Old 26th July 2007, 15:02   #1

DIY Interconnect cables. need help.

i have quite a big length of cat5 networking cable lying with me. wanted to know, can this cable be used as an interconnect(RCA)? im using some crappy Chinese cables and im not at all happy with them. im asking this because i saw an interconnect made of cat5 cable on some website related to DIY(i dont remember which website)

i have some RCA plugs(terminals?) lying with me(made by MX and these are the best available in my city) so i thought of using the cat5 cable. the cable i have is made by lucent technologies so i think its decent quality.

keep the suggestions coming in guys.

One more thing. im going to chandigarh tonight. can anyone let me know a good electronics store from where i can buy capacitors, Heat shrink tubing? ill be really thankful.

thanks in advance
clip

P.S. - If this has been discussed before, please let me know as i couldnt find anything on this.

Last edited by clipto333 : 26th July 2007 at 15:12.
Old 26th July 2007, 15:50   #2

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...-speakers.html

it was discusses before.. and I would not recommend a CAT 5 cable for the same.for more info read the above thread.

I would recommend neutrik and supra cable and the whole RCA will be in the price range of 1.5k with 6 meter length
Old 26th July 2007, 17:10   #3

Clip,
Cat 5 network cables are used as speaker cable. I have tried it too. But again it needs to be of good quality.

LBM, how much would shorter supra interconnects cost?
Old 26th July 2007, 17:16   #4

Originally Posted by Vivekphadnis View Post
Clip,
Cat 5 network cables are used as speaker cable. I have tried it too. But again it needs to be of good quality.

LBM, how much would shorter supra interconnects cost?
One mistake in my proevious post it was not Supra. It is Sommer.

The plugs costs 150 each. and one meter wire which is stereo cable costs about 150-175 per meter.
Old 27th July 2007, 09:55   #5

Supra and Sommer are cables made in Sweden and Germany respectively.

CAT 5 can be used for very short runs. 1-2 meters. It's resistance and skin effect is too high for use beyond that.

On a budget (cheaper than Sommer) you can use 100/40 or 100/38 intrumention wire. The cable has 100 strand of 40 or 38 gauge and ofnte has a good insulation (not Teflon but good grade PTFE).

Last edited by navin : 27th July 2007 at 09:56.
Old 27th July 2007, 15:15   #6

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Supra and Sommer are cables made in Sweden and Germany respectively.

CAT 5 can be used for very short runs. 1-2 meters. It's resistance and skin effect is too high for use beyond that.

On a budget (cheaper than Sommer) you can use 100/40 or 100/38 intrumention wire. The cable has 100 strand of 40 or 38 gauge and ofnte has a good insulation (not Teflon but good grade PTFE).
hi,

it was just that i had like 50 meters of cat5 lying unused so i thought if i could use it then why not. one problem with a cat5 is that the conductor breaks easily. even a slight twist sometimes break the wire.

im ready to spend on good quality wires and im not on a really tight budget

im gonna go to delhi next month so i will buy some wires from there if lbm can help. :-) there is no place in jalandhar to buy good wires and stuff.
im looking for separate good quality wires and connector plugs.

is there any place in delhi from where i can buy belden cables?
navinji can you give a rough idea of the price you paid for belden?

and my amplifier conked off last evening and im really sad :-( . right now i dont have enough $$$ to buy a new amp. i think the power transistor blew. even the heat sink above the transistor melted. there was a problem of alt whine and amp tripping earlier so i removed the sub rca cables. i connected it back and there was tonnes of smoke from the amp. i hope its repairable. the rest of the amp board was fine. how can one check what the problem is?

if my amp is irrepairable, what be the best lternative? i was thinking of the 75.4 as it has oodles of power and would be perfect for the comps. whats the bridged power output of this amp? also is it 2 ohm stable(bridged) the 944 is.

Gunbir bhai, ek achha sa amp gift kar do please( please gift me a good amp)
any amp lying spare with you you wanna sell? otherwise please finance me an amp :-)

no cheers
clip
Old 27th July 2007, 16:02   #7

You are welcome Sir...

And the the JBL 75.4 is the best amp for your application.
Old 27th July 2007, 17:42   #8

What kind of instrumentation are you talking about Navin?
Old 29th July 2007, 02:53   #9

kahaan gaye sab ke sab?

here my amp conked off and no one is worried!! no one asked what happened and if its fine. kidding :-) thanks to my repair guy, he repaired it like it was. the power supply transistor conked and you cant imagine, the heat sink above the transistor melted. above as in the upper part where you screw it. now its back and as good as it was. yey

ive had a bad experience with my earlier pio 414 amp. a similar thing happened and it could never produce the power it used to. i had to sell it(the 414 was powering a pair of 2150 and 2 pio 304 subs lol and it was quite decent)

im sorry but im really happy to have my amp back. cant help the excitement.

bolo tararara
chak de phatte
clip
Old 29th July 2007, 11:06   #10

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
kahaan gaye sab ke sab?
Yeah, for once there was no post in the ICE section the whole day yesterday!!!

the power supply transistor conked and you cant imagine, the heat sink above the transistor melted. above as in the upper part where you screw it. now its back and as good as it was. yey
THAT is a really serious incident, boss. That means that either the transistor was not electrically insulated from the heat sink, or something touched both the heat sink and the transistor. And it must have arced - otherwise the heat sink cannot melt due to overcurrent. You sure it was the heat sink and not a plastic mounting base? You should post some before and after pics, so that everyone can see "aisa bhi hota hai".

im sorry but im really happy to have my amp back. cant help the excitement
Good for you, and everyone shares your excitement! Hope you were not sitting in the car till 0230 in the morning, your post is at 0253!!!
Old 29th July 2007, 12:01   #11

the 944 does not have any thing between the transistor and the heat sink. just the thermal paste.

(pic taken from amp guts)

now this is a pioneer D510 amp...

It has the insulated one and the direct type both. the No 1 is the direct type and the No 2 needs the insulation.

In the case of Clip I think the amp is over driven which caused the faliure. Clip in the above picture which Mosfet blew. Can you mark it and post it.
Old 29th July 2007, 14:58   #12

Shot at 2007-07-29

this was the one. the first near that toroid. the plate thing above the transistor melted.

lbm, you are a genius. ive never been able to find the inside pics of the 944.

clip
Old 29th July 2007, 15:16   #13

here is the link to all the major Amps in the car audio

AmpGuts - Car Amplifier Guts

There are currently 1756 amps from 238 different manufacturers and a total of 8237 pictures
Old 29th July 2007, 18:05   #14

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
here is the link to all the major Amps in the car audio

AmpGuts - Car Amplifier Guts

There are currently 1756 amps from 238 different manufacturers and a total of 8237 pictures
hey,

thanks for the link.:-)

so what do you have to say about my amp? was it a major fault? i will check out the repair done when i have time and post a pic. i dont have a before pic sorry. what could have gone wrong?

clip

p.s. - i could have been wrong. maybe they are the diodes.

Last edited by clipto333 : 29th July 2007 at 18:07.
Old 30th July 2007, 09:35   #15

here my amp conked off and no one is worried!! thanks to my repair guy, he repaired it like it was....cant help the excitement.
thsi si why we did not worry. amp repairs for the failure you had is not diffcult. probably cost you under 1K.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com