Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2020, 11:21   #1
BHPian

Do I really need a 'smart' head-unit...or a head-unit at all?

Hi forum members, I am new to team-bhp, am thankful to be included on this great platform, but you now stand forewarned. Lets begin.

'In Car Entertainment' these days seems to primarily mean a slick touchscreen, and its many wonders of navigation, bluetooth, android auto, apple carplay, voice commands. Many team-bhp threads in the ICE section are lately dedicated exclusively to screens. Auto reviewers and dealers dangle big screens as must-haves for upselling to the 'bling variants' - the beancutters have gamed their demographic really well.

I am nobody to complain when in addition to the FMCGs, industrial manufacturers get consumer psychology pat. However, I have my problems with the touchscreen value proposition:
  • Navigation: The driver is supposed to look sideways, and down at the touchscreen. This, while driving in an unfamiliar traffic pattern, trying to time the next turn. The screen meanwhile is for some reason not even facing the driver. Its aimed in the general direction of the rear middle of the car. I will rather prefer a dedicated GPS device (like Garmin in the US) or a smartphone in my peripheral vision while looking straight ahead.
  • Entertainment: We're supposed to be happy bluetoothing or cabling our music from one smartscreen into another. Didn't a single DIN box used to offer this 10 years ago? The phone can understand voice commands, but I am supposed to talk to the car for talking to the phone? WI-FI pairing is coming with Android 11, good luck using that with devices in circulation now. Android auto - can't I use it natively on my own phone/tablet?