Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 21st July 2008, 21:53   #1
DKG

Offroad around Hyderabad

Jeeps and Superbikes have something in common. Both can be extreme sports. There are inherent dangers. But when you know your steed and your limits the fun you can have is unrivalled.

For the past two years I had been riding every Sunday morning with my biker buddies. Its been simply phenomenal! So when the Sunday of June 22nd 2008 I broke the news to my buddies that I would be excusing myself from the ride to explore some terrain for offroading they unanimously rejected my proposal saying that was inexcusable. So we made a compromise. I said I'll organise a nice hot south Indian breakfast in a jungle near Vikharabad and will follow the pack in my truck and then later head onto the offroading with a friend. They reluctantly agreed.

So we headed off early morning, the bikes and my truck

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0019.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0020.jpg

We reached the top of the Ananthgiri hills and I organised a hot meal for the gang from a local udipi restaurant in Vikharabad nearby. The flat bed of my truck served as a fab dining table for 12 !!

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0025.jpg

After breakfast I waited for my friend Shams of Jeep Thrills Hyderabad to join me. He arrived in his Jeep looking every bit the quintessential offroader. Like those who were born to ride. He was joined by his friend Hussain, who we christened the lone ranger as he turned out to be a great scout.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0066.jpg

I parked my truck away from the tarmac hidden behind a small mound and I jumped in with Shams to explore the countryside.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0027.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0029.jpg

After a while we came upon what looked like a forest trail, one that didn't seem like anyone had been up it for a long long time. We were to discover that soon

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0034.jpg

At one point just a couple of feet away was a good 10-12 feet drop. Thank god the monsoons hadn't set in and we risked passing that spot.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0036.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0038.jpg

The vegetation was growing thicker and thicker as we went uphill. As we scouted on foot for what was left of an old trail it was a case of now you see it and now you don't for our Jeep

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0039.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0040.jpg

Midway we came upon a difficult section which entailed going up a slope with a lot of small loose rocks strewn all over.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0041.jpg

...to be continued
Old 21st July 2008, 22:17   #2
DKG

With a lot of to and fro manuevering we aligned the Jeep to the slope and what a sight it was as it chugged along digesting rocks as it went up the hill in a cloud of dust.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0042.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0043.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0044.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0045.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0046.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0047.jpg

The thrill of overcoming an obstacle such this incline was shortlived as we found ourselves faced with thicker forest cover and no trail in sight

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0048.jpg

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0049.jpg

There were times when as I held a thorn bush branch away Shams would bend below the wheel to clear it !!

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0050.jpg

We tried our best to find a way but no luck. It must've been a few years since this trail was last used. It was completely overgrown and we were in no mood to cut out way through to the top which was just 50 yards away. We had to beat a retreat.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0051.jpg

That was some experience!!
Old 21st July 2008, 22:18   #3

hmmmm another thriller in making. Waiting for continuation.

EDIT: OH i see more posts happening..
Old 21st July 2008, 22:57   #4
DKG

Once out of the thicket we headed back to where my truck was parked and explored the countryside further till we came upon this lovely lake.

After a round of dust and thorns and in-your-face rude vegetation this was like coming upon cheesecake. We all had these silly smiles across our faces as we took in the vista and posed for photographs, oh and our cars posed too.
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0054.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0055.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0056.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0057.jpg

The lone ranger had to get in. After all his feet were overheating with the scouting he had done on the trail

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0058.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0059.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0060.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0061.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0062.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0063.jpg

Quality time with the family in pristine surroundings.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0064.jpg

One of the most soothing sights in my travels across India is farm land, be it tilled and ready like this or lush with produce. There's a sense of industry so beautiful about agriculture. The soil being tilled, the produce harvested, the trucks waiting to cart it away. Not the ugly stacks of furnaces that we always relate to as industry!

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0065.jpg

As we drove back up the Ananthgiri hill we were reminded of its beauty. Love that red soil.

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0067.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0068.jpg

We discovered a nice extreme rock climbing section just along this trail. We figured we'd have to attempt it only when we have the Jeep tied to another Jeep up ahead or a tree. You don't want to fall on yourself 'wheelie style" in a Jeep like Shams'

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0070.jpg
Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0071.jpg

The lone ranger signing off until next time....

Offroad around Hyderabad-img_0073.jpg

Last edited by DKG : 21st July 2008 at 23:09.
Old 21st July 2008, 23:59   #5

DKG ji i am game for any sunday for drives or rides like this please send me a pm i will attend it for sure, i will pm you with further details i just loved the jeep and the tata, and the super bikes, one of them is on my long time list to own thanks in advance.

just love the spirit of off roading, and nice pics and report.
Old 22nd July 2008, 00:11   #6

That was a really nice pictorial DKG! Looking forward to the next installment!
Old 22nd July 2008, 01:23   #7

DKG saab, any such plans for some saturday - lemme know. I typically fly back every saturday wonlee.

Lovely offroad. Wish I was there.

