Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 25th August 2015, 15:10   #1
BHPian

ICE Upgrade : Tata Zest

Dear Gurus

The zest is the only car in the sub 4 meter segment with the superlative Harman system and 8 speakers (4 speakers & 4 tweeters). The sound quality is just superb. I had been enjoying the Zest XT with the touchscreen unit for over three months now and feel the need for a little extra thump.

The first and obvious choice was the 8 inch underseat active sub and zeroed in on the 'National' 8 incher, the Blaupunkt XLF 200. After listening to the same fitted in my friend's Bolt, i decided not to fit the same coz the thump delta was very marginal and marginal to the extent that the same was not recognizable when certain tracks were played.

So finally decided to go for a proper 12 inch sub and amp combo after spending considerable time researching on 12 inch active Boxes(not available in my budget) as i was not comfortable with too much of wiring.

The local shop suggested a 1800 W Sony woofer with a 2 channel Sony amp (for reasons best known to him) for Rs 8500.

Now the Dilemma starts.

1. Should i go for a Box or a Tube for Boot installation?
2. Which is the best brand among JBL, Pioneer, Blau and Sony ?
3. Is the 2 channel 500 W Sony AMP the right amp for a 1800 W sub?
4. Is 1800 W needed when the normal 12 inchers used in small sedans are 1200- 1300 W?
5. Is the bass controllable through the HU equalizer ? or should one play around with the amp for the same?
6. I may have to remove the box/tube for the occasional airport/ railway station runs so which sub/box is more compatible for that?

And finally my budget is 10 - 12 K

Will request experts to advice.

Last edited by SAE40 in veins : 25th August 2015 at 15:12.
Old 26th August 2015, 13:09   #2
Team-BHP Support

re: ICE Upgrade : Tata Zest

Quote:
Originally Posted by SAE40 in veins View Post
Dear Gurus