Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th June 2008, 11:30   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Thanks Sankar & SirAlec, Actually thats exactly my plan my fear is if it has two 512 mb rams then one would get wasted :(

No heat issues so far.

Btw whats the max temperature that should be fine for the laptop?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008, 12:44   #17
BHPian
 
vinayvtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 390
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Hi Team, when ever you buy a branded computers you will get memory in pairs... thats because it improves the performance of the system will be boosted speed (we normal users will not be able to make that out, any one in testing can explain us better) and the other general reason is if one memory goes bad still you can work on computer another one and main reason is that memory's are expensive..... also while upgrading the memory check on the existing Mhz and the upgrading once Mhz... if you buy a higher Mhz memory then better change the existing one or install the new one alone, because if the existing memory is of low Mhz than the new one will step down...
vinayvtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 00:30   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Pairs are used to utilize the FSB to max. Its called dual channel mode.

Well there is no ideal temp of any CPU, it depends upon the computing work it is doing, well normally for AMD it ranges from 30 to 55 degree.

PS: If you have V3000 series with nvidia mobo (V3xxx) please check that these lappy has very high failure rate. i came across atleat 5 of them including one of my frens.

v3000 being repaired..
Name:  v3000 failure.jpg
Views: 330
Size:  98.0 KB

Last edited by SirAlec : 14th June 2008 at 00:32.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 13:35   #19
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

thats some good info.

I have Dv5000 series HP AMD laptop any issues with these?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008, 14:04   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

DV5000 i havn't came across, but combination of AMD dual core with nvidia mobo, in v3000 had many issues..
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2008, 11:42   #21
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

oops its DV6000 series & & mine is a DV6502 AU
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2008, 09:33   #22
BHPian
 
wischvuanaudh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: aleppey
Posts: 104
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Even my compaq had the same problem..not only when kept at bed,but also while using it in lap leaving the air-vents open.But one day,i re-installed my WindowsXP and the problem got solved.Now its not getting over-heated.Can someone explain me why?
wischvuanaudh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over heating ikon govigov Technical Stuff 12 12th April 2015 06:16
Power Steering and Over heating Problems In my Sierra sag_kv Technical Stuff 8 9th May 2008 12:42
Driver Problem - Presario C500 (C501TU) planet_rocker Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 23rd February 2008 15:09
Over Heating Problem lancer_maniac Technical Stuff 13 13th December 2006 20:32
Over Heating Amp i Guess. HELP saint_sinner In-Car Entertainment 8 16th October 2006 14:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 11:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks