Old 18th February 2012, 14:41   #16

Re: Stage 1 ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi

Hello iFuel, I have the JVC avx814 which is a full touchscreen unit & is now integrated with a rear view cam from RD & yes your setup will definitly perform to its full potential after HU upgrade as the processing & other DAC stuff will be miles ahead in the upgraded HU than the stock one. Also the stock HU would not read a large no. of files from the USB. I am very satisfied with the soundstage & is to my tastes & will get better after the initial running in is completed.
Yes, damping has done a sea change to the sound , but still there is a small bit of vibration from the inner trim of rear quarter panel around the sub , but only in high bass songs (like chura liya remix) & that too at high volume. Also they inserted some foams behind these trims & the vibration is a lot better than before.Almost 1/4 of the total cost is taken up by damping alone. Cheers
piyush78 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2012, 11:03   #17

Originally Posted by piyush78 View Post
Hello iFuel, I have the JVC avx814 which is a full touchscreen unit & is now integrated with a rear view cam from RD & yes your setup will definitly perform to its full potential after HU upgrade as the processing & other DAC stuff will be miles ahead in the upgraded HU than the stock one. Also the stock HU would not read a large no. of files from the USB. I am very satisfied with the soundstage & is to my tastes & will get better after the initial running in is completed.
Yes, damping has done a sea change to the sound , but still there is a small bit of vibration from the inner trim of rear quarter panel around the sub , but only in high bass songs (like chura liya remix) & that too at high volume. Also they inserted some foams behind these trims & the vibration is a lot better than before.Almost 1/4 of the total cost is taken up by damping alone. Cheers
Thanks a lot for the info piyush, that helps me narrow down my search for the right double din head unit for my Stage 2 ICE set-up. I went through the feature list for the head unit you have and it looked promising, especially with the option to have the rear view cam integrated with the same
Old 20th February 2012, 13:26   #18

Hello iFuel, yes the JVC 814 is a good choice for HU upgrade no doubt, But IMO you should look at newer models like 849/749 , since these are the latest & newer models.
I am having 814 for the 2-3 years. Also one more thing, the JVC double din HU have a detachable face plate which can be kept indoors at night. Cheers.
piyush78 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2012, 15:17   #19

Congrats iFuel for your setup, must be sounding nice with good equipments and I must say the install looks very neat and professional.
invincible7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2012, 08:38   #20

Hi iFuel,

I also took the plunge to ice my Zdi about a month back & got the install done at motor concepts under the supervision of aman.
My equipment list:
- JVC avx814 double din ( from my old car)
- Polk db6501 comps & polk co-axials
- Bull Audio sub in sealed box ( from my old car)
- Bull Audio amp.
- Audison wiring & RCA's
- Lots of damping ( 6 sheets for front 2 doors only & around 5 - 6 for the other 3 doors)

Now, i am also very impressed with the professionalism & expertise of these guys & attention to minute details like using abundant sleeves over joints . They took a lot of time just for damping all the doors & i one can feel the difference this has made. Apart from the sound factor, the doors close with a heavy thud that is very new to a maruti.

Aman is a nice sensible guy with a good knowledge of what he does & recommends after hearing you out about your budget & music taste. I went there at 11am & returned from there at around 5pm as the install is a long process esp. damping if it is done correctly.

I preferred polk over rainbows as they have a slight edge over the vocals & treble feels a bit more airy than rainbows ( this is what i felt), I had bull comps in my previous car & are of a similar sound signature as rainbows. Also the bull amp is good value for money amp with adequate punch. Also, aman arranged for a dash kit for the JVC head unit , which is of the exact same color as the dash & the dash with HU looks just oem. The system is tuned by aman with flat eq settings & is therefore flexible enough to play around a little bit. The steering controls cannot be used now, but aman has a wiring kit from JVC which is compatible to use the steering mounted contols & i will try it in future when the pocket permits me ( all drained now).

Sorry to hijack your thread iFuel bhai , but seeing your posts & pics. i could not resist sharing my views. Take Care.
Hi Piyush,

Congrats on the lovely setup, I wanted some details of special wiring that you mentioned. I have a JVC KD AVX-44 installed in my Linea emotion pk, the only thing that I am missing apart from Blu n Me is steering mounted controls. So if the mentioned wiring works then it will be of great help. Can you please share contact details of Aman.
Old 23rd February 2012, 14:09   #21

@ Gadgetfreak, Yes you can contact motor concepts aka aman & his details are posted in the directory section.

By the way the wiring kits seem to made by JVC itself & are for maruti models only, maybe aman can source the same for linea as well. Do keep us posted. Cheers
Old 23rd February 2012, 18:31   #22

@ Gadgetfreak, in case you need it here's the link to the Motor Concept thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/delhi-...den-delhi.html

Do keep us posted on the status of the install.
Old 25th February 2012, 19:20   #23

@ iFuel
Congrats on a new brilliant car and a wonderful complete ICE setup. Your thread was the final shot for me, thanks a lot for sharing it and after planning for months, i finally went in for the install and have come back a happy man. The workmanship is good, quality of work is good and the best part is that my car is rocking now.

Which sub are you planning for in stage 2 ?