That said, where's your pic? Wouldn't hurt. Now now. Out with it.
Old 22nd July 2008, 07:49   #8

As we drove back up the Ananthgiri hill we were reminded of its beauty. Love that red soil.
And I bet those KF bottles also turned red because of soil around... ;-)
Lovely narrative and pictorial.
Old 22nd July 2008, 09:39   #9
DKG

Originally Posted by sudev View Post
And I bet those KF bottles also turned red because of soil around... ;-)
Now that's one thing I am very clear about, never drink and drive!! Besides I don't drink . Those were some tourists on bikes.

Rider60 and Phamilyman it will be a pleasure to have you gentlemen join in. Will let you know when we are out next.

Mr. Sudev and Ishan, glad you enjoyed it. Many more such reports to come!!

Last edited by DKG : 22nd July 2008 at 09:45.
Old 22nd July 2008, 11:54   #10
rippergeo

nice thread.
wanted to draw attention to the pics of the jeep climbing the rock strewn incline.
the initial pic looking down at the jeep from the top of the incline gives a very good idea of the gradient to be dealt with. I'd be scared to walk down that incline. but, the following pics dont convey the seriousness of the incline. which is a pity, because that climb looks plenty tough.
but those pictures get across the action well with the dust flying and the exhaust smoke. would have been nice to get some videos of the climb

Old 22nd July 2008, 12:00   #11
DKG

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
the initial pic looking down at the jeep from the top of the incline gives a very good idea of the gradient to be dealt with. but, the following pics dont convey the seriousness of the incline
Very true. Actually I was walking up behind the Jeep so being close the incline is not apparent. Infact on this stretch Shams must have shredded atleast half a kg of tyre rubber. Those rocks were mean on the tyres. Poor chap had to get a new set of tyres after this trip!

Agree video is the way to capture action

Last edited by DKG : 22nd July 2008 at 12:01.
Old 22nd July 2008, 12:05   #12

DKG,

Nice adventure!! Your truck looks really good. Simple and and purposeful. Never knew rims and tyres will make so much of difference to a regular 207DI EX. Shams seemed to have donea good amount of offroading!
Where is that lake? Reminded me of chilkur lake. Missing hyderabad already.

Have fun!!
Old 22nd July 2008, 12:21   #13
DKG

Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
Never knew rims and tyres will make so much of difference to a regular 207DI EX.
I think on any car the appeal goes up by 25% when you give it a set of goodlooking rubber and rims. These rims are off new Safaris which get traded in when owners put in new alloys. I got that set for Rs 1500!!

The improvement in traction is amazing. I fling this truck through corners like its a sports car and the rear stays planted. Having stiff suspension it also corners flat. It really has become a sports truck

Shams seemed to have donea good amount of offroading!
Where is that lake? Reminded me of chilkur lake. Missing hyderabad already.
You can say that again. That day was a real workout for Shams and his Jeep. In the end he managed to straddle a ridge and bottomout and I had to use the truck to yank it free. You can imagine the ridge for a short chassis like this to bottom out!

The lake is just west of Ananthgiri hills in Vikharabad. I think its call Metupalli cheruvu. The other is Kotepalli cheruvu.

Last edited by DKG : 22nd July 2008 at 12:23.
Old 22nd July 2008, 12:39   #14

You got a great looking truck; tyre & wheel combo have transformed the look of an otherwise ordinary looking Tata. I see that its commercially registered (yellow plates), so you use it for lugging cargo?

Your friends CJ is a stunner. I love military green Jeeps. I presume you knew your way around that forest, else it would have been difficult to find your way out....the Jeep seems to be in the middle of nowhere in some pictures!! Unless you were close to urbanisation, always a good idea to take another 4x4 along, DKG.

Superb report & pictures. Thanks for sharing.
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:08   #15
DKG

You got a great looking truck; tyre & wheel combo have transformed the look of an otherwise ordinary looking Tata. I see that its commercially registered (yellow plates), so you use it for lugging cargo?
I bought this truck as a multi purpose utility vehicle. To lug my VFR 800 over long distances, to cart my vintage car restoration materials to workshops around town for odd jobs I cannot do at home, to carry the truck camper I am constructing at home designed specifically for this load bed, and to use it for general purpose utility work for a small farmhouse I have outside the city. Oh and not to forget some makedo offroading till I treat myself to a Gurkha

I tried my level best and literally pleaded with the Commissioner RTA to allow me private reg but they wouldn't have any of it. So I had no choice but to register it as a commercial vehicle. Brand new at 4 lacs onroad this truck was huge VFM.

Those radials are japanese OE TLC tyres 275/70R16 that cost Rs 25k, add Rs 15k for a ICE and Rs 30K for a/c (which I still need to add) So at under 5 lacs I have a versatile VFM workhorse at home. I managed to get a set of new unused Ford Escort bucket seats for Rs 4000 for the truck which I still need to install

I presume you knew your way around that forest, else it would have been difficult to find your way out
We were a 30 minute walk from habitat so it was relatively safe and the whole forest is not more than 5 square miles! But I do agree its always advisable to go with one other offroader in case of emergency.

Last edited by DKG : 22nd July 2008 at 13:10.