Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Search this Thread
Old 15th February 2019, 18:42   #1
BHPian

An 8-year dream realised! My ex-army Mahindra MM550 NGCS

Yes, you read it right! I have been dreaming of buying/restoring/owning a Jeep since around 2011.

Preface
After joining Team-BHP, errr... actually even before my membership was accepted (about 2 years of reading through our 4x4 threads as a non-member), I used to be simply amazed and excited about 4x4s and M&M Jeeps in particular.

The Jeep bug had had me, and I really wanted one to call my own. Around that time, there was @Sreejeshmp's earlier MM-550 and @Samurai's CL-340 on sale as were numerous other astronomically priced restored MM-550s in the market. As reasonable as Sreejesh's and Samurai's jeeps were priced, I couldn't manage the Vit-M due to a lot of unforeseen incidents in the family and couldn't buy either of them.

An year later, I started to closely follow army auctions and would only re-assure myself that I would gratify myself when it would be the right time to do so. Had multiple chats/calls with @JerryCan and still couldn't find anything within the shoe-string budget that I had.

By this time I had settled down with my Punto-90HP and the Jeep Project was put on the back-burner.

The Last Six Months

The Punto is 7.5 years old now. Has done about 1,45,000km, and still drives like a new car. There is no perceivable loss in pick-up, the engine is still smooth, silent (compared to other diesels) and fuel-efficient and there have been no rattles inside the cabin.

A couple of issues I have faced with the Punto were:
  1. The Blue&Me gave up on me about six months ago and I replaced it with a humble JVC unit (with which the Steering mounted controls don't work). You'll learn what this can do in a minute.
  2. Around 1,40,000Km, when I was on a highway, the turbo suddenly refused to kick-in, no matter what I did. Figured it was a vaccuum cylinder which was the culprit and got it fixed.