Old 22nd May 2006, 17:21   #1

Car audio setup for zen

Found lots of useful info on the thread....but was not able to understand most.....since iam very new to the audio installs....

Guyz could u pls guide me get the best audio setup.... My budget is around 20-22K......and my car is zen vxi 2003 model....

Last edited by sharu : 22nd May 2006 at 17:24.
Old 22nd May 2006, 17:37   #2

Originally Posted by sharu

Found lots of useful info on the thread....but was not able to understand most.....since iam very new to the audio installs....

Guyz could u pls guide me get the best audio setup.... My budget is around 20-22K......and my car is zen vxi 2003 model....

Pioneer HU 9k
front 6.5"compo
& rear 6.5"coax 10k
wiring+install with rest of money
for more bass,get 6x9" for rear but that wil increase ur budget.

upgrade with a decent 4-ch amp later.

spk brabds r sony/pio/kicker/blau/JBL/Hertz etc...
Old 22nd May 2006, 18:21   #3

thanks rsjaurr for the reply.....

looking at ur suggestions i started browsing the different speakers available.... found C608GTi
16.5cm (6.5") 2-Way Coponent System (JBL), also

XS-HT170SN
17cm 2-way Seperate Speaker (SONY)

now confused which one is better also dude on the JBL website iam not able to find rear 6.5"coax could u pls help me out with the model number...

pls help on the brand and model numbers for each

thanks
Old 22nd May 2006, 18:35   #4

HU frm 5 to 9k ; Pio, Blaupunkt, Sony; Alpine maybe too but frm 10k up I guess

Sony and Blau HU's come with B&W version

as rsjaurr posted; compos at the front is a good thing if you love your music. YOu can go for co-ax if you aint particular.

And at rear, just co-ax. But if you want a bit more thump at less money ( no amp + sub) get a 6x9.

Check out other Bangy TBHpians install for an idea. Stay with same company speakers if you can. JBL, Blau, Pio, Sony speakers would keep you within your budget. There are other brands too taht may please you , so check and get back to us or teh best thing, use your ears

For PIO hu price http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/227800-post36.html

Last edited by jkdas : 22nd May 2006 at 18:38.
Old 23rd May 2006, 14:01   #5

thanks rsjaurr for the reply.....

looking at ur suggestions i started browsing the different speakers available.... found C608GTi
16.5cm (6.5") 2-Way Coponent System (JBL), also

XS-HT170SN
17cm 2-way Seperate Speaker (SONY)

now confused which one is better also dude on the JBL website iam not able to find rear 6.5"coax could u pls help me out with the model number...

pls help on the brand and model numbers for each

thanks

JBL is far better than sony.

I am not sure abt model no. but u must go for compo for front and 2/3-way for rear.U can find plenty of information here abt model no. or Sam can help u.
Old 23rd May 2006, 14:46   #6

thanks rsjaurr and jkdas,

after going thru the forum, i have shortlisted these for my zen, work has been a hectic offlate so no visits to any shops yet, planning for this weekend or next....

pio 6850
front - GTO 427
rear - GTO 937
wiring + install

guyz now, could u tell me how much could this cost(will i get this within my budget 20-25K) , also is this a good setup or any other option....

is this setup good enough for good bass, or do i have to get a sub woofer as welll.... also is amplifier a must if i have to get a sub woofer...

pls rply guyz....
Old 23rd May 2006, 15:14   #7

thanks rsjaurr and jkdas,

after going thru the forum, i have shortlisted these for my zen, work has been a hectic offlate so no visits to any shops yet, planning for this weekend or next....

pio 6850
front - GTO 427
rear - GTO 937
wiring + install

guyz now, could u tell me how much could this cost(will i get this within my budget 20-25K) , also is this a good setup or any other option....

is this setup good enough for good bass, or do i have to get a sub woofer as welll.... also is amplifier a must if i have to get a sub woofer...

pls rply guyz....
Without subwoofer setup:
pioneer HU would cost aroung Rs 8500,
GTO 427 is Rs 3000 i guess (becaue price of old GTO426 was Rs2500)
GTO 937 is 4950
JBL wiring kit Rs 2990
4-channel sony amp- 4500

Total = Rs 24000 app

Amplifier is a must if you wish to install a woofer, beause HU dont have enough power for driving a sub.

