Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 9th March 2011, 21:15   #31

Re: Jeepster's Armada

I am very interested to see how this restoration progresses.

Great job with the narration and the pictures.

Waiting to see more
Old 10th March 2011, 12:00   #32

Dear Nikhil,
Congratulation !!!

Is is not easy job to participate personally and get the desired vehicle in presence of experienced scrap dealers. Hats of to your efforts in getting this 4x4 vehicle.

Hope you will do its modification and restoration wonderfully so that it will become a guideline to our 4x4 community.
Wish you all the best!!

Sanjay
Old 10th March 2011, 12:18   #33

@ 4x4 army , very true

@ Jeepster & 4x4 army , I would love to see both of you competing with each other ( In this restoration ) ,as both of you have just started the whole thing .

I want to see both of you producing best of vehicles in their own class

Best of Luck

Please feel free to ask about any help from my side

Sudarshan
Old 10th March 2011, 12:54   #34

Originally Posted by Jassy1313 View Post
Try to go for SPOA with 32x12.5 r15 tyres and 10j rims..
thanks Jassy!
yes SPOA is on my list but it will be for experiment only & that too after some time.
because currently this will be my daily ride & SPOA ion highway is not recommended.
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Congratulations!
Personally, i had a very bad experience with Armada
thanks SirAlec!
i have grown up with XDP 4.90 & KMT90, so its not a problem to me.
but this combo lacks much needed highway speed for my daily commute.

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
Great job with the narration.
narration & me ,
i am not good in English! (i use English in extreme emergency only )
Originally Posted by 4x4army View Post
get the desired vehicle in presence of experienced scrap dealers. Hats of to your efforts in getting this 4x4 vehicle.
no, hats off for my dad.
it was him to bid the highest amount. (20K more than my bid limit)
Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Please feel free to ask about any help from my side
lol raju bhai, you have helped a lot already.

& as far as competition is concerned there isn't any, as his crawler is mechanically perfect.

Last edited by jeepster : 10th March 2011 at 12:56.
Old 10th March 2011, 13:29   #35

Hi Nikhil,

Congratulations on your JEEP.

Get the JEEP running, do a few OTRs and then upgrade the JEEP over a few years.

Arka
Old 10th March 2011, 13:30   #36

Originally Posted by jeepster View Post
hats off for my dad.
it was him to bid the highest amount. (20K more than my bid limit)

lol raju bhai, you have helped a lot already.

& as far as competition is concerned there isn't any, as his crawler is mechanically perfect.

Wow!!
one must need such encouraging personality behind ! for your dad.

@Sudarshan, you have helped a lot already, and we will ask you our queries if any in future also.

I agree with Nikhil that there is no competition.
Old 10th March 2011, 23:08   #37

narration & me ,
i am not good in English! (i use English in extreme emergency only
Nikhil aka Jeepster,
Your English is absolutely fine to be understood by anyone interested in Jeeps. I am sure people who want to know about Jeeps in all forms are not RATHER "SHOULD NOT" be looking for english classes here. SO, just shoot Sir and let the fun begin.

best wishes
salil

Last edited by scphanse : 10th March 2011 at 23:09. Reason: Typo
Old 11th March 2011, 10:18   #38

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Get the JEEP running, do a few OTRs and then upgrade the JEEP over a few years.
that's my idea for now.
thanks for the tips on FaceBook.
Originally Posted by 4x4army View Post
one must need such encouraging personality behind ! for your dad.
its good for me most of the times.
Originally Posted by scphanse View Post
I am sure people who want to know about Jeeps in all forms are not RATHER "SHOULD NOT" be looking for english classes here.
Old 28th March 2011, 10:47   #39

update: suspension overhaul

installed the bolero di shackles & re arched the front leaf springs.
also found out that i need to change all the leaf spring brackets , because they were not serviced properly by government workshop & now they are damaged.

i have decided to wait for the bracket swap as the damage is already done on the bracket & i am using old tyres for now so no problem of tyre as well.
as i am looking for good workshop for this job.

some pictures.
Jeepster's Armada-dsc03886-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03887-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03890-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03893-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03897-medium.jpg

Name:  DSC03910 Medium.JPG
Views: 3440
Size:  60.4 KB

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03912-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03913-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03914-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03915-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03919-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03921-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03924-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-dsc03925-medium.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-graphic1.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-graphic2.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-x.jpg

Jeepster's Armada-xx.jpg
faulty bracket('s).

removing old bush.

spent : 3800/-
includes- one new leaf spring, all spares, labor, gas cutting+ lathe work.

need another 3000/- for new brackets swap.

