|
| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #1 |
| BHPian Join Date: Oct 2011 Location: Mysore/B'Lore
| Pals, One of my friend (who has very minimal knowledge about cars) has acquired a Jeep (in running condition) from a person (who claims it to be a Willys) who owed money to him. I have not yet got a chance to see the vehicle as it is in Coorg right now. However, there is a picture of the jeep that my friend has sent me. From the looks of the bonnet and the fenders, I feel it's a MM-540/550. However, when I see the side body panel, I contradict my own thoughts. It is known that this jeep is fitted with a Peugeot engine and is in good running condition. Here is a picture that my friend has sent me. ![]() I have asked him to take some more pictures of under-the-hood and under the chassis which he has promised, he will. It would be of great help if anyone could help identifying what Jeep this is or (if it is difficult to identify in just one pic) throw some pointers on what could be possible unique identifiers. PS: I too have very little knowledge about Jeeps and hence have posted it here. Please excuse my dumbness on Jeeps ![]() Mods please merge with an existing thread if this new thread is uncalled for. Thanks in Advance, |
| |
| | #2 |
| BHPian | From the pic, it is CJ500(chassis + tub + firewall +windshield) with MM540 bonnet, grill and fender. It is definately not WILLYS. what is the year of make? |
| | (2)
|
| | #3 | |
| Quote:
Further, my friend is also looking to restore this Jeep into its original condition (ofcourse, once he gets to know what model it is!); Credit of Inspiration - yours truly , | |
| |
| | #4 |
| Newbie Join Date: May 2010 Location: mangalore
| I do not think that it is a MM540/550. Though the bonnet/grille is of MM540/550 the way it is fixed towards the windshield shows that it is a modification. It is not flush with the panel. Secondly from the length also i feel it is shorter than the 540. |
| |
| | #5 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: MUMBAI
| Dear Driving Nomad - this one seems to be a hybrid between a CL and an MM. Almost everything is non-standard and it does not have any value proposition whatsoever. Best regards, Behram dhabhar |
| | (2)
|
| | #6 | |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Mangalore
| Quote:
I am sorry to say that this jeep is not worth 2 lakhs, This looks like a Jugaad job! The body is from a CJ 500. The front grill, bonnet, side mudguards are of the 540. Even the windshield is of CJ 500! The air vent of the CJ 500 still exists behind the mudguards. the 540 never had those. The only thing that does justice to this vehicle are the wheels and the rubber. Not a good bargain in my opinion. | |
| |
| | #7 | |
| Senior - BHPian | Not sure if this is worth settling against the 2L dues. Quote:
This is something that I would be very wary of. If the papers do exist, I am sure they would be available readily with the owner, and he wouldnt have to " promise to search" for it. | |
| | (1)
|
| | #8 | ||||
| Quote:
| ||||
| | (1)
|
| | #9 |
| |
| |
| | #10 |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Cochin
| Won't searching the vehicle details in RTO website help? Kerala RTO has a portal which enables you to find details about the vehicle (in Kerala) by registration number/chassis number(both available to you). Surely other RTO's have the same. It lets you know the make, year of manufacturer, current owner, etc etc. Last edited by nair : 28th June 2012 at 16:03. |
| |
| | #11 | ||
| Quote:
Thanks for your honest opinion. Initially, I had told him that he could get the original bonnet, grill and fenders fitted. He is not inclined towards off-roading and hence converting to a 4x4 was not required. Further in our plan was to get a nice bull-bar (like the one on GTOs) and a better anti-roll bar in place. Do you think it's not worth doing even that much (Considering that he will not sell the Jeep)? The engine and other mechanicals have been serviced and restored about an year ago. Quote:
![]() | ||
| |
| | #12 | |
| Quote:
I have visited places where such vehicles are built, obviously incognito, with a blank expression on my face. Taking me for a sucker, the tall claims I have heard from these guys still makes me LOL. .Best regards, Behram Dhabhar Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 28th June 2012 at 17:06. Reason: add info | |
| | (2)
|
| | #13 |
| Thanks once again sir. Mods: Please close this thread as I have got the information that I needed. Last edited by Driving_Nomad : 28th June 2012 at 17:20. |
| |
![]() |