Ya i just heard the new GTO 7 -series rear and front speakers, and they were great!! With this setup your bass needs should be satisfied without a subwoofer. Believe me this above setup is a good setup without a woofer.

If you wish to have a sub, then i guess you will have to sacrifice the front speakers or the rear speakers , because your budget is 25000 max.

With subwoofer:
Pio hu 8500 RS
Rear GTO (7-series) 937 Rs 4950
Amp 4 channel pio 6100f Rs 7500 (app)
pionner woofer Rs 3500
Wiring 2k
Total app = 25000

But do remember to bargain on the above mentioed price list

I would perfer the first setup option (without subwoofer), as i make a good basic system, and futher upgradations would be easy.

Last edited by amit_sound : 23rd May 2006 at 15:16.
Old 23rd May 2006, 15:38   #8

Hi amit sound, thanks for the rply.....if i go with the first setup....do i need the 4-channel sony amp....also could u tell wht is the advantage of having this amp, and if i dont have this amp wht wil i miss out on....for the fist setup with out sub woffers
Old 23rd May 2006, 16:14   #9

In the first setup i.e without the woffer, you can skip the amplifier. But, by not installing a 4-channel amp, the sound produced will not be very clean. Morover without the amp, if you turn up the volume loud, you will get distortion, which we call "speakar fattha hai!!!". For example using a pioneer HU, which has max volume level of 62, you will notice clearly that at around 30 volume level and above distortion occurs. At low volume level you will not notice too much of distortion.

What i would suggest is that on the day when you go for the setup, just listen your system with and wihout the amplifier. I bet you'll see a hell of a difference.

Last edited by amit_sound : 23rd May 2006 at 16:15.
Old 23rd May 2006, 16:19   #10

Here's my 5 cents guys!

The first setup is good for a basic install which can be upgraded anytime. And I think you can avoid the 4channel amp and save up those bucks too.

And if you do want a SUB now, then consider this option:
Pio hu Rs. 8500
Rear JBL 2way 6" co-axials Rs 2750 (app)
SONY Amp 4 channel Rs 5000 (app)
pionner SUBwoofer (DVC) Rs 3500
Alpine SPE 1002 4" co-axial speakers Rs 2400
Wiring Rs 2000
Total app = Rs 24,150 = BANG FOR da BUCK!

I would still recommend you to stick with the first option and upgrade one at a time. This way you'll be able to buy better options without hurting your pocket much.

Last edited by speedzak : 23rd May 2006 at 16:22.
Old 23rd May 2006, 16:51   #11

What i would suggest is that on the day when you go for the setup, just listen your system with and wihout the amplifier. I bet you'll see a hell of a difference.[/quote]

thanks amit_sound....i will surely keep this in mind.......

also speedzak, thanks for ur comments.........right now will go with the first setup and then as u say wil upgrade one by one

Guyz is there any thing i have to take care of while going for the install for the first setup, ..........in one of the thread i read about the quality of wires beeing used as well, could u guyz suggest which would be the brand i need to go for.....
Old 23rd May 2006, 17:12   #12

Yes, wiring does demand a lot of attention. JBL original wiring kits of good value for money, Monster cable is also fine...There are many brands, but i again we need to look at the budget also.

During the installation:

1. Make sure that the wiring is genuine and not damaged. As i had read in one of the threads, that in delhi, a person installed wires that had a lot of cuts on it.
2. Avoid looping of wires.
3. Keep about 1 or 2 feet extra for wiring, so that in future shifting of some audio components is easy.
4. I installing speakers in the front door, make sure that there is no leakage of water inside the door, because monsoon is arriving.

Rest.... keep your eyes open during installation, and maybe then you can also guide us about extra precautions to be taking while installation!!!!
Old 23rd May 2006, 17:15   #13

dude also, is it better to go for the box for the rear speakers or to go for the plank........
Old 23rd May 2006, 17:23   #14

If you're getting 6X9 ovals, then box is highly recommended. Or MDF parcel tray will suit fine too. But never ever consider mounting these into the boot door.
If you're getting 6" co-axials, then fitting it into the door is OK, But put it into some good box till the SUBwoofer arrives.
Old 23rd May 2006, 20:13   #15

hi speedzak,

planning to get rear - GTO 937 6X9 for the rear, so need a box....also do we need to go for the custom box made by the installer, or are the boxes available from the manufacturer itself.....
i suppose custom made boxes would be cheaper....any idea wht material they need to use

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com