Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 16th May 2011, 22:13   #1

Frankenstein operates the CJ6

Hello Jeepers , i have bought a Kaiser civilian Jeep 6 (CJ6) recently .

It has to be restored from scratch.

Mods planned so far

6 point roll cage ( to hold the animal inside )

Diesel engine

5 speed 4wd gearbox

33"tires

Bucket seats

A/C

Leaving it for body work this week.

Meanwhile have to go hunting for the engine and tranny.

There is a problem in selecting axles , the front 57"axles will hit the mudguard with the bigger tires , suggestions needed.

Posting the pics of the JEEP with 33" tires kept next to the fender.
Frankenstein operates the CJ6-img_3740.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-img_3741.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-img_3742.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-img_3743.jpg  

Frankenstein is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th May 2011, 23:07   #2

Re: Frankenstein operates the CJ6

Frankie the 33" tyre is overkill for such a vehicle, trust me on this. 31" is more than enough.
Jaggu is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st June 2011, 12:25   #3

Hey Franky, just curious to know of any update on this restoration? Would love to see photographs on the progress
Old 1st June 2011, 20:29   #4

I am busy , restoration postponed for a while .
Old 3rd October 2011, 10:55   #5

The Engine (NISSAN RD28) and the Isuzu MUA5 GB (single unit) is going to Bharath motors today.Thinking to turbo charge intercool this engine. Once they are done with the adapter plate which is going to take atleast 20 days , the Jeep shall go for body work which would take 3 to 4 months which includes.

Engine and gearbox mounts
M38A1 Fuel tank to be fabricated.
Rollcage
Winch bumpers (front and rear)
Body throwing and denting
Chassis repair
Rear center seats
Rock sliders
Exhaust
The major and most time consuming part in this restoration is body work.

I collected Light force lights ,winches,Hilift jack etc.

Yet to buy sports seats
Wrangler fender flares
33 OR 35" tires
4" lift kit needs to be imported along with some more stuff.

Last edited by Frankenstein : 3rd October 2011 at 10:57.
Frankenstein is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th November 2011, 00:37   #6

hi sandeep,
i came across a cj6 hardtop fitted with a xd3p engine & 4wd kmt90 gearbox.Missing parts are front park lamps,rear lights,steering wheel and meter.Body needs little tinkering and a new coat of paint.What should be the best offer for it as the owner insists i make an offer.Plz let me know asap.I know it is difficult to asses without pics but just an estimate will do.Help would be greatly appreciated
Old 6th November 2011, 11:02   #7

Originally Posted by sammyaulakh View Post
hi sandeep,
i came across a cj6 hardtop fitted with a xd3p engine & 4wd kmt90 gearbox.Missing parts are front park lamps,rear lights,steering wheel and meter.Body needs little tinkering and a new coat of paint.What should be the best offer for it as the owner insists i make an offer.Plz let me know asap.I know it is difficult to asses without pics but just an estimate will do.Help would be greatly appreciated
Sammyaukakh, the market here is around 1.3 to 1.9L. They come with hard top in India mostly. You cannot retain the hard top as it will make lot of noise and rattle away to glory. Taillights, meters , head lights etc even if they are there , you have to buy new ones . Please post the pics of the engine bay, leaf springs and chassis . I feel the CJ6 is very heavy , it was struggling with the hurricane and Xdp4.9. If you are planning to keep it petrol, then buy a Jeep with the fire wall not cut.

Last edited by Frankenstein : 6th November 2011 at 11:06.
Old 7th November 2011, 13:20   #8

Frankie,
You mentioned in the first post a problem regarding the 57" axles. Have you been able to resolve the same? What did you work out?
regards
salil
Old 9th November 2011, 20:30   #9

Originally Posted by scphanse View Post
Frankie,
You mentioned in the first post a problem regarding the 57" axles. Have you been able to resolve the same? What did you work out?
regards
salil
I have found a few solutions but i dont want to solve it .
I have bought a 51"okbj .

This is what happens. When you put the 57" , the arch of the mud guard protruding down hits exactly in the middle of your tyre.
Even if you have a 2 inch lift , the atriculation wont be more than a stock Jeep.