Last edited by jeepster : 28th March 2011 at 10:57.
jeepster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2011, 11:20   #40

update: suspension overhaul

installed the bolero di shackles & re arched the front leaf springs.
also found out that i need to change all the leaf spring brackets , because they were not serviced properly by government workshop & now they are damaged.

i have decided to wait for the bracket swap as the damage is already done on the bracket & i am using old tyres for now so no problem of tyre as well.
as i am looking for good workshop for this job.

spent : 3800/-
includes- one new leaf spring, all spares, labor, gas cutting+ lathe work.

need another 3000/- for new brackets swap.
Hi Nikhil,

Instead of swapping the brackets why don't you put a tube (Dia should allow the shackle to pass through it) through the bracket and weld it on the out side with a round Plate/Washer, on either sides.

Like a Spindle.

Removing the bracket can cause alignment issues, when the new bracket is welded.

Arka
ex670c is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2011, 13:17   #41

Removing the bracket can cause alignment issues, when the new bracket is welded.
Hello Nikhil , this is exactly we talked on phone , Now Arka ( ji ) also has the same opinion .

Adding a drawing to explain what I said before , I have done this & it lasts ( on the Land Rover )

Have a look ( I think no need to come to Pune to see this only on a plate )

Jeepster's Armada-bracket-repair-drawing.png

Sudarshan
Old 28th March 2011, 17:14   #42

Originally Posted by Sudarshan View Post
Adding a drawing to explain what I said before , I have done this & it lasts ( on the Land Rover )

@ arka : raju bhai also suggested the same to me, but one (front right) bracket seems to be changed before.

@ raju bhai: thanks for the picture. will be in pune soon.
Old 28th March 2011, 18:00   #43

^^^ let it be so , don't take it out . and forget the use of gas cutter , your chassis will start rusting more rapidly from inside , for which you cant do anything , ( I have gas cutter too & I know how bad it can be ) .

Those silent block removal has a simple effective method also ( but time consuming ) any torch/ arch/flame creating temperature is THE last resort to take anything out .

Root of this problem ( oval holes ) is loose bolts & heavy cambering , keeping the shackle straight ( not keeping the shackle a little angled )

clean this rusty thing with wire brush or no. 80 paper , ( grit disc no 36 or a rough one on angle grinder will also do ) & then use two coats of ICI red oxide over that .

while doing the above do not unnecessarily open the good surface .

I will post few pics of the Angle grinder attachment ( as above) soon , in tools thread

Arka must be having some latest anti rust solution with him though, just ask him

Sudarshan
Old 29th March 2011, 09:53   #44

Please dont use flame welding [EDIT: guess Raju Bhai has mentioned it as gas cutter..i stand corrected] where it can be done otherwise. Unnecessary welding leads to rusting in the adjoining areas!

And please remove those stickers and sun film!!

Last edited by headers : 29th March 2011 at 09:54.
Old 3rd April 2011, 14:25   #45

Dear Nikhil, this is so cool. I just bought an Armada myself and am scratching my brains to see how I can find help and I land myself on this thread. My Armada is a 1994 4X4 model but the previous owner has removed the 4WD gear. I was told I could put it back if I wanted. It has recently been restored with full body paint, chasis paint and solid metal bumpers in the front and rear.

Bad stuff about the vehicle is, the interiors have been completely ignored and its all shoddy. Its got too many stickers on it too. I have removed a couple but some we aren't able to peel off without damaging the paint and hence I have let it stay. Its got a Peugeot engine they say, a 2.2Ltr diesel engine. Did the original vehicle come with such? I am hooked to this thread big time since I would have a look at how you work through your interiors and then perhaps get an idea how I can work with mine. I also have a couple of queries but I shall wait for you to work out these on your vehicle.

Cherio
Champion