Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th October 2007, 00:52   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Pioneer DEH-P7950UB firmware upgrade

Hi
I just bought this really good HU in gray. However I did notice that the HU was "Made in China" - anyone bought this unit with Bill & Warranty? If yes do you remember where it is was made? (You can find this info on a sticker stuck on the underside of the HU.)

Also when I was playing with it at one point the volume control stopped working (all other functions were working but turning the rotary knob wouldn't do anything). I know I was in the correct mode. Finally I had to reset the HU to get it to work fine. This brings me to the point of asking is it possible to firmware upgrade the S/W on it? I googled for this information and found there is a service manual available which states firmware upgrades are possible - anyone have any idea?

---
San
sansjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2007, 10:11   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

That incident must have been a glitch. Otherwise, Pio HUs don't have too many problems.

What would you expect to be upgraded in the HU if firmware download were to be possible? Since the functions for which the firmware was written are not going to change, and neither is any hardware component swappable / upgradeable, one would not expect any advantage if firmware were to be upgradeable.

The "Made in China" part is not a negative factor, most mass production is outsourced to China; it would have costed at least 100% more had it been manufactured in Japan, 50% more if Singapore. If it were to be designed and manufactured (or a duplicate produced) by a Chinese company, then one would be in muddy waters.

Last edited by DerAlte : 27th October 2007 at 10:16. Reason: Request to Mods: Please delete the subsequent multiple posts
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2007, 12:35   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: new delhi
Posts: 2
Thanked: 0 Times
Default pioneer 7950

hi,
wanted to know if your pioneer headset is bluetooth if yes how do you transfer your phone book need help regarding this. thanks sam

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansjunk View Post
Hi
I just bought this really good HU in gray. However I did notice that the HU was "Made in China" - anyone bought this unit with Bill & Warranty? If yes do you remember where it is was made? (You can find this info on a sticker stuck on the underside of the HU.)

Also when I was playing with it at one point the volume control stopped working (all other functions were working but turning the rotary knob wouldn't do anything). I know I was in the correct mode. Finally I had to reset the HU to get it to work fine. This brings me to the point of asking is it possible to firmware upgrade the S/W on it? I googled for this information and found there is a service manual available which states firmware upgrades are possible - anyone have any idea?

---
San
sameerv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2007, 19:17   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@DerAlte: Thanks for the information. I was a bit apprehensive seeing the "Made in China" sticker. However I wonder if an imitation can really imitate *all* the features and do it so well

@sameerv: This is a UB model (indicating it directly supports USB only). The models that end with BT directly supports Bluetooth. However this model (UB) is BT ready - you would need to buy a BT adaptor for it.
sansjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2007, 13:44   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansjunk View Post
However I wonder if an imitation can really imitate *all* the features and do it so well
Nah, that would mean a direct copy. Rather difficult and uneconomical to do, what with component procurement (especially mask/factory programmable ICs) and software support needed .

Most of the "imitations" are based on older models where there are far less such problems. These "imitations" give urban markets a wide berth and appear in mofussil markets, where chances of detection are very low. Also, in most cases they are visually similar / misleading (not a precise copy), with different internals.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 08:03   #6
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default

[@sameerv: This is a UB model (indicating it directly supports USB only). The models that end with BT directly supports Bluetooth. However this model (UB) is BT ready - you would need to buy a BT adaptor for it.[/quote]


Do you have any idea as to how much the BT adapter should cost?
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 08:30   #7
BHPian
 
gkrishn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 584
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Any one know how to do a one stop "pause" in this HU?
gkrishn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 15:12   #8
BHPian
 
sqwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Madison, USA
Posts: 59
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@sansjunk vbmenu_register("postmenu_608270", true); congrats on you purchase.
I have the same HU but its made in Malaysia.
I bought it in gray for 9.5K around 2 months back.
How much did you pay for it?
sqwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 21:06   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@sqwall: I purchased gray and paid 9.2K for it. Amazing HU. I am currently looking to hook up a 2.5" 5 Gig HDD lying around with an enclosure so I don't have to fill up my car with CDs

@gkrishn: Looks like you cannot pause (or do an att) from the face plate. However on the remote the PGM button does pause (for USB and CD source).

@sabertooth: I think this adaptor is hard to find and if I am not wrong costs upwards of 5 K (remember seeing this price on this forum somewhere)
sansjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2007, 14:43   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

for pausing, use multicontrol to select "pause" in function menu. then press multicontrol again for pausing and releasing.
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2007, 21:32   #11
BHPian
 
dr chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 94
Thanked: Once
Default

Guys how do i use a USB with this HU ? do i get a cable or something and plug it to the iPod connector in the HU?
dr chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2007, 19:01   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@dr_chill: It's a breeze to use USB on this HU. There is a small dongle cable at the back and they provide you an extension cable - you just plug in your USB memory stick to the end of it and your off Note: all this advice applies to 7950UB (UB is important since that is the only model currently in India that is USB ready).

Also if you are interested in hooking up a more greedy-for-power USB device (such as a USB enclosure containing a hard-drive) you'll be on the edge since the HU can supply max 500 mA while your enclosure demands about 500 mA so sometimes it works and sometimes not. In this case you would have to power it externally. I had this problem and sorted it out by doing some nifty wiring. If time permits I'll put up what I did on the DIY sub-forum


@panky12345: Yes I forgot that way coz its so cumbersome - they should at least provided a ATT button on the face plate.
sansjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2007, 22:54   #13
BHPian
 
dr chill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: delhi
Posts: 94
Thanked: Once
Default

Sansjunk : sorry i just found out that mine was 6950 and not 7950ub anyway i will be going to driven tomorrow and hopefully i'll get the cable thanks anyway my mistake.
dr chill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2007, 23:06   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
kuttapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,155
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

If one can press a button on the faceplate, how difficult is to turn the volume knob all the way left?

Anyway, there is an option wire provided, which can mute the HU when connected. Check it out. I was thinking of adding an extra switch on the dash to enable this functionality, but never got around to it.
kuttapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2007, 09:12   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

I got a steering remote installed, and it has a mute button. Problem Solved!!!!
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford SYNC: Firmware upgrade made easy for cars too! bejoy The International Automotive Scene 5 12th December 2014 17:20
Looking for a Pioneer DEH-P8450MP CD/MP3 receiver aalaap Shifting gears 9 14th June 2010 14:22
Pioneer AVH-P4000DVD or Pioneer DEH-P7900BT abhisheksircar In-Car Entertainment 32 7th December 2009 05:52
Speakers For Pioneer DEH-P7650MP Irwin In-Car Entertainment 13 15th December 2005 10:29
Pioneer DEH-P4650MP Dippy In-Car Entertainment 14 11th November 2004 12:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:42.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks