Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st January 2012, 23:54   #1
BHPian

Does Kolkata Have The Worst Traffic in India?

Hello folks,

There has been some OT discussions on my personal ownership thread so decided to start this topic. I have been driving in this city for over 10 years now and frankly I have never found such utterly unruly road users anywhere in India. Sure most Indian cities have its traffic in pretty bad shape but to me having been in so many cities in India and the world I find Kolkata really takes the cake in road madness.

Its not that there are not enough roads in Kolkata, specially when you compare the volume of traffic @ peak hour which is not much compared to the other metros in India. But most of the roads have been encroached upon by a myriad of professions and reasons. Add to that the last 34 years of rule or misrule of the Left Front which kind of promoted anything or any group which could form a union of their own. Hence we have bus unions, taxi unions, auto rickshaw unions, rickshaw unions, hawkers union, beggars union, parking attendants union, the list is endless. Hell we even have a union for the cops . What the cops go on strike when the crime rate increases and there are too many criminals?

Now add to that the political hues for each type of union and then keeping track of which union is striking for what is a divine challenge. All these unions descend upon the roads of Kolkata to cause havoc. Here are the salient features.