(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
What Car?
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/)
Looking for some help deciding between two pickup trucks — the
Toyota Hilux STD and the
Isuzu V-Cross (pre-facelift, no Prestige variant). I’ve test-driven both, and while they felt quite similar overall, the
Hilux does pack a tad more punch in terms of driving feel.
The Dilemma:
Thanks to ongoing discounts and dealer-level offers, I’m getting
both at roughly the same price (ex-showroom), and both are
MT 4x4 variants.
- Hilux STD – Feels more rugged, solid Toyota badge, known for reliability. But the cabin feels too basic, especially with manual A/C controls and no rear A/C vents. That said, its raw utilitarian charm has its own appeal.
- Isuzu V-Cross (pre-facelift) – Better interiors (dashboard looks more car-like), feels slightly more premium inside and the cabin did feel slightly more spacious, especially in rear row. Though, I didn't think there was too much of a difference.
Overall, am so far more inclined towards Hilux (solely because of the engine specs on paper and the Toyota service network)
My Concerns, if Hilux: - Cabin Comfort – especially A/C performance in summers:
North India summers are brutal. The Hilux STD lacks rear A/C vents — for a double cab that might get warm in the rear, especially when carrying family.- Anyone using the Hilux STD variant — is this an actual issue on-ground in hot weather?
- Does the compact cabin size + front blower suffice?
- Hilux High variant is ~7L more:
Not sure if it’s worth it just for some cosmetic and feature upgrades (leather seats, alloys, auto A/C, etc.). From a pure utility standpoint, is the High worth the 7L jump? Especially since I don’t need creature comforts per se. - Use Case:
This is largely an impulse buy. I:- Don’t carry cargo, don’t own a farm, and haven’t yet participated in off-road events.
- Have done multiple Spiti/Ladakh/Uttarakhand/Nepal trips in my old non-4x4 XUV500 over the past few years.
- Expect similar use with this truck:
- 70% city commuting (Chandigarh-based)
- 20% highway runs (e.g., Chandigarh–Jaipur)
- 10% mountain/offbeat trips, 2–3 times a year
- Family Travel Pattern:
- City/Highway: Mostly me, wife, toddler, and occasionally my elderly parents.
- Hills: Me, wife, toddler + brother’s family (he, wife, toddler) — so 4 adults, 2 kids.
What I Need Help With: - Hilux STD vs Isuzu V-Cross – which would be your suggestion based on your experience?
- Isuzu owners – how’s the after-sales in North India these days? Here, in Chandigarh tricity, there is just one dealership!
- Hilux STD owners – real-world feedback on:
- Cabin comfort in summers
- Any regrets with the basic interiors?
- Any must-do mods?
Thanks in advance! Look forward to inputs from those who’ve been using these machines in the real world, especially in similar conditions.
Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support: The use of AI / ChatGPT is strictly prohibited on Team-BHP. Do NOT use AI / ChatGPT to compose your posts, or even enhance the language of your written material.
On Team-BHP, we take pride in our original thoughts, opinions & content. Kindly type out only your own ideas, comments & language. Do not use AI software to even rewrite your post or tweak its language.
We strongly advise you to visit our forum rules section again.
IIRC Hilux Standard can only be had with a yellow/commercial plate, which also means that there is a 80 km/hr speed limiter in place. So, for your kind of usage, either get a top-end Hilux or a more conventional Fortuner. I won't recommend Isuzu as a primary/do-it-all car.
If open to used, a low mileage 3.2 Endeavour is a better alternative to Fortuner. I see plenty of well-maintained examples in Punjab.
There are lots of Discounts going on Hilux, so you should pick up top trim I.e High AT.
My friend bought it 1 year ago at 36 lacs on-road Mumbai.
Between the Hilux and V-Cross its a no brainer, pick up the Hilux for the reasons:
-Hilux on an average has been sold with discounts of around Rs.13 lakhs whole of last year. So go for top end AT variant, it good value for money.
-Hilux is one and a half generation newer. Isuzu is still stuck with last generation car for India while in other markets they sell the newer generation car.
-Hilux has superior Toyota support with most engine and drivetrain parts shared with the popular Fortuner, Isuzu service centers are super limited and we do not know how much longer the company will survive in India considering their private car sales are almost nil now.
-The 205hp, 500nm 2.8 Engine comes in a better spec, in comparison Isuzu gets a bigger engine 3.0 in other markets but for India they have always sold the lower output 2.5 and now 1.9 engines.
But there is a major downside to Hilux. Its uncomfortable, the V-Cross even on stock suspension is very softly tuned and is super comfortable especially for expedition use where no roads exist. Also the rear seat is more comfortable. Some of my friends have increased the recline on the Hilux rear seat at the expense of some legroom, it gets more comfortable but still not as good as the Isuzu.
Also keep in mind with both the cars you will need to spend a lot of many to make them live able or your taste. I'd keep a budget of at least 3-7 lakhs for Suspension upgrades, rear lid cover, storage solutions.
I drove this Hilux, a friend's car, in a Desert racing competition few months back(and we won our category!). This car has super awesome King suspension which costs upwards of 5 lakhs, with Parabolic leaf springs from another brand, a nice ECU tune. With these upgrades this car is super awesome and nothing else is even close. But in stock form its bumpy, harsh and definitely a big compromise for family use.