Last edited by coolboy007 : 25th February 2012 at 19:22.
coolboy007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2012, 18:07   #24

@ Gadgetfreak, Yes you can contact motor concepts aka aman & his details are posted in the directory section.

By the way the wiring kits seem to made by JVC itself & are for maruti models only, maybe aman can source the same for linea as well. Do keep us posted. Cheers
I was able to find a solution for integrating my HU with steering controls. Will be testing the functionality tomorrow, Have heard that this is the best possible solution available, specially when I have both odds as in car: Linea and HU of JVC.

Will update tomorrow once I'm done with testing and if it works then installation.

Last edited by Gadgetfreak : 15th March 2012 at 18:09.
Gadgetfreak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2012, 22:50   #25

Originally Posted by Gadgetfreak View Post
I was able to find a solution for integrating my HU with steering controls. Will be testing the functionality tomorrow, Have heard that this is the best possible solution available, specially when I have both odds as in car: Linea and HU of JVC.

Will update tomorrow once I'm done with testing and if it works then installation.
Looking forward to it, kindly mention the hardware & the costs involved please..
Old 7th April 2012, 23:04   #26

Thanks a lot for all your lovely comments and suggestions and some really nice discussions on ICE and my set-up. Love to hear from all ICE enthusiasts.

And now the Stage II curtain raiser will happen. Watch this space for more (ahem, not too much but I did do something for stage II, I kinda swapped stage 3 with stage 2).

Last edited by iFuel : 7th April 2012 at 23:21.
Old 10th April 2012, 07:13   #27

Episode 2

Stage 2

A little detour: Swapped my plans for Stage 3 with Stage 2

After having gone through with Stage 1 about a month or so ago, I was just not enjoying the music. It felt like something was missing. Blame it on the lousy Nippon OE head unit given by Maruti. And a major irritant was the fact that the USB had a mind of it's own: press the brake & you get 'Error 1' can't read USB, go over a pot hole & 'Error 1' can't read USB, change the gear from 2nd to 3rd at higher RPM & 'Error 1' can't read USB, just to name a few.

Someone should learn from Maruti on how to maximize profits by putting a useless lousy head unit and selling the car at exorbitant prices. I had had it, so much so that I started to shout at the top of my voice anytime it happened. And of late I've started noticing that my hair line is receding, must be due to the lousy 'Error 1' all the time.

Called up Aman @ Motor Concepts and fixed my appointment again. Reached there on a good Saturday afternoon and off we were talking about dual din head units. Told him my budget was around 20K, and prompt came the suggestions of JVC & Pioneer. The issue with JVC was that the steering control cable was missing and I will have to wait till a month or so. The problem with Pioneer was that the faceplate was non removable.

After a little pondering and add to that the fact that I park my car fairly at a distance from where I live, I had no option but to go for JVC and I also had a soft corner for JVC head units for I have heard good things on this forum about them.

So the Stage 2 artists and the pics follow. I hope you enjoy the show. If any details are needed please feel free to ask me. The car now sounds like a discotheque and I am so happy now with the amazing output of the beautiful sounds from the set-up that it is close to nirvana. And coming to think of the last and the final stage is yet to be done.

I must thank Aman @ Motor Concepts for his patience in listening to me and suggesting me the head unit that just surpasses my expectations of what I had started off with. The head unit is Bluetooth ready and pairs flawlessly with my Samsung SG2 and reads the phone book, call logs, and all the jazz that it can do. Music streaming is flawless and the interface and the various options to tweak the settings are just mind boggling. I plan to spend a day or two just trying to fiddle with the system, but at the moment I am tied up with work, so I am pretty happy with just the basic tuning that I have done.

Details of what went into Stage 2:-

Head Unit: JVC KW-AVX746
Face Plate & Dash Kit
Antennae Wire Kit
Couplers
RF Lead

And the show makers in Technicolor :-
Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162615.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162639.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162644.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162715.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162729.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162737.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162746.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162807.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162832.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162837.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_162913.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_163456.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_163646.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_164439.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_164445.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_164901.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_165414.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_165422.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_165444.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_165450.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_171140.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_171303.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_171329.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_171357.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_172218.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_172253.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_172257.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_172415.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_172705.jpg  

Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi-20120407_174843.jpg  

iFuel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2012, 12:42   #28

Re: Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi

Congratulations, looks good and must say neat installation.
invincible7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2012, 19:49   #29

Re: ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off - Swift Jan 2012 Zdi [Stage 1]

A BIG shout out to Aman of Motor Concepts and his staff, I am in no way affiliated to them, I am just a customer and a very happy customer at that. They are highly professional and patient. The best thing is that they are always willing to help and Aman has immense knowledge in this field and is one of the best I have come across. You Rock

Completely agree. Motor Concepts (read Aman) is definitely the best car accessories showroom I’ve done business with. Aman is courteous, knowledgeable, patient, willing to listen to you and most importantly reasonable. I got an ICE upgrade done for my Scorpio VLX (stock stuff wasn’t that great) at motor concepts and I’m really satisfied with the work done. Highly recommended
ukoul is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st April 2012, 02:11   #30

Re: Stage 2 - ICEing my Blu-T so the roof blows off!! 2012 Swift Zdi

Boss - sorry to say but you could have got better RCAs
sonirohit is offline   (1) Thanks