You have to either go flat fender or any other custom chop fenders. They will look horrible if not done properly .
I dont want to cut fenders in the American.

The leaf spring saddles are placed wider in the 57"okbj since the NGCS in which it comes is wider.
We have to remove the leafspring mounts and re weld them a bit narrower , now doing that in the front axle is not a good idea, and mis alignment and thats it.

The narrow leaf springs in the pre NGCS seem too narrow and out of balance with the wide axle .The Jeep is too wavy .

The Jeep looks junglee with a wide axle , narrow body .

Steering becomes super hard , it needs the MRCBT box which again is an alteration.

All this was observed in my friends 2000 MM550 .

Overall i feel the disadvantages outweigh the advantages .
There may be exceptions like Arka who may have got it right , but i cant do jugaad. Our Jeeps are perfect .

The guy who does the body work is not good at doing custom tyre carrieres bumpers and fenders. After the body work , spending 1.2L and again 80K for the extra metal is not worth and 51 is more than enough.

I still feel the 57 " axle belongs to the NGCS and there is a reason it is not used in the pre ngcs .

Behram hai and spike can explain the technical part .
Frankenstein is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th November 2011, 10:23   #10

Originally Posted by Frankenstein View Post
The leaf spring saddles are placed wider in the 57"okbj since the NGCS in which it comes is wider.
We have to remove the leafspring mounts and re weld them a bit narrower , now doing that in the front axle is not a good idea, and mis alignment and thats it.

The narrow leaf springs in the pre NGCS seem too narrow and out of balance with the wide axle .The Jeep is too wavy .
Hi Sandeep,

Are you sure the Spring Saddle/Mounts needs to be re-welded to a "Narrower" Chassis Track (in Case of the New-Gen Axle 57" or 53")

Arka

Last edited by ex670c : 10th November 2011 at 10:25.
Old 15th November 2011, 08:22   #11

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Hi Sandeep,

Are you sure the Spring Saddle/Mounts needs to be re-welded to a "Narrower" Chassis Track (in Case of the New-Gen Axle 57" or 53")

Arka
For the front 57" axle yes . Rear axle is still the old 550 axle.
Old 15th November 2011, 10:01   #12

Originally Posted by Frankenstein View Post
For the front 57" axle yes . Rear axle is still the old 550 axle.
Hi Sandeep,

The Spring Saddle Centre Bolt position for C-Section Chassis & NGCS is the same.

The Only difference is the Width of the Leaf Spring.

Also in the front the Left(Long Axle) Spring Saddle is welded to the Axle Tube; the Short Axle Saddle is Cast into the Diff Housing.

So if you change one spring saddle the chances of screwing up the Caster/Camber Toe-in are very high.

All you have to do is add spacers to the Leaf Spring Plate to prevent the Leaf Sping U-Clamps from moving.

Arka
Old 20th January 2013, 14:11   #13

A late update. Body work is almost done . The engine i choose finally was the isuzu 4bd 4.L 4 cylinder engine with the kmt 90 gear box with aluminium transfer case.

The 4 engine mounts and 4 gear box mounts are almost done. 4 inch rugged ridge lift is installed. Fly wheel weight is around 36kgs . Got this engine from an excavator (Hitachi ex 60).

It revs upto 4500rpm and develops 22kgm + torque right from idling .

Posting some pics with 31 inch NDMS tires .

Pending work .

Power steering
Roll Cage
35 inch tires
Seats
Fuel tank etc.

Any suggestion and scope for improvement are welcome .
Arka , Bheram , Sudarshan
Frankenstein operates the CJ6-.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-e.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-b.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-c.jpg  

Frankenstein operates the CJ6-d.jpg  

Frankenstein is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th January 2013, 18:04   #14

Is this the kind of look you are going for?
http://gomotors.net/pics/Jeep/jeep-cj-6-03.jpg

I always loved the idea of a big-wheeled and tyred jeep though I'd only have the guts to do it to a MM550. Needless to say, I'll be glued to this thread. :-D
vivekjayasheel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2013, 15:11   #15

What was the approx weight of the engine+starter+alt? Can the chassis take it?