Old 23rd May 2007, 00:13   #1

pioneer stereo

i ahve a pioneer deh-p5850 installed in my car....its showing error - 17 and not playing any cds......pls help i dont know abt this problem
Old 23rd May 2007, 10:20   #2

Get it serviced .
Old 23rd May 2007, 10:47   #3

there must be dust accumulated on the lens thats why the HU is having problems to read the cd....Like Navin Ji said get it serviced

Old 23rd May 2007, 12:01   #4

I took it to a guy who cleaned the lens with spirit, brushed at a lot of places, blew air here and there. After that neither does it eat CDs nor does it give silly errors. It even plays CDs my laptop refuses to play. Its been over six months since the last servicing.
Old 24th May 2007, 03:29   #5

I took it to a guy who cleaned the lens with spirit, brushed at a lot of places, blew air here and there. After that neither does it eat CDs nor does it give silly errors. It even plays CDs my laptop refuses to play. Its been over six months since the last servicing.
cleaning the lens with spirit ...this might damage the it...only blowing air here and there is the max one can do and it also does the trick
Old 24th May 2007, 11:02   #6

Why would ethanol damage glass? Its used to clean DSLR sensor filter too.
Old 24th May 2007, 11:08   #7

Why would ethanol damage glass? Its used to clean DSLR sensor filter too.
clear pure ethanol wont but dont use coloured spirits. it will leave a residue.
Old 24th May 2007, 11:19   #8

Yup the camera will get pure ethanol, nothing else, but HU lens is more forgiving I think.
Better ethanol than a dirty dry cloth.
BTW its a fluid similar to one used for cleaning heads of VCRs. So I am not too sure. But it surely did not leave a residue, and HU pics up CDs now very well.
Old 24th May 2007, 11:44   #9

Yup the camera will get pure ethanol, nothing else, but HU lens is more forgiving I think.
Better ethanol than a dirty dry cloth..
TSK, before you do anything to a CAMERA lens ask Rudra. I did not see that it was a CAMERA lesn that you were talking about. For your HU ethanol will do.
Old 24th May 2007, 11:57   #10

No not camera lens. Camera lens gets a lens cleaning solution.
Its for the sensor. Thats got dust spots.
I have procured Pure experimental lab grade ethanol(Like Eclipse in the US) after doing a lot of Jugaad.
I am tempted to add ice cubes to it, but I refrain.
It will go into the camera only.
I have tested it on a sheet to see if it leaves any residue, well it does not. Even opening the bottle is enough to give you a high
Old 24th May 2007, 11:58   #11

also what is the guarantee that the service guy uses ethanol only or something different.....

Also you use alcohol to clean you DSLR lens....I would never recommend it....clean it with a moist lint free cloth that what I will do....
Old 24th May 2007, 12:00   #12

LBM most commercial lens cleaning solutions use ethanol.
So if you use a lens cleaning solution, you are using ethanol already
Old 24th May 2007, 12:17   #13

LBM most commercial lens cleaning solutions use ethanol.
So if you use a lens cleaning solution, you are using ethanol already
No I use a soft lint free cloth.....till now....
Old 24th May 2007, 12:20   #14

How do you get rid of rainwater marks. Only lens cleaning solutions take care of that.
Old 24th May 2007, 12:27   #15

How do you get rid of rainwater marks. Only lens cleaning solutions take care of that.
how did you get rain water on teh lens? no filter?