flaw. Consider yourself lucky.

Maybe the used car price thread here will be a help price wise.

Punit, why not opt for a similar aged, Superb 1.8 tsi AT, the similar bells and whistles and you should be able to get her in your budget, i reckon 14 lacs or so. In addition to a great car, the Superb would of a current gen, viz a viz an old gen Passat.
However, if your heart is set on a Passat, go for it..good luck

Hey,

Fantastic drivers car !!

To answer your questions:
1. If you are going to drive the car in Mumbai or to ans extend even in Delhi it will not return more than 8 km/pl even if you are light on the gas pedal.
2. There are no issues at all pertaining to the Passat apart from the more than pathetic service quality, timeline for the availability of spares and ofcourse cost of spares.
3. Because I drive a Skoda Octavia vRS and and a Skoda Laura vRS, I want to caution you about the service costs. Am sure VW's are also serviced every 15k kms just like the cousins (Skoda) but ideally this change has been brought about by the VW & Skoda not very long ago. My Octavia vRS is a 2004 and is done 125000 kms. When the bought the car the owners manual said that it needs service every 7500kms. Sometime ago the dealer said the service interval has changed to 15000 kms. So practically you will need to service the car or atleast change the engine oil every 7500 kms which I do. So I guess your 15000 kms service bill should be in the range of 15k INR (Thats if you intend to keep the car for a while and want the best from it).

Also I would suggest you consider factors like resale value, interest of the loan you will take and the approximate value of the car after 3 years. My guess is it will come down to around 4 lac after 3 years.

In terms of power you will feel the power is not at par with the laura vRS eventhough it is the same engine since the car is heavier.

I saw a Laura vRS for sale in Pune which has done 13000 kms only and the fellow was ready to let go of the machone for 12.5 lac. Hence if you are looking for a drivers car I suggest also check for a resale Laura vRS in Mumabi or Delhi.

Since the drive the same engine if not the same car my honest openion about the car is that it is fantastic machine but there are several factors that you will need to think about before taking the plunge !!

Sukhbir

I am also of the opinion that servicing every 7500 is a lost better. My Octy RS used to feel quite ropey at 10000km

Originally Posted by punitkakri (Post 2942533)
I need to get the car Mumbai registered.

Your profile says moving to delhi soon. If you are, then I would recommend finding a car there. Lower registration costs, lower resale values, and cars which have done most of their mileage on highways rather than on city roads. I know that NCR traffic is horrible now too -- but with the distances there, a car which covers 10K KM in NCR has probably done them in less number of trips and running-time than a 10K run car in Mumbai.

Just a suggestion.

The thread starter has bought a Passat. An ownership thread is also up and running.

Originally Posted by agambhandari
The thread starter has bought a Passat. An ownership thread is also up and running.

Ha ha time to close this thread then. Congratulations on your purchase OP