I own a 2016 Isuzu V-Cross prepared to my taste.
Most of the points have been covered, so I will just stick to my observation on the AC effectiveness. Both these cars have relatively small cabins. AC on both is very good. So even without rear AC, it won't be bothersome.
I drive a V-Cross in Chandigarh and have never felt a lack of rear AC vents.
Originally Posted by rm2099
(Post 5953442)
[*] Hilux High variant is ~7L more:
Not sure if it’s worth it just for some cosmetic and feature upgrades (leather seats, alloys, auto A/C, etc.). From a pure utility standpoint, is the High worth the 7L jump? Especially since I don’t need creature comforts per se. |
I'd get the Hilux since it is a newer car backed by Toyota service.
Though you are not big on creature comforts, the car is to be used by family, isn't it? In that case better get the variants that has all the comforts. Better to have it and not use it than to not have it and need it IMHO.
I think I am poised perfectly to answer your questions.I own both a fortuner and a std Hilux.Let me tackle all your questions one by one.
Between Isuzu and Hilux the Toyota is an easy choice.It is from a segment above.The 4x4 hardware ( Diff locks,ATRAC ), larger engine ,more premium interiors justify the extra cost.Toyota after sales is on another level while the isuzu network is quite inconsistent and patchy.
However do note that both trucks are equally reliable.
Between the std and high Hilux variants i did not feel that the premium (~8 lakhs on road) was justified and hence went for the std variant.The AC is more than sufficient for a small cabin.It is the same AC that does duties in the fotuner.You will feel the lack of rear ac vents only for the first few minutes.After that you wouldnt notice the difference.
However the more pressing matter for you should be that do you really need a Hilux.Please note that the driving experience of my fortuner and my Hilux are a world apart even though they share the engine and gearbox.The Fortuner drives like a car with far better engonomics .The fortuner can be the only car in your garage but the Hilux I wouldnt advise.Had written a draft of the review of my std Hilux but did'nt post it.Will complete it and post it by this weekend.It will give you a more complete picture.In the meantime any further queries I am happy to answer.
P.S.: The std Hilux can be bought on a white number plate but the speed restictor of 80kph will be there.Same can be removed for a small fee but you will loose the warranty.
Despite having danger of online mob lynching on a car enthusiasts forum, I'll try to put a different opinion.:eek:
As you said you don't have a farm, don't off-road,
have a toddler, a gem called XUV 500 and going for an impulsive buying, I'll rather suggest you don't buy either. Surprised! , well put some more money if possible and buy a small farm in a remote area. You'll have a place for small offroading, a place where kids would enjoy a weekend, an appreciating asset over long period. Postpone the impulsive car buying for few years. You and your family will enjoy this for much longer period.
Just my advice, please don't kill me ;)
Happy driving
Originally Posted by sudanmohit
(Post 5954621)
Despite having danger of online mob lynching on a car enthusiasts forum, I'll try to put a different opinion.:eek:
have a toddler, a gem called XUV 500 and going for an impulsive buying, I'll rather suggest you don't buy either. Surprised! , well put some more money if possible and buy a small farm in a remote area. You'll have a place for small offroading, a place where kids would enjoy a weekend, an appreciating asset over long period. Postpone the impulsive car buying for few years. You and your family will enjoy this for much longer period.
Happy driving |
100% agree with your sentiment. I love my hilux but sometimes i do wonder what if i had invested it elsewhere. But also, The heart wants what the heart wants.
(Post 5954621)
I'll well put some more money if possible and buy a small farm in a remote area. You'll have a place for small offroading, a place where kids would enjoy a weekend, an appreciating asset over long period. |
I second this. Also, may be that will kick in the off-road/farm enthuisast in you :).
My pick would also be a Hilux STD. Hilux has a lot of aftermarket accessories to make your ride pleasant and for sure better than the factory one. The resale could also be more for Hilux than the Vcross unless ISUZU suddenly decides to drop a new model.
(Post 5953442)
. |
Hilux all the way. And since you live in Chandigarh which is a stones throw away from Himachal, there is a LOT of exploring you can.do with this rig!
(Post 5954621)
Happy driving |
Oh boy, that is such a wise take. Something that has kept me from buying the 2nd car since a past few years.
But ab to dil ki chal gayi ek baar ..
(Post 5953442)
Looking for some help deciding between two pickup trucks |
I don't understand your use case, you want to blow up 35/40 L on a bumpy, with spartan interiors pickup, and drive around your family with toddler and senior citizens? Son, you're gambling with their lives. Get yourself a safe decent car/SUV, and get yourself a beatup pickup for lagaoing gaadii.
By the way what other cars are in your garage/family?
(Post 5954621)
Happy driving |
I dont own a Hilux, but I have seen a couple on the road. And they look desirable. But the Hilux's I have seen on the roads were used as workhorses for transporting some furniture or some other items on the footbed. This is actually how the Hilux is used in foreign countries, but in India, Toyota is marketing them as lifestyle products.
Im more of a practical person living in rural areas. To me driving around a 5m long SUV on narrow roads is quite a hassel and not for everyone including me.
Not to hurt any sentiments of existing Hilux owners, but I will say this, these cars are amazing.