![]() | #46 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
@ Soumya - you've been given a VRS.. You may continue to work pro-bono with Guru.. I think Amit was new to the group - atleast I had met him for the first time. Lets go easy on speculations. Its a lot easier to just ASK a question and hope it gets answered rather than ASSUMING. | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #47 | |||||||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I have never once said that the Thar is a pure bred offroader on its own. I have always said with work done on it, it can be a good offroader. This was a test run on the offroading circuit for it, so that when work starts i know where to improve apon. I agree i have more confidence with the Fortuner as i know her well enough, but the initial otr's i was getting to know the Fortuner and same thing i was doing with the Thar. I had Zero confidence on the Thar and was prepared for the worst and even thought she would break a few bones too. Bhai you have one, why another then? Quote:
That means you should not listen to the spotters and check the path yourself, cause i followed the path told to me. I dont think you would sir, but would love to see it at some point. | |||||||
![]() |
![]() | #48 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Abhi - who was spotting for you? |
![]() |
![]() | #49 |
BANNED ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Panaji - Goa/Bangalore - Karnataka
| ![]() The spotter asked you to reverse half way while in the water? That's not a very bright idea. |
![]() |
![]() | #50 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: mumbai
| ![]() guru i was spotting , as no other spotter was on this side of the water body. spitfire,abhi - your tyres never climbed the steep bank , they just dug in ,with the amount of power the thar has , once the turbo kicks in you just start wheelspinning and loose traction, thats what i think. you were on too much of throttle, and they were spinning out of control and going nowhere. i clearly remember me waiting for u to try right and left and when nothing happend and you couldnt come any further i told you to reverse a little and try another path with momentum as the steep bank had perfect 'slots' dug into them because of the wheelspin and your front tyres would perfectly go into them again and wheel-spin , going nowhere but would dig in even deeper. |
![]() |
![]() | #51 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Chalo guys let it be. Water fording is a pain and if it doesnt have a stone bed, it can turn disasterous any time, with other vehicles digging in further. I am with Soumya, i would have never gone through this muck, purely for getting the CJ all dirty and stinky. Wht im looking at another offroading vehicle? well i want to keep the CJ stock, with NDMS and all and we know the restrictions in some areas due to the tyres,otherwise its a no match SWB. If i can get my hands on another CJ with a diesel id gladly drop the idea of a MM 550 which i am nurturing now. Imagine a CJ with a XD3P, lifted to accommodate 31"-ers, power steering, a/c, and the works ...Killer on and off road!! |
![]() |
![]() | #52 | |
For long I too imagined it, its a CJ 340, XD3P 51" front and rear diffs. Front: disc Rear: LSD A/C Etc. Status:WIP at a brisk rate. Look out for the posting soon. Regards, | |
![]() |
![]() | #53 | |
The 51" front and rear axles, Front: disc Rear: LSD KMT-90 (army) were suggested by Arka and it is his idea I built the Jeep upon. Regards, | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #54 | |
Welcome to the Club 1) Baskar Keshavalu XD3P + 5.38 (FFRA) 2) Doc. Jones XD3P + 5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) 3) Rajkumar.J XD3P + 5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) 4) Zeal Siva XD3P + 5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) 5) Venkat M XD3P + 5.38 (51" Front Track) + PS (FFRA) 6) Siddharth XD3P + 5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) 7) GTO XD3P + 4.88 7) Suresh Stephen XDP4.9+5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) 8) Patrick K XDP4.9 + 5.38 (51" Front Track) (FFRA) I may be missing a out a few from the list. But you are right about the combination, been kicking @&&, and taking names, since March 2006 ![]() Regards, Arka | |
![]() |
![]() | #55 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2006 Location: Greater Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
![]() BTW isnt 72 BHP on a SWB jeep an overkill?. Offroad it goes where others dare to. The other combination I've witnessed is a Isuzu G1 in a SWB jeep with a 5 speed GB and 4WD. That was class purely in terms on NVH. [Ref: TADA 2007 OTR] | |
![]() |
![]() | #56 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2011 Location: Bangalore/hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
But the sad part is we have to move the GB cross member back by a few inches to plonk the isuzu gearbox which in turn kills the break over angle of the short wheel base which it is cherished for. Another combination used among the HYD jeepers is the isuzu GI with the 4 speed Mitsubishi/Kia gearbox, which is slightly shorter than the 5 speed isuzu , with 43/8 crown pinion it rocks offroad, still it cant beat a petrol cj3b ![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #57 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
That is exactly what happened at the OTR. Ibrahim putting his impaired 2WD gypsy into the pit at the very end was Nehra ![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #58 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: mumbai
| ![]() i am also running xD3p but with 4.22 diffs and 32'' tyres still i dont feel any power-loss or incapability. and i agree with gogi , nothing bears a swb |
![]() |
![]() | #59 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: pune
| ![]() Quote:
![]() Quote:
Last edited by Dippy : 14th March 2011 at 19:08. Reason: Back to back posts. Please use the multi quote option instead of creating back to back posts. Thanks | ||
![]() |
![]() | #60 | ||
![]() Seriously im in need of a Diesel off road warrior. Why? not because i find the Cj incapable but its unmatched because of its limited revs, torque and grip (NDMS) but like the feel and dont want to change anything on that. The Diesel Jee i want to make into a monster go anywhere vehicle (will still not venture into neck deep water or muck/dung slush pits). So please keep a look out for me and then advice me. Kunal, trust me, with some of these lots, thats what you need to do as common sense is not very common with some of them. Quote:
I had suggested that if any over testosterone charged individual chooses not to follow the rules and due to that gets stuck then his vehicle should be rescued only after the entire OTR is done with. Till then he could choose to stand next to his vehicle or ride along as a passenger in someone else's vehicle, who prefers to follow the rules. This should be announced at the beginning and strictly enforced, even with some of the older and more matured off roaders. In this way he will learn a lesson and if he chooses not to attend the next one, so be it. | ||
![]() |