Old 20th December 2007, 18:48   #1

Looking for Wow factor

Hello Guys ,

My name is Prashant and I put up in New Delhi , Right Now I Drive a Maruti 2006 Swift VXI which I bought from my own hard earned money, and at times I drive Baleno LXI , Maruti 800 and Maruti Zen which are family cars .
I will be getting married early next year after a loooong courtship , my better half knows that I am crazy about anything which has some wheels and a motor in between .

I dont know whats the connection between these 2 things but I want buy another car after I get married ..... I am pretty happy with my cars I just want to buy a car for wooooow factor . And as I am still paying EMI's of my Swift and all my savings will be utilised at the time of marriage I dont have budget for a New Safari .

So I have short Listed 2 options
1. Used Gypsy King
2. Soft-Top Jeep

I will be much more interested in a jeep , but i am completely novice about it , I want something which are bought from auction and then they are restored according your taste and requirement .

Maintenance & After Sales Service (A.S.S.) expectations : I dont want to spend much time in workshop once i get my restored vehicle .
Average distance traveled per month : Max 300 Kms
Where car will be mostly used : City
Chauffer driven / self driven : Self
Whether the vehicle will be shared by other members of family: NO
Any specific requirements from car : Should Have that wow factor

I dont care about the fuel efficiency and resale value as this is going to be my weekend toy .

Please guys pour in your expert comments and pointers will be very helpfull.

Prashant

[/b]
Old 20th December 2007, 21:53   #2

Hey Prashant, Can you please post your budget as it will be helpful.

Only thing I can tell from your post is, although properly restored Jeep has that wow factor, I'm not sure about its A.S.S. On the other hand, maruti A.S.S is one of the best in India. Guess this is a heart Vs head scenario.

You can also consider an used Bolero/Scorpio/Safari, if it comes in your budget.
Old 20th December 2007, 23:08   #3

Originally Posted by blue_pulsar View Post
Hey Prashant, Can you please post your budget as it will be helpful.

Only thing I can tell from your post is, although properly restored Jeep has that wow factor, I'm not sure about its A.S.S. On the other hand, maruti A.S.S is one of the best in India. Guess this is a heart Vs head scenario.

You can also consider an used Bolero/Scorpio/Safari, if it comes in your budget.
Hey Blue

Thanks for replying brother, Bolero/Scorpio/Safari are out of consideration as my budget is 2L max as I am only going to use it on weekends and dont intend to do any off roading .
Old 21st December 2007, 11:09   #4

Think about laying your hands on an army jeep.
Old 21st December 2007, 11:13   #5

Prashant,
If I were you, I would pick a used Gypsy and get it restored/modded (will work out much cheaper than 2L). Since you are going to use it only on weekends and the distance travelled will be only 300 kms a month, it fits the bill. Petrol expenses will be on the higher side, however what you are looking for is the 'wow' factor and no usual Mahindra or Sierra will excite you with driving pleasure (esp as you are used to driving Petrol cars). Mahindra Classic is a good option but is very hard to find in the used cars market (you won't get it very cheap as well).
Beware, the Gypsy has a stiff ride and also spares may be a problem. You have mentioned that you don't want to spend time in the workshop. However, for a used Jeep (<2L) it goes without saying that you will have to take care of it (unlike the Maruthi petrols, which don't really crib for anything other than the fuel and oil - that too very modestly!)

(if you can stretch your budget a bit, go for a used Bolero Invader. However, it lacks engine power)
Old 21st December 2007, 11:43   #6

I remember seeing on a TV program that there's this sardar gentleman somewhere around the NCR who restores jeeps he buys from army auctions, puts in a new engine, completely customizes the jeep to customer tastes and sells it even with a 1 yr warranty.
Old 21st December 2007, 11:54   #7

wow! Is there a similar 'good guy' in Bangalore?

Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
I remember seeing on a TV program that there's this sardar gentleman somewhere around the NCR who restores jeeps he buys from army auctions, puts in a new engine, completely customizes the jeep to customer tastes and sells it even with a 1 yr warranty.
Old 21st December 2007, 12:43   #8

Hey, this idea maybe very very differnt but 2Lacs can get you a Comet Nothing beats the fun of a bike.

Dont buy a 2Lac Safari, since it will be too old, instead get a nice Gypsy. Only the 1.0L will be in your budget though.
Old 21st December 2007, 13:55   #9

For 2 lakhs, U'll easily get a gypsy king if U find one for sale.
A CJ-3B is also a good exclusive vehicle.
Old 21st December 2007, 15:30   #10

IMO its the Gypsy king if ur looking for the Wow factor.. every time i see a gypsy on the road i just go .. Nothing says cool like an open top gypsy with an ffe in that budget.. I too am saving for one.. couple of months and i too will be joining the gypsy club.. hehe
Old 21st December 2007, 18:07   #11

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Hey, this idea maybe very very differnt but 2Lacs can get you a Comet Nothing beats the fun of a bike.

Dont buy a 2Lac Safari, since it will be too old, instead get a nice Gypsy. Only the 1.0L will be in your budget though.

Been there done that brother , kept a yellow GT 250 for a year or so then sold it off because of "fantabulous" service backup from kinetic.

Can anybody tell me whom to contact for used jeeps in delhi .

Some 5 years back when I was in 1st year of my Engineering a surdy friend of mine bought a Jeep from place called "Mayapuri" in delhi .....and god it was so damn sexy Red in colour with extra extra extra extra wide "Kuomho" ( I spelt the name cprrectly i guess) tyres, Fog lamps , Leather seats (May be something else but it looked like leather ) and he told me that it had Some Toyota 3 litre diesel engine with ONLY 3 GEARS and it was quite fasssst . And guess the price 1L

But now the problem is In mayapuri they are not resoring anymore jeeps due to some pollution norms thing .
Old 21st December 2007, 23:40   #12
Sss

Originally Posted by prashant.dinkar View Post

So I have short Listed 2 options
1. Used Gypsy King
2. Soft-Top Jeep

I will be much more interested in a jeep , but i am completely novice about it , I want something which are bought from auction and then they are restored according your taste and requirement .

[/b]
Hi Prashant,

I was in a similar situation about 4 years back, when I was looking a car different from the regular stuff. I was looking for a used Gypsy, however I couldnt find a decent one within my budget of 1.5Lacs.

Eventually I decided to buy a Pajero 2 door, short wheel base version. After searching for 5 months I got one in mumbai for 5 lakhs on road.
Used it for 4 years and 40000kms and had a blast with it. Even though it was over 10 years old the build quality was superb, and it was a very easy SUV to drive in city as well.

So I would suggest looking at older 2 door pajeros, which are more common in NCR than in mumbai, or any older Japneese Car/SUV which makes you go WOW.
Old 22nd December 2007, 00:15   #13

I think there is a thread running in the Market Place forum for sale of military jeeps / gypsies. Check that out and see if it helps.
Old 22nd December 2007, 00:37   #14

I dont think 2 Door pajero will fit in my budget. but still will keep my eyes open for them
Old 22nd December 2007, 00:50   #15

This is what i was talking about

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com