Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 23rd July 2010, 00:19   #31

I've recently changed my job and now have to travel ~150 km per day. From Valliyur to Kulashekaram (Deep down South Tamil Nadu). The roads are very bad and lots of bridgework, etc. being done. I am unable to commute in a regular car. NHC and Fiesta scraped bottoms badly and Fusion just managed it.
Unfortunately I cannot use the fusion as it's my FIL's and he needs it.
I am currently doing it on my trusty Suzuki Samurai mobike, but am harassed by each and every guy in uniform thinking I am a terrorist as I wear a jacket and a Helmet. 2 wheeler riders here ride with only a dirty lungi.
I will be attached to this hospital for 2 years and need a mode of transportation for this period. Bus is ruled out as I have to take 3 buses and can take upto 6 hours oneway (My driver did it once).
I have seen quite a few jeeps around here. Most are for an asking price of <50K. Now I know nothing about jeeps and would like to know what to look for in a jeep. The various models and a history of M&M jeeps is not available. I have searched a lot of threads but am unable to find any data.
History of Mahindra and My JEEP gives some history but woefully inadequate.
I need just a few pointers as I will be buying one within 2-3 days. Mobiking is killing my back.
Old 23rd July 2010, 07:06   #32

Originally Posted by wildsdi5530 View Post
I need just a few pointers as I will be buying one within 2-3 days. Mobiking is killing my back.
How do you know that the Jeep *wont* kill your back? Get one from a friend or even hire one and drive it around for a while before you get one.
Old 23rd July 2010, 08:35   #33

On bad roads even Jeep can kill your back. But less than a motorcycle.
Old 23rd July 2010, 10:08   #34

Another darn misconception is people think Jeeps are indestructible - what with the people-mover/jungle trail vehicle stereotype. You have to understand that this was the *only* thing available around 20 years back which was dirt cheap and easy to fix. So people did not mind fixing it every night. You drive like @ 40kmph over bad roads every day, and you'll be fixing your jeep every night.

The Jeep is not the fix for bad roads. There are other vehicles for this. The jeep is a fix for *no-roads* taken at fragile speeds to maintain the overall reliability of a WW2 Relic.
Red Liner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2010, 11:35   #35

Originally Posted by wildsdi5530 View Post
...have to travel ~150 km per day. From Valliyur to Kulashekaram (Deep down South Tamil Nadu). The roads are very bad and lots of bridgework, etc. being done. I am unable to commute in a regular car. ...
Considering the points highlighted above, I think a used Bolero is what will suit you best. The longer wheelbase and softer suspension (compared to regular Jeeps) will be advantageous.

Last edited by Blue Thunder : 23rd July 2010 at 11:37.
Old 23rd July 2010, 14:54   #36

Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
What is included in the 2.5-3L cost? I have seen a few restoration threads where the total cost (including the price for the jeep) was around 1 L. Wouldn't it also depend on what parts worked and what didn't ?....
Sorry to disappoint you but it just can't be possible! And even if you happened to see any thread, check whether the jeeps are used frequenty, i doubt that. Prices of base/auctioned jeeps have shot up for the last few years and even in Mayapuri you won't get a non-working 540/550 in a range less than 70-80k. And then comes the question of restoring it where you have choices of used vs brand new parts, genuine vs desi parts etc etc. And for a vehicle to have a daily drive reliability, you can't afford to run around garages every other day! To prevent that there has to be a certain standard of the overall restoration job and that is bound to cost you much more.
Old 23rd July 2010, 22:18   #37

@ Blue Thunder A used bolero would be over my budget of 1 Lakh.
@ Red Liner A jeep may be bad for my back, but at least there is the safety of 4 wheels on the ground. and I don't need to wear gear that makes me look like a terrorist.
Old 23rd July 2010, 22:46   #38

Thanks a lot guys for all the suggestions. I have noted them, and although I can't promise to follow them all, I understand your concerns and appreciate them.

A used Bolero is out of question as it's over my budget. The last few posts have brought up another little nagging doubt in the back of my mind. For potholed roads, which is the better suspension setup, a coil spring independent one as found on most hatches and sedans, or leaf springs as found on the Sumo and other UVs? While my Maruti 800 and today the Santro seem to brave the craters on the road quite well, I used to see Sumos with the rear leaf springs broken or sagging miserably a few years back in the rainy days.

Coming back to the topic of Jeeps, I guess right now the prudent thing would be to just sit back and wait.
Old 24th July 2010, 03:57   #39

Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
...While my Maruti 800 and today the Santro seem to brave the craters on the road quite well, I used to see Sumos with the rear leaf springs broken or sagging miserably a few years back in the rainy days.
Sumo/Spacio is a load to steer especially when your tyres get some wear on them. One in your price range would be old and it would constantly whack you for 200 rupees here, 500 there in an endless variety of nagging maintenance problems. The front suspension constantly comes out of alignment and you go through tyres rather quickly up front. You will go through tie rod ends and ball joints at an alarming rate if you feed it a constant diet of rough roads and pot holes. Rear suspension would not be a problem for you. The sagging comes from taxi over-loading and lack of maintenance. It does need constant greasing and it squeaks and complains on every turn or bump if you neglect it for a short time.

On the plus side, seat position and visibility is great, there is a lot of glass. The 3.0L motor is absolutely bullet proof and the drive train is strong. People respect its size and get out of your way. Roadside mechanics know the vehicle and its idiosyncracies.

Given your budget, Maruti is still a good option. You have many service options with Maruti.

Last edited by DirtyDan : 24th July 2010 at 03:59.
Old 25th July 2010, 00:17   #40

I saw a beat up Armada for sale. It's in running condition though. What's the difference b/w armada and armada grande? Does it come in 4x4 version? Things to look for before buying one?
Old 25th July 2010, 08:55   #41

Originally Posted by DirtyDan View Post
Given your budget, Maruti is still a good option. You have many service options with Maruti.
My BiL had a Sumo, then a Spacio and now an Indica and he swears by their reliability and low maintenance. So is it again a case of select vehicles having a defect than the entire product as such?

Maruti might be a good option, but I have already upgraded from another Maruti. Also except the Swift/Desire, they don't have a diesel vehicle. As I don't want to go for a petrol vehicle or Swift/Desire as a model, Maruti is ruled out for now. Unless they come up with something that gives 22kmpl with petrol in city driving and costs around 2L and is as spacious as the Santro.

What kind of maintenance would be required for a Jeep, either a CJ-series or an MM-series? Someone mentioned tightening of bolts. Which bolts are these? Does the suspension need to be checked every now and then? What sort of interval is that, a weekly check or a monthly check or each time you change your diesel/oil filters and oil (which would typically be 5000 kms) ?

One thing I am surprised about is everyone is raving about the Jeeps they own (no doubt off-road), but when I am asking opinions on buying a used one, everyone is unanimous in trying to steer me away from it. While I do understand that you all wish the best for me or any other member asking you for help, what I don't understand is no one seems to be offering any concrete data on the Jeeps, such as what's the cost / periodic maintenance one is looking at when deciding to own a Jeep.

What would be the fuel efficiency of a CJ or MM series Jeep on road?
What would be the oil change interval and approximate cost of the filters?
What other routine checks/maintenance is required (such as suspension check, engine oil level, coolant/water level, brake oil level, gear oil level)?
What are the daily checks you are required to perform (re above)?

In short, what are the things to keep in mind when moving from a modern hatch to an ancient Jeep?

Without these essential details, it becomes difficult to sift through the opinions and find some hard facts